Book Notification

Anne Rivers Siddons Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

John Chancellor Makes Me Cry (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
Go Straight on Peachtree (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Plays

Publication Order of Anthologies

Our Prince of Scribes(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Anne Rivers Siddons was one of the well known authors of America who was mainly famous for her work on the Southern literature. She had written a number of bestselling novels in her writing career. One of her popular novels titled ‘The House Next Door’ was adapted into a television film on Lifetime. The film starred Mark Paul Gosselaar, Lara Flynn Boyle, and Colin Ferguson. The novel went on to be regarded as one of the finest novels in the country based on the horror genre and was mentioned in the nonfiction book by Stephen King called Danse Macabre. Author Siddons began her writing career in the year 1976 with the publication of her debut novel titled ‘Heartbreak Hotel’. She was born on January 9, 1936, in Atlanta, Georgia, United States, as Sybil Anne Rivers. Author Siddons spent most of her growing years in Fairburn, Georgia. After the completion of her school studies, she joined the Auburn University and became a member of the ‘Delta Delta Delta Sorority’.

Anne passed in 2019.

During her days in the Auburn University, she used to constantly contribute to the student newspaper with her writings. On one such occasion she had written a column in The Auburn Plainsman, the student newspaper, which had become a hot topic throughout the university. Although the column favored integration, Siddons was criticized by the administrative staff of the university. The administration also tried to make attempts for suppressing the column and eventually fired her. Soon, the column spread throughout the country like a wild fire and gathered a lot of national attention. After some time, author Siddons began working for the Atlanta magazine and went on to become a senior editor. When she reached the age of 30, she married the love of her life named Heyward Siddons, who later helped her in writing many of her novels. However, the two of them got separated in the year 2014 after the death of Heyward. In the year 1991, author Anne Rivers Siddons was awarded with an honorary degree in the form of a Doctor of Letters by the Oglethorpe University.

As of today, author Siddons lives happily in Charleston, South Carolina, and spends most of her summertime in Maine. One of the initial novels written by author Siddons was titled ‘Peachtree Road’, which was included in the list of bestselling novels at the time of its publication. It was even described as the best Southern novel of the generation by Pat Conroy. The success of this novel can also be understood from the fact that it went on to sell over one million printed copies all over the world. Anne’s debut novel, Heartbreak Hotel was adapted into a movie named Heart of Dixie, starring Ally Sheedy, Phoebe Cates, Peter Berg, Virginia Madsen, Kyle Secor, and Treat Williams. One of the other novels written by author Siddons titled The House Next Door was made into a television movie that aired on Lifetime Television in the year 2006. This movie tells the life story of a woman who is attracted to a house having evil presence, which is believed to be preying on the weaknesses of the inhabitants of the house. Recently, author Siddons has signed a three book contract with the Warner Books. She finished writing the first book titled Off Season and published it in the year 2008. One of the other novels written by her, Burnt Mountain, has made its way in a number of bestseller lists of the year 2011.

One of the initial novels written by author Anne Rivers Siddons was titled ‘Low Country’. It was released by the HarperTorch publishing house in the year 1998. The plot of this novel is set in the Lowcountry, South Carolina, United States, and features the main character in the form of Caroline Venable. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, it is shown that Caroline Venable has everything to live a luxurious life. She had a powerful husband, prestige, wealth, etc., because of her Southern heritage. Caroline had a regular routine of cocktail parties, country club luncheons, as well as dinners, hosting the wealthy friends, associates, and clients of her husband. Her husband had formed a conglomerate for running his successful land-developing business. She finds this routine to be too stifling and drinks too much, in order to escape from the boredom. However, Caroline finds true solace in the Lowcountry island left by her grandfather. This island was full of breathtaking beauty and was home to a group of wild ponies. Soon, she Caroline learns that her husband has decided to develop the island in order to save his business and this makes her completely devastated. She used to consider the Lowcountry island as her heritage and was worried about the ponies, who had captivated her by their freedom and spirit since her childhood. If she thinks of going out of the way for saving the island, she will have to pay a heavy price. Caroline tries to confront her sober part and with some careful avoidance, she moves ahead to save the beautiful island and shatter the long held ideals of her marriage, her status in the society, and even herself.

One of the other initial novels written by author Anne Rivers Siddons was published under the title ‘Peachtree’. This novel was released by the HarperTorch publishing house in the year 1989. The plot of this novel is set amidst the Old Southern aristocracy’s grandeur and chronicles around the turbulent and devastating changes in the city of Atlanta. It features the primary characters in the form of Lucy and Sheppard, and tells the story of the love-hate relationship of a man and a woman. In the opening of the plot of the novel, it is shown that Lucy goes to live with the family of her cousin named Sheppard in the great house located on the Peachtree Road. She was the only child of her parents and had never thought that her reclusive cousin would become her confidant for her whole life. Also, she had never expected that he would become the source of her most terrible needs and the greatest passions of her life. The way author Siddons has depicted the love and hate relationship between Lucy and Sheppard was very much liked by her readers and fans. She was praised a lot by the critics and her fellow authors for her unique style of writing. These factors helped the novel to become successful. Eventually, it was listed in a number of bestselling novels’ lists and even helped author Siddons to establish herself as one of the noteworthy authors of her time.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Anne Rivers Siddons

3 Responses to “Anne Rivers Siddons”

  1. Jim: 10 months ago

    Sadly, she died 2019.

  2. Judith A. Walker: 1 year ago

    Anne Rivers Siddons died in 2019 at the age of 83.

  3. Carolyn Fletcher: 1 year ago

    Is she still writing? I haven’t seen anything new for a few years. Her book The House Next Door is my favorite novel ever. The movie was so badly miscast I was very disappointed in it. I look forward to anything she writes. I have read them all.


Leave a Reply