Book Notification

Appomattox Saga Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Appomattox Saga Books

A Covenant of Love (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gate of His Enemies (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Where Honor Dwells (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Land of the Shadow (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Out of the Whirlwind (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadow of His Wings (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wall of Fire (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stars in Their Courses (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chariots in the Smoke (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Witness in Heaven (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Appomattox Saga series is a wonderful series of romantic fiction, Christian fiction, and historical novels. It is written by a highly renowned American novelist named Gilbert Morris. The series is comprised of a total of 10 books, which were released between the years 1992 and 1998. Each and every book of this series follows the life stories of a different set of lead characters. The books generally depict the romance between the two main leads and other characters play important secondary roles to carry the series forward. Some of the important characters mentioned by author Morris in the series include Denton Rocklin, Deborah Steele, Paul Bristol, Allyn Griffeth Rocklin, Clay Rocklin, Rachel Franklin, Burke Rocklin, Frank Rocklin, Lowell Rocklin, Marie Bristol, and Austin Bristol. Author Morris started writing the series in the year 1992 and also released its debut novel in the same year. The series lasted for 10 novels and finally came to an end in 1998 with its concluding novel called A Witness in Heaven. Author Gilbert Morris was regarded one of the best known novelists of Christian fiction books in the new age literary world.

He was famous for writing romance novels, which were successful in attracting a wide range of readers from all over the world. In addition to writing under his original name, author Morris also used to make use of the pseudonym Gilbert L. Morris for writing some of his books. He used to reside in Gulf Shores, Alabama, along with his wife named Johnnie Morris and children Alan Morris and Lynn Morris. Gilbert has penned numerous novel series throughout his writing career. While writing a few of them, he collaborated with his daughter, Lynn Morris, who is also a well known novelist. He has even teamed up with Alan Morris for writing several of his novel series. The three have collaborated in writing the Omega series. Apart from his children, the other writers that author Morris has formed a team with include Robert Funderburk and Aaron McCarver. A particular interest of Gilbert Morris was in mystery books and this has enabled him to work on a few mystery and detective fiction series as well. The debut novel of The Appomattox Saga series written by author Gilbert Morris is entitled ‘A Covenant of Love’.

It was released by the Living Books publication in the year 2000, after it was first released in 1992. The central characters of this particular book as mentioned by author Morris include Melanie Benton, Gideon Rocklin, and Clay Rocklin. Author Gilbert has done the setting of this book in Virginia. The dramatic saga follows the story of the Rocklin family living in the South at a time when, the place experiences the first uprising of secession and unrest.

The family is shown as having to experience the spiritual struggles and intense emotions of the difficult Civil War. Just like the nation gets ripped apart and then rises up to become stronger, the members of the Rocklin also experience a similar fate. Gideon and Clay Rocklin are depicted as cousins, both of whom wish to make the gorgeous Melanie Benton their own. In the end, it comes down to Melanie Benton to choose one among the two that suits her the best. The choice that she makes causes the rejected one to go through a spiraling descent. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that a rivalry begins between Clay and Gideon because each one loves Melanie Benton very much. When Melanie comes to know about this, she faces a great dilemma. She too seems to have feelings for both men, but chooses to marry Gideon. As a result, Clay Rocklin goes into misery and develops habits of carousing and drinking. He turns himself in a complete menace.

Clay’s situation becomes so miserable that the family starts feeling ashamed because of him. In order to make up for his bad choices, Clay decides to join the Army and hopes that his family will see him as a hero. But, he makes his life even more miserable by doing so. When the members of the family begin to taunt him, he attacks one member and then the family forces him to move out. Clay becomes a part of a cargo ship and manages to change his life radically. A couple of female characters enter his life, but he is not able to love any of them as much as he loved Melanie Benton.

Another mind blowing book of this series is called ‘Witness in Heaven’. This book was published by the Tyndale House publication in 1998. The main characters described in this particular story include Charlene Peace, Boone Manwaring, and several others. Author Morris has set this novel’s plot too during the Civil War and has mentioned it to have taken place in the month of February in the mountain ranges of the Rockies. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that the Rockies have a peaceful February, but numerous people still seem to be suffering at the hands of the disturbing War in other parts of the nation.

While the War continues to rage on no one is able to convince Charlene Peace to leave behind her home in the mountains and move out. Some people believe that it is because of her Crow Indian nature that she is not listening to anyone. But, when the handsome and sexy Boone Manwaring informs Charlene Peace about the difficulties of the war and requests her to leave the town with him, she agrees. The two travel towards South in the direction of Richmond and arrive at a site where there is some serious fighting going on. It is this experience that makes Boone and Charlene understand the real war politics.

It looks like the South is not the safest place for Northerners. And so, Boone Manwaring and Charlene Peace must decide whether they want to stay and take the risks for completing their mission or get out and move to a safer place. Author Morris seems to have done a great job in describing the tough times and the battles. The plots look very much enjoyable and appear to have something in them for all the types of readers. The strong Christian faith based influence throughout the book was taken very well by the readers. They thought of it as moving & helpful in getting to know the War in a better way. Gilbert Morris received lots of praises from one and all for his efforts. He was motivated to come up with many more such novels in his later career.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Appomattox Saga

Leave a Reply