Book Notification

Annie Barrows Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Iggy Frangi Books

The Best of Iggy (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Iggy Is Better Than Ever (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Iggy Is the Hero of Everything (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Iggy the Legend (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Ivy & Bean Books

Ivy and Bean (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ghost That Had to Go (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Break the Fossil Record (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Take Care of the Babysitter (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bound to be Bad (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Doomed to Dance (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
What's the Big Idea? (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
No News Is Good News (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Make the Rules (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Take the Case (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
One Big Happy Family (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Get to Work! (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Miri and Molly Books

The Magic Half (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Magic in the Mix (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (With: Mary Ann Shaffer) (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Truth According to Us (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nothing (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Picture Books

Annie Barrows
A California-born writer, Annie Barrows (1962—) is currently a resident of North California. Her love for reading influenced her employment as a twelve-year-old librarian. A medieval historian, she graduated from the University of California and has a postgraduate degree in creative writing.

Annie Barrows has worked in both the media industry as a proofreader and in the publishing industry, where she held various entry level up to senior level editorial positions. She credits her creative writing education and the onset of motherhood as her reasons for going into full-time writing. She co-authored one book with her relative, the late Mary Ann Shaffer.

Annie Barrows specializes in the fiction genre, particularly the young-adult fiction, juvenile fiction, and historical fiction subgenres.

Book Series Written

Annie Barrows’ portfolio comprises of works that range from picture books to standalone books to series. Specifically, Annie Barrows is most famed for her Ivy and Bean series, whose initial instalments are among her earliest works. The first book in that series is also titled Ivy and Bean; the earliest edition, a paperback, was first published in April 2006 by Chronicle Books. There are hardcover, ebook, audiobook, Kindle, and library binding editions.

Moreover, Ivy and Bean has been translated into other languages. There are: French version titled Zoe Et Juju (2014), Italian version titled Ely + Bea (2012; 2016), Swedish version titled Isa + Bea (2016), Brazilian Portuguese version called Bia & Ive, Polish version named Nierozlaczki. Lilka i Pestka (2019), Norwegian version called Isa + Bea (2014), Turkish version named Ivy & Bean 1, German version titled Ivy & Bean (2012).

Ivy and Bean’s plot: Bean has a mutual dislike for Ivy; however, his joke on her elder sister Nancy backfires, prompting Ivy to side with him.

The second book in the Ivy and Bean series is titled Ivy and Bean the Ghost That Had to Go that was also first published in March 2006. Translations: 2014 Finnish version Isa + Bea ja karmea vessakummitus, Turkish version Ivy & Bean ve Gitmesi Gereken Hayalet, 2013 Hebrew version אייבי ובין ורוח הרפאים, 2013 Italian version Ely + Bea e il fantasma della scuola, 2015 Spanish version Eva y Beba y El Fantasma del Bano Chicas, 2012 German version Ivy & Bean vertreiben das Schulgespenst, 2019 Polish version Nierozlaczki. Duch, ktory musial odejsc, Portuguese version Bia + Ive. O Fantasma na Escola, and 2014 French version Zoe Et Juju Chassent Le Fantome A L’Ecole.

Plot: Ivy has since befriended Bean; now, the adventurous duo are on a fun-filled mission of chasing away a ghost from their school.

Annie Barrows wrote the Iggy Frangi series, alongside Australian book illustrator Sophie Blackall. The first book in the Iggy Frangi series is Iggy Is the Hero of Everything. First published by G. P. Putnam’s Sons in January 2020; its protagonist is a troublesome schoolboy called Iggy Frangi who enjoys troubling those around him before he realizes the impact of his mischief to both his wellbeing and his victims.

In Annie Barrows’ Iggy Frangi series, the second book is titled Iggy Is Better Than Ever; G. P. Putnam’s Sons initially published it in October 2020. Plot: the main character is Iggy Frangi whose mischief results in a conflict with his seniors; ranging from inconveniencing road users—particularly his principal Mrs. Wander’s car—to seriously wounding his teacher while showcasing his basketball-playing skills to forcing his father off work to accompany him.
Annie Barrows is also the author of the Miri and Molly series; Barrows acknowledges American contributor Sam Ricks. The first book in the Miri and Molly series is titled The Magic Half, which was initially published in December 2007.

The Magic Half has 14+ editions that have been published over the years, including a Turkish version called Sihirli kardesim that Pegasus published in 2014. Book’s plot: the protagonist is called Miri, a juvenile who does not fit in her family structure that consists of elder twin brothers and younger twin sisters. The family relocates to a rural residence, where a glassy backward time machine takes her to the mid-1930s; therein, Miri befriends a mistreated adoptive girl named Molly Gill. Miri fast-forwards Molly’s life, resulting in their coincidental births as twin girls.

The second book in the Miri and Molly series is titled Magic in the Mix. First published in 2014, it has a Turkish edition titled Zamanin Shiri from Pegasus Yayinlari (published in February 2021). Plot: Miri and her stranger-turned-twin Molly are now telepathic classmates. Plot: there is another further backward time travel to between late 1800s and early 1900s; accompanied by their twin brothers, they hope to stop the fateful marriage of Molly’s actual parents in her past life.

Awards won by Annie Barrows

Annie Barrow is a seven-time nominee for her book The Magic Half: for the 2011 Kentucky Bluegrass, Rhode Island Children’s Book, the Massachusetts Children’s Book, and the Sasquatch Reading awards; and for the 2010-2011 Mark Twain Readers, Virginia Readers’ Choice, Maud Hart Lovelace, and Sunshine State Young Readers’ awards.

Annie Barrow’s book Ivy and Bean has been nominated thrice—for the 2008 Kentucky Bluegrass, the 2010-2011 North Dakota Flicker Tale Children’s Book, and the 2011 Bluestem awards. Her 2010 book Ivy and Bean Make the Rules was a finalist for the Early Chapter Books of the 2012 Cybils Awards.
Film Adaptations of Annie Barrows’ Books

Annie Barrows and co-author Mary Ann Shaffer’s 2008 book The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society has a similarly titled 2018 film adaptation.
Other Books You May Like

These books are popular among readers of Annie Barrows’ works. In Sara Pennypacker’s 2006 book Clementine—first in the Clementine series—mischievous schoolgirl Clementine has a troublesome schooling week and conflicting relationship with her mother.

Sarah Mlynowski’s 2014 book Dream On is the forth in her Whatever After series; it is about a magic mirror that results in a nightmarish sleepover. Another fan favorite is Beverly Cleary’s 2000 book Beezus and Ramona, the first in the Ramona series; the main characters are the wary, responsible Beezus Quimby and his mischievous, irresponsible kid sister Ramon.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Annie Barrows

Leave a Reply