Book Notification

Ant Hill Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ant Hill Books

Prolific children’s author Joan Holub began publishing her “Ant Hill” series in the year 2006 with the release of the first book, which is called “More Snacks!”. The series is illustrated by Will Terry.

Both 2007 and 2008 were big years for the series because three books each were released in those two years alone; as the year 2006 is the only other year a book from this series was released. It was in the year 2008 that the seventh and final book was released, which was called “Spring is Here!”.

The series is meant for level one readers, which is the level meant for kids just starting to read, as well as starting to bud as readers. Mainly it is meant for kids who are pre kindergarten and kindergarten. It means that there are not many words on page, with each page having an average of six words per page.

Some of the books focus on such holidays as Valentine’s Day, Thanksgiving, St. Patrick’s Day, and Halloween. After this, things like a snow day, spring coming, and going on a picnic are explored.

It is set in a far away land that is known as Ant Hill, and stars a bunch of ant kids as they have their different adventures throughout the different books in the series.

“More Snacks!” is the first novel in the “Ant Hill” series and was released in the year 2006. The Ant Hill kids are currently putting together a play about the first Thanksgiving their ancestors’ had many years back. This was when they got on the Mayflower, behind the Pilgrims and went to new land. They met brand new friends that also had six legs and had a big spread to celebrate the harvest.

Some found this to be quite hilarious to read, and are fun to read to kids many times. Fans of the novel find that Joan Holub is excellent with rhyming in the book, especially since she is able to give the characters two word quotes and make the sentences four words long. This is a book that was well written, and clearly the author knows how to write a kids book. There were readers that became fans of Joan’s work after this story. Some readers are glad they gave this one a try, finding that they have had a hard time trying to master reading, but this one has done wonders for them.

“Big Heart!” is the second novel in the “Ant Hill” series and was released in the year 2007. The ants are in their classroom now working on a big card for Valentine’s Day. Going on the card will be things like stars and glue and lace. Who are they going to send it to? Kids of Ant Hill are writing all the possible recipients before they settle on just one lucky person. Their teacher of course.

Some found that they were able to learn some things about Valentine’s Day through reading this book, which is something excellent to have in a fun book. Fans of the novel liked how this could be read for Valentine’s Day or is simply something great for kids to hone their reading abilities with. This was a nice short read that some felt was even better than book one. Here is an author that knows how to write funny and entertaining stories that help children learn how to read, giving parents an easier job of having their kids read.

“Good Luck!” is the third novel in the “Ant Hill” series and was released in the year 2007. The Ant Hill kids return. Here, they perform a great big St. Patrick’s Day parade, one that is complete with things like bagpipes and shamrocks. They find a delightful surprise at the end of a rainbow after they are led on a high spirited chase of a leprechaun.

Some parents find that this is all their kids ask them to read during their reading time; they have become hooked and have read every book from this series at least twice. Fans of the novel found that Joan does a nice job continuing her rhyming scheme here in this book. The holiday theme even makes it nice for reading during St. Patrick’s Day. These are great books that young readers cannot get enough of, and have actually memorized some of the books, they have already read them that much.

“Scaredy Pants!” is the fourth novel in the “Ant Hill” series and was released in the year 2007. Halloween time in Ant Hill and the kids have dressed in their costumes and are going to visit a spooky house. While they are there, they hear and see all kinds of things that are creepy, however, they turn on the flashlights they brought with them, and realize that the house is not quite so scary after all.

Some readers liked the cute characters found in the story. Fans of the novel like how these books are able to teach kids how to read, when they are just starting out and learning. They show that certain sounds can be made by using different spellings; it helps kids that are learning to simply sound out each word on the page. Kids love to ask their parents to read this book to them, just one more time through before bed.

“Picnic!” is the fifth novel in the “Ant Hill” series and was released in the year 2007. The summertime is a great time to have a picnic, and it is common knowledge that ants enjoy a good picnic. There is corn and watermelon, who wouldn’t love such things like that? When the sun begins to go down, the ants have to try to find out how to get back home after spending such a long afternoon in the park.

Fans of the novel enjoyed the very wonderful illustrations that Will Terry put in this as well as the other books in the series. Some found that book does a nice job of helping readers learn their letter sounds, and it even pairs nicely with someone’s own picnic. Some like the way that the book does not discourage young readers by making it easier for them to sound things out and just make sense of what the letters sound like at this stage.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Ant Hill

Leave a Reply