Book Notification

Anne of Green Gables Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Anne Shirley Books

Anne of Green Gables (1908)Description / Buy at Amazon
Anne of Avonlea (1909)Description / Buy at Amazon
Anne of the Island (1915)Description / Buy at Amazon
Anne's House of Dreams (1917)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rainbow Valley (1919)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rilla of Ingleside (1921)Description / Buy at Amazon
Anne of Windy Poplars / Anne of Windy Willows (1936)Description / Buy at Amazon
Anne of Ingleside (1939)Description / Buy at Amazon
Before Green Gables (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Anne Shirley Books

Anne of Green Gables(1908)Description / Buy at Amazon
Anne of Avonlea(1909)Description / Buy at Amazon
Anne of the Island(1915)Description / Buy at Amazon
Anne of Windy Poplars / Anne of Windy Willows(1936)Description / Buy at Amazon
Anne's House of Dreams(1917)Description / Buy at Amazon
Anne of Ingleside(1939)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rainbow Valley(1919)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rilla of Ingleside(1921)Description / Buy at Amazon
Before Green Gables(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Anne of Green Gables is the first and most popular novel in a nine book series written by Canadian author L.M. Montgomery (also known as Lucy Maud Montgomery). The series centers around the main character, Anne Shirley, a strong-willed, and imaginative orphan girl. Anne’s world is forever changed when she is adopted by Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert, a brother and sister who in their old age are looking for someone to assist them. Matthew and Marilla, especially Marilla, had anticipated for a young boy to be sent to them, but instead they are surprised and are given Anne. Anne’s talkative and emotional personality immediately wins over shy and reticent Matthew, but it takes a little longer for Marilla to warm up to her. Marilla begins to see similar characteristics in Anne that remind her of herself, and realizes that she must guide Anne as she thrives in the way of life, and also make sure that Anne does not make the same mistakes that she had. Anne has a unrealistically romantic outlook of life, and is particularly sensitive of her outward appearance, especially her red hair, which any ridicule of it ignites Anne’s temper getting her into troublesome situations. Although Marilla may appear stern and unfeeling towards Anne, Anne knows that Marilla truly loves her and only wants the best for her. Marilla sees the potential in Anne, and her insight propels Anne to become the strong woman readers see in the latter novels.

Set primarily in the idyllic backdrop of Prince Edward Island, readers can get a feel of small town settings and dynamics, both positive and negative – the relaxed pace of life, the immense sense of camaraderie, and also how quickly talk spreads around the neighborhood. Anne’s actions are especially noticed by the town gossip, Rachel Lynde, who is always eager to let Marilla know what she thinks of Anne’s latest antics, and Anne is not a fan of Rachel and has no problem in letting her know it. Marilla, on the other hand, is a sensible and discerning woman, and does not let Rachel’s tattle telling get in the way of her of raising Anne, or in the way of her and Anne’s growing relationship.

Anne Shirley’s bold and out of ordinary behavior tends to land her in trouble, and it also catches the attention of of her classmate, Gilbert Blythe. Although, Anne starts off with a negative impression of Gilbert ever since he makes fun of her hair color, she eventually begins to see him in a different light. He on the other hand is smitten with her immediately and relentlessly pursues her, even a one point saving her from drowning. As their further schooling separates them and takes them to different locations, Gilbert’s act of selflessness of giving up his preferred school to teach at so that Anne can be closer to Marilla, eventually wins Anne over. Their friendship continues to grow, but even though Gilbert makes his love for Anne very apparent, Anne rebuffs him due to her own insecurities and far-fetched fantasies of romance and “true love”. It is not until the third novel, Anne of the Island, when Gilbert suddenly becomes deathly ill with typhoid fever, that Anne realizes how she has been wrong all along, and that her heart has always belonged to Gilbert, and his death would change the course of her life forever. Gilbert eventually pulls through, and he and Anne become engaged, and their life events together are further detailed in the rest of the novels in the series.

Another impressionable relationship in Anne Shirley’s world is her deep bond and friendship with Diana Barry, which adds a sweet glimpse of childhood friendship that lasts. Diana is the opposite of what Anne Shirley thinks of herself; Diana is beautiful, but not as intelligent. It is the perfect example of opposites attract. Anne’s unusual behavior, such as unintentionally getting Diana drunk to accidentally selling her neighbor’s cow, does not drive Diana away, but instead reinforces their friendship. Although tragedies do occur throughout the novel series, such as the sudden passing of Matthew Cuthbert and also Rachel Lynde’s husband, relationships all over remain strong as the characters understand that they need each other even more in times of trouble and sorrow. Forgiveness, loyalty, and perseverance are resonating and significant themes that live on in the Anne of Green Gables series.

While the first novel, Anne of Green Gables, more focuses on character introduction and how relationships are being formed, the second novel, Anne of Avonlea, really begins to show how Anne progresses and matures into a intelligent and caring young lady. As she eventually becomes a teacher, she is forced to grow and take responsibility of herself, but also be responsible for those that she teaches. This is much different then how she was when she first arrived to Avonlea, and readers can really begin to see her transformation.

The Anne of Green Gables series has always been an immensely well liked series, not only in the book form, but in film versions as well. It has been made into movie adaptions, television series, and even stage productions. The undisputed and most famous adaption is the Canadian television miniseries that first debuted in 1985. Although the miniseries only details the first few novels in the series, it still gives its audience a decent story line of the written work themselves.

L.M. Montgomery captured her life experiences from teaching in various schools on Prince Edward Island and successfully managed to display that way of life in the Anne of Green Gables series. The series gives readers a chance to escape and seek out a different place, a place that still resembles real life, but through the perspective of a young girl who starts off alone, but ends up being one of the most loved characters of all time. L.M. Montgomery’s literary works continue to be adored by old and new fans all around the world as they immerse themselves in the simple and yet, never dull world of Anne Shirley.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Anne of Green Gables

4 Responses to “Anne of Green Gables”

  1. LiLy: 1 year ago

    I don’t know what the anne of green gables order is can you tell me

    • Graeme: 1 year ago

      The list is above in both publication and chronological order.

  2. Brenda Fife: 4 years ago

    Where can I get the whole series of Anne Of Green Gables

    • cora: 2 years ago

      you could probably find them anywhere that sells books.


Leave a Reply