Book Notification

Antique Print Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Antique Print Mysteries Books

Shadows at the Fair (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadows on the Coast of Maine (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadows on the Ivy (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadows at the Spring Show (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadows of a Down East Summer (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadows on a Cape Cod Wedding (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadows on a Maine Christmas (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadows on a Morning in Maine (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Antique Print Mystery series is a series of adult mystery novels written by the award winning American author Lea Wait. The series consists of a total of 7 novels published between the years 2002 and 2014. All the novels of the series feature the main protagonist Maggie Summers as the owner of an antique print business named Shadows located in Maine. Author Lea Wait has described the character of Maggie Summer as the alter ego of herself. She is a dealer in the antique print business and represents the fourth generation of her family in the business. Lea has been an antique dealer since the year 1977. In the initial years of her stint as an antique print dealer, she used to operate the business of her shop named MAH Antiques with the help of her mother. But today, her husband Bob Thomas is her business partner. She has used her real life experiences in describing the plots and characters in the novels of the Antique Print Mystery series.

One of the initial novels of the series written by author Lea Wait was titled ‘Shadows on the Coast of Maine’. It was published in the year 2003 by the Pocket Books publishing house. The plot of the novel is set in Maine, United States and revolves around the life of the central character Maggie Summer. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Maggie Summer is described as needing only the antiques for a proper fun getaway for herself. During the month of August in Maine, she is seen looking after her antique print business. After a little while, Maggie gets invited by a former college roommate named Amy Douglas. At first, she finds an unexplained hurry on the part of Amy Douglas with respect to the invitation. Maggie comes to about Amy’s urgency later when she learns that Amy and her husband named Drew are thinking of restoring their 18th century house located in the tiny town of Madoc, Maine. The house already seems to be perfect in every sense, but when Maggie Summer supplies the right type of antique prints in the house, it will become more perfect. But the lives of Amy Douglas and her husband does not seem to be filled with just happiness as she is suffering from hysteria and her type A personality is believed to be because of her attempts to get pregnant with Drew’a child. Her desperation makes her hear the sound of a crying baby during the nights and this haunts her.

The neighbors of Amy and Drew seem to be hostile and resentful as they think of the as the transplanted New York residents The neighbors always keep Amy Douglas on the edge. This goes on for a while after which, a dead body of a teenage girl is found in the land of Amy and Drew Douglas. This brings more trouble in their already troubled lives. It also makes Maggie Summer realize that the threat seems authentic. Everyone, including the antiques-hunter friend of Maggie, Will Brewer are cast as the suspects of the murder. Maggie begins to scratch beneath the grounds of the small town of Madoc, Maine and becomes successful in unraveling the secrets that were hidden for generations inside a grand home in Maine. The 18th century house of Amy Douglas and Drew seems to be unsettled and brings in a series of unexpected events in their lives. In the beginning they hear unexplained and distant voices in the house. Then fire breaks out mysteriously. Also, the rumor about a hidden treasure in the attic of the house makes rounds in the town. When Maggie began dreaming about a romantic relationship with her fellow antique dealer, Will Brewer, her dreams are cut short when she learns that the old house that is causing so many problems in the lives of Drew and Amy Douglas is actually the ancestral home of Will Brewer. Some of the living relatives of Will do not like the idea that their house is now owned by someone outside their family. Soon, the suspense and the mystery of the novel unfold. The novel was liked by numerous readers all over the world who found it intriguing enough to read it till the very end in a single stretch. Even the critics praised the dedicated efforts of author Lea Wait and her unique style of doing the characterizations and the descriptions of the plots.

The other initial novel of the series was published by the Scribner Book Company in the year 2004 and was titled ‘Shadows on the Ivy’. The plot of this continues to revolve around the life of the main protagonist Maggie Summer living in Maine. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Maggie Summer is described as a professor at a community college in the Somerset County, New Jersey, along with cherishing her love for her antique print shop, Shadows and the new love in her life, Will Brewer. Other than these, she gets frequently pushed by her inner self to adopt a child and add the 4th love in her life. Will Brewer seems to be on the road and Maggie’s life seems to be very busy. She uses the printed copies of Thomas Nast, William Ludwell Sheppard, and Currier & Ives for illustrating her lectures on the cultural history of America at the college. Oliver Whitcomb and Dorothy Whitcomb are a wealthy pair on the college board and also Maggie’s best customers. Soon, the Whitcombs design a special dormitory for the single parents, which makes Maggie excited to become the advisor for the young parents. With the new assignment, she gets a lot of time to think about her life as a single parent and what it would mean to her. Then, one of the young mothers gets poisoned and caused Maggie to get encircled by the web of danger in the dorm. She soon realizes that a killer is present on the campus. Maggie begins to question whether the killer wants to destroy the college or the house of the Whitcombs and whether he is someone she knows very closely? Like before, she turns towards her beloved antique prints to get the answers to all her questions related to the case. But, this time she makes some very important discoveries about herself after getting torn between the needs of her students and her own. The novel turns out to be a rich with the most interesting and appealing characters which helped it to reach out to a number of readers. This motivated author Lea Wait to write the other novels of the series as well as win a few awards and nominations.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Antique Print Mysteries

Leave a Reply