Book Notification

Araminta Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Araminta Spook Books

My Haunted House (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Amazing Mushroom Mix-Up (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sword in the Grotto (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Frognapped (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vampire Brat (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghostsitters (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gargoyle Hall (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Skeleton Island (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Araminta Spookie series is a successful book series of children’s novels written by a well known British author named Angie Sage. This series consists of a total of 7 books, which were released between the years 1994 and 2015. All the books of this series feature the main lead in the role of Araminta Spookie, who is shown as a small girl. The series was originally published as Araminta Spook series in the United Kingdom, and the US version was published later. In all the novels of the series, Araminta Spookie is depicted as a girl, who likes everything that looks scary. She does not seem to have any fear of bats, haunted houses, ghosts, hidden passageways, etc. She resides in a haunted house along with her aunt named Tabby. The house also comprises of a ghost named Edmund and a haunted armor suit in the form of Sir Horce. Author Sage started writing the Araminta Spookie series in the year 1994 and also published its first book in the same year. But, after the release of the debut book, Sage took a long break from writing. She returned back, bringing the second book of the series in 2006. Then she wrote 4 books in the series and again took a break of several years. She finally returned to contribute a couple of more books in the series and thereby concluding it. In addition to being a writer, author Angie Sage also works as an illustrator sometimes. She has a particular interest in children’s books and young adult novels. Sage is highly famous for writing the Septimus Heap series. As she is a publisher’s daughter, Angie Sage did not find any difficulty in enabling her books to reach out to readers throughout the world. The publishing thing kind of worked very smoothly for her. Sage spent her earlier days growing up in Thames Valley, London. Her father used to encourage her to take up reading and writing when she was small. He used to bring her blank paper books for writing and drawing whatever came to her mind. The initial interest of Sage was to make a career in the field of medicine. But, she ended up enrolling herself in a course of Graphic Design & Illustration at the Leicester Art School in England. This helped her a lot in illustrating books. Following her initial works of illustration, author Sage shifted to the world of writing. She was busy in illustrating the children’s board books between 1998 and 2002. The first book that she wrote is called Magyk and this book marked the beginning of the series of Septimus Head. And with the success of the books of this series, Sage took a step up in her literary career and started developing her second series. Currently, she is trying to develop a new series and is working to get the first book out for publication as soon as possible. The debut book of the Araminta Spookie series written by author Anglie Sage is entitled ‘My Haunted House’.

It was released by the Katherine Tegen Books publication in the year 2006. Author Sage has mentioned the chief characters in this book as Araminta Spookie, Edmund, and Aunt Tabby. Angie Sage collaborated with Jimmy Pickering for the illustration of this book. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that Araminta Spook lives in a wonderful, big, old house that is haunted. The house is actually owned by her aunt, who appears to be very much frightened by ghosts. She does not wish to live in her house anymore and wishes to move out as soon as possible. However, Araminta Spook does not want to go anywhere.

She doesn’t have any fear of ghosts or any other frightening creature. When Araminta Spookie comes to know that Aunt Tabby has decided to sell the house, she decides to stop her at any cost. She wants Aunt Tabby to give up her determination to selling away the big, wonderful house. The house has a haunted armored suit with the name of Sir Horace, as well as a friendly ghost called Edmund. Now, Araminta Spookie takes the decision of using these two to make things work in her favor. Without wasting much time, Araminta puts her imagination at work for hatching out a plot to make one Awful Ambush. She hopes that this ghoulish plan might work and make Aunt Tabby give up the idea of giving away the house. Additionally, Araminta Spookie keeps driving away the people, who come to buy the house. Every one of them seem to lose their sense of thinking after hearing the ghost stories told by Araminta and run away at once. This way, Araminta gets to keep favorite house and the company of her ghostly friends. Another mind blowing novel written in this series is called ‘Vampire Brat’. The Katherine Tegen publication released this novel too in 2007. Author Sage has described the central characters in this book as Uncle Drac, Wanda, Max, and Araminta Spookie. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that Araminta Spookie suspects of something being hidden inside the deep, long, hidden passages of her Spookie House. She wonders if it is a werewolf, and suspects about the existence of a number of other creepy creatures. To add to her problems, the creepy nephew of Uncle Drac named Max arrives in the neighborhood. Upon seeing him, Araminta Spookie understands that things are not going to be easy and same for her as before. Max finds a new best buddy in Wanda, and Araminta becomes much more annoyed at Max after learning about his new friendship. In order to what planing have been made by Max, Araminta devises a foolproof plan. The plan will help her to get rid of the hiding werewolf and also overcome the problem of Max. But, her plan must actually work at the right moment otherwise Araminta Spookie will end up making fun of herself in front of her friends.

The book was very much appreciated by many readers all over the US and UK. It also received very good reviews from the critics from both the nations. Author Sage was also praised for coming up with such an interesting story. Her work in this series was liked by many child readers. This helped her become a favorite of many kids, who love her writings. The appreciation also helped Angie Sage to gain a lot of motivation for working on her next novels.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Araminta

Leave a Reply