Book Notification

April Genevieve Tucholke Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Between Books

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Between the Spark and the Burn (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Wink Poppy Midnight (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Boneless Mercies (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Seven Endless Forests (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Picture Books

Beatrice Likes the Dark (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Merry and Hark (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Secret Life of Hidden Places (With: Stefan Bachmann) (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Because You Love to Hate Me(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

April Genevieve Tucholke is an author of crossover and young adult fiction whose novels have received multiple starred reviews and been published in more than thirteen countries. Her novels in the “Between” series that include “Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea” and “Between the Spark and the Burn” and her fantasy mysteries such as “The Boneless Mercies” have been described as atmospheric and lush with complicated psychologies and sumptuous descriptions. The Boneless Mercies that she published in 2018 is a reimagining of the Beowulf legend and her first foray into fantasy. Apart from her novels, she is also the editor of the “Slasher Girls & Monster Boys” anthology. As a child, she lived on a remote farm in the Midwest and often stayed up late in the night reading novels while the rest of the family was asleep. As an adult, Genevieve Tucholke lived all over the US and in Edinburgh, Scotland for two years. She spent much of her time in Scotland walking the countryside taking in the beauty of ruined castles. When she is not writing her novels she loves to talk around the country, explore old abandoned houses and drink some coffee. April currently lives with her husband and two dogs in the Pacific Northwest.

April Tucholke began writing plays as a child and would make her younger sister and brother act them out. Most of her plays were mysteries and she would write both the written and live audio versions that she still has in her drawer to this day. In addition to the mysteries that she read and wrote during this time, she was also a fan of classic fantasies. Some of the fantasies she read included “The Golden Compass,” Garth Nix’s “Sabriel,” and “The Chronicles of Narnia” by C.S. Lewis. Way back in 1996, she read “A Game of Thrones” by George R.R. Martin and was blown away by the novel. In fact, she so loved it that she emailed the author with a ton of questions that Martin so graciously answered. When she went to college, she decided to take a course in creative writing since she had always loved books and believed her career lay in professional authorship. She surprised herself when she wrote her first draft of her debut novel “Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea” in eight months. After several rounds of revising with her critique partner, her agent and an editor, she finally published the novel in 2012. She has never looked back since.

Genevieve gets inspiration from the likes of Stephen King and H.P. Lovecraft, who like to write novels with ominous and eerie undercurrents set in small towns. Just like most of the novelists that inspire her, Tucholke has set most of her novels in a small town or several small towns. This gives her novels an atmospheric, and lush sense of mood and place. Genevieve has said that she loves using small towns as a setting given that human beings are generally afraid of the wild and the unknown. This aspect of human nature makes it practical to set her novels in environments surrounded by the woods or the sea. While she could set her novels in the cities that are fast-paced and modern and hence contain many believable horrors, she prefers Lovecraft’s settings that often have foreboding on the inside and boring on the outside. According to Tucholke, superstition and tales thrive in the long-settled, sheltered places and these tend to be in the country rather than the city.

“Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea” by April Genevieve Tucholke is a novel set in the sleepy town that Violet White calls home. It is a tranquil seaside town where everything is so laid back until River West bursts onto the scene. Just after he moves into the guesthouse bordering Violet’s crumbling estate, bizarre and creepy things start to happen. Violet cannot help but wonder about the man who is just a few feet away from her property. He has a killing smile, pretty eyes but is very cagey about his mysterious past and she starts to wonder just how many lies he tells through that smile. She thinks that there could be more to the man, particularly when she remembers what her mother had said about the devil. But she does not remember the devil ever being a handsome dark-haired young man that likes coffee, gets a tan in the sun and kisses her in the cemetery. Violet just could not resist his kisses and believes she may be too deep in love that she is losing her capacity to think objectively. For River, this is just how he loves it. April Tucholke blends the thrill of gothic horror and faded decadence to write a twisting and dreamy modern romance that is as terrifying as it is gorgeously told.

April Tucholke’s “Between the Spark and the Burn” is the sequel to the first novel of the series. Violet had once been told that all the fear in the world could be traced back to the devil. But then the devil had told her that people often forgive those who scare them easier than those that made them cry. However, her case is different given that River West is guilty of both crimes against her. River West Redding is a crooked smiling liar that had driven into town and into her life one sunny summer and turned everything upside down. The man is now gone missing and Violet is devastated. Violet and River’s brother Neely are worried about him and while they are commiserating, they hear about strange events reported in a remote mountain town. They immediately leave town as they believe it may have something to do with River. But River is a cunning man and each town they reach, they find he has already left. They encounter towns whipped up to a frenzy, wind-whipped islands with dangerous and strange undercurrents and several witch hunts. But Violet is soon wondering if Neely who she had always thought to be a trustworthy man may also be not who she believed he was.

Book Series In Order » Authors » April Genevieve Tucholke

Leave a Reply