Anthony Berkeley Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Roger Sheringham Cases Books

The Layton Court Mystery (1925)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Wychford Poisoning Case (1926)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Roger Sheringham and the Vane Mystery (1927)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Silk Stocking Murders (1928)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Poisoned Chocolates Case (1929)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Second Shot (1930)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Top Storey Murder (1931)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Murder in the Basement (1932)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dead Mrs. Stratton/Jumping Jenny (1933)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Panic Party (1934)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Avenging Chance and Other Mysteries from Roger Sheringham's Casebook (2004)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Mr Priestley's Problem (1927)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Piccadilly Murder (1929)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Malice Aforethought (As: Francis Iles) (1931)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Before the Fact (As: Francis Iles) (1932)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Not to Be Taken (1937)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Trial and Error (1937)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Death in the House (1939)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

Ask a Policeman(1933)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Anthony Berkeley was a mystery writer and the founder of the Detection Club, one of the most recognized fiction innovators. He also wrote under the pseudonym Francis Iles, and wrote over twenty mystery stories in his lifetime. Anthony is also known to be the first writer to predict the evolution of psychological crime stories. The Roger Sheringham series is among Anthony’s most recognized works.

The Layton Court Mystery

The Layton Court Mystery is the first book in the Roger Sheringham Cases series. The series starts with a party where Alexander Grierson and Roger Sheringham are among the guests. Both of these men did not know the host well, but what they see is an outgoing man who is having a lot of fun. Things turn tragic when the host, a man of great wealth, turns up dead. How does a man who was having the time of his life a few hours back die so suddenly? What are the circumstances surrounding this death?

During the party at Victor’s house, Alexander and Barbara get engaged. However, Barbara calls off the engagement, which comes as a surprise to many. Why would Barbara do this to a man she claims to love? The news of the broken engagement is overshadowed by the discovery of Victor’s lifeless body in his library. Now Alexander has to join his friend Roger is finding out precisely what happened on the night that Victor died.

Victor’s body is found in his English country home, where he had just hosted a party for his friends the previous night. Preliminary findings indicate that Victor killed himself, given the fact that his door was locked. There is a single bullet wound in his head and a gun in his hand. There is also a suicide note that explains why the wealthy man committed suicide. However, Roger Sheringham, one of Layton Court’s guests and a sleuth investigator, is not buying this story. There are many people on the suspects’ list, but the question that remains is how anyone could have locked the door after killing Victor. Even though he is an amateur, Roger uses his wit to unearth the truth of what led to victor’s death.

Join Roger and his friend on a journey in search of the truth. The twists come fast, and the pace is relentless after the first few pages. Despite the death, the story is told in a humorous tone, and it is fun to follow the different characters as they interact with each other. Roger is a lovable character, and even with minimal, if any investigative experience, he is determined to find the truth. So, who killed Victor, and what was their motivation? Was the killer among the guests invited to the party? Find out this and so much more in this intriguing series.

This is a golden age mystery story that comes with an exciting cast and a solid storyline. The ending is quite unconventional, but it gives the story quite an edge. The Layton Court Mystery is a perfect choice if you want a mystery story that will also make you laugh. The characters here are lovable, and the storyline is outstanding.

The Piccadilly Murder

The Piccadilly Murder introduces us to Ambrose Chitterwick is a wealthy man living with an overbearing aunt. Aside from his wealth, Ambrose is well mannered, always formal, and he strives to do what is right. One day, Ambrose witnesses a death in Piccadilly Palace Hotel. Ambrose is sure that he saw a man adding something to the older woman’s drink before she died, and he shares this information with the police. The police move quickly to arrest Major Sinclair, the man who perfectly matches Ambrose’s description. Major Sinclair is the older woman’s nephew.

Ambrose is invited to visit the duke and his sister, and he feels that it is necessary to hear them out. Even before he hears what they have to say, Ambrose is almost sure that these two want to request him to consider his evidence. True to his thinking, the duke asks Ambrose to reexamine the older woman’s death. Ambrose does precisely that, and while this leaves the police bemused, they have no choice to tolerate it thanks to his social standing. Is it possible that Ambrose made a mistake? Given the current succession issue, it is safe to assume that the elderly woman was sacrificed for her money?

Unlike in the popular investigative stories, the detective in this story is an armature. Ambrose is meek and unassuming, and at some point, he is going to take matters into his hands in the investigation. It is refreshing to meet the main character who is not perfect and a storyline that deviates from the norm. Despite his misgivings, Ambrose’s love for the truth sees him going the extra mile to search for the details that everyone seems to be missing. Is Ambrose overreacting, or is he on to something?

From his writing, it is easy to see that the author has an eye for detail. The dialogue between characters is well done, and the narration is simply outstanding. While the identity of the murderer seems obvious, an unexpected twist along the way will completely change your thinking. So, what killed the elderly lady, and could her nephew risk killing her, knowing that he would be the first suspect? If the nephew is not the killer, is it possible that this is the picture the murder wanted to paint?

The Piccadilly Murder is a perfect choice if you are looking for a unique golden age mystery story. There are a few unexpected twists in the story, as well as a variety of characters that you will grow to love. The tone here is amusing and light, making this a perfect pick me up a book plenty of action to keep you entertained. Get to see how a death that appears natural turns into a well-thought-out murder. The identity of the murderer will come as a surprise, and you can bet that it will be a lot of fun guessing the killer as the story progresses.


Book Series In Order ┬╗ Authors ┬╗ Anthony Berkeley

Leave a Reply