Book Notification

Annie Raymond Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Annie Raymond Books

Like False Money (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Jawbone Gang (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Doll Makers (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Where There's Smoke (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tiger Blood (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Syrup Trap City (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Boxed In (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Apart from being a crime writer, Penny Grub is also a scientist and an academic. She has also served as the chair of the Writer’s Licensing and Collecting Society for approximately 6 years. A writer her entire life, Penny Grubb wrote her very first story when she was only 4 years old. Grubb, then went ahead to win the first writing competition that she has ever participated in at the age of 9. In the year 2004, Penny Grub was awarded with a Crime Writer Association Award for her novel the Doll Makers. Penny Grub’s works are published in the United Kingdom, United States and Canada as well.

Penny Grub has worked in a number of jobs such as pathology labs, medical schools and various operating theatres throughout Europe. Penny Grubb currently resides in Eastern Yorkshire with her husband and a small community. Currently, Penny Grubb has a full time job in London and another one in Hull. During her free time, Penny Grubb loves to pen down crime novels and occasional articles for various magazines and newspapers as well.

Annie Raymond Series

Like False Money is the first book in the Annie Raymond book series. This book is the story about an exceedingly young investigator, Annie Raymond. Apart from being Annie’s first attempt, it is also Annie’s first job and she clearly understands that she has to constantly prove herself if she expects to retain the job. The agency that employs Annie is based in Hull city, a part of England that Annie is not that familiar with. Hull city is an excellent setting for the book; apart from having a dramatic landscape of the sea, the city also offers wide range of racial contrast and class as well. Annie Raymond was posted to Hull city because one of the directors had broken her leg after she fell down the stairs.

However, it does not take long before Annie realizes that the said accident was not purely accidental. During her first days at the job, Annie did not do much because all she was expected to do is served her boss coffee. She was also working on one case, which from the look of things was not that promising. Annie was looking into the apparent death of one of the local journalists, Terry Martin. Terry Martin’s parents were overly obsessed with finding out what truly led to the death of their son. They were also keen to know where there son had been before their son’s body was located. After doing a little bit of digging, the trail eventually fades and Annie begins to realize that soon she is going to be sent back to London. However, as expected, nothing is accidental especially with this book being a thriller.

One of the subjects of discussion was why were the agency’s directors constantly at war with each other? Furthermore, who were the three mysterious ladies who showed up at the funeral? It does not take long before Annie discovers that her instincts have in turn let her down and now her own life is in danger. With that said, you are definitely going to love the manner in which the author has brought to the open, the realities of being a detective in today’s world. Annie’s relationship with the local police is somehow strained especially by mistrust, however towards the end it becomes apparently clear that the two need each other. Furthermore, people were going to easily talk with an ordinary person and give them sensitive information instead of giving the same information to the police.

Furthermore, the witnesses, agency staff, local police and the police contracts are realistic. You can meet with some of them on the streets of Hull city each and every day, while some you will meet with on the rural of East Yorkshire, while some you will meet with in the villages. The author, Penny Grub on the other hand has supplied the readers with puzzles, theories and facts. She has also slowly revealed the plot with various clues for those who are clever enough to spot these clues. However, the solutions to some of these interwoven mysteries are somewhat unexpected and when it comes to the murder mystery, untimely inevitable and breathtaking as well. The novel begins slowly with gentle intrigues and dogmatic games played by individuals with hidden motives. However, it does not take long before the novel develops into a cliff hanger.

Contrasting the modern world with the rural environment, Penny looks at the motives, ambitions and subtexts to portray that location does not need to be the determinative influence, that it is often considered to be. Doll Makers is the second book which features the private investigator, Annie Raymond. Just like the first book, Like False Money, the story is told through the eyes of Annie Raymond. This is a story with so many threads such that at first the story may seem to be a little bit overwhelming. However, several chapters in, the reader will begin asking numerous questions. Annie is looking for courage to share the exceedingly devastating news with his father. Annie Raymond is thrown in a world that is full of corruption as she tries all she can to ensure that her business does not fail. To save her business, Annie goes to her exceedingly rich aunt for assistance.

Upon arriving, Annie reunites with her father. Annie Raymond decides to assist her father with an exceedingly old case that he had been working on for quite some time. Memories of her past, begin to haunt Annie as she eventually unearths secrets and lies which have been kept hidden for several years. With that said, the storyline unfolds quite well with plenty of action and drama. Annie is an exceedingly sympathetic character, who has quite a lot in her mind. You are definitely going to enjoy the flashbacks together with Annie Raymond’s inner thought of odds and ends of the revelations, they have really added to the mystery as well as playing a key role in establishing Annie’s character as well.

With that said, The Doll Makers is an exceptional book, which features characters that will definitely keep you interested. If you are a fan of crime novels that have been spiced up with a mixture humor, realism and intelligence, then you are definitely going to fall in love with this installment.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Annie Raymond

Leave a Reply