Book Notification

Archy McNally Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Archy McNally Books

By: Lawrence Sanders, Vincent Lardo
McNally's Secret (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
McNally's Luck (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
McNally's Risk (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
McNally's Caper (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
McNally's Trial (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
McNally's Puzzle (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
McNally's Gamble (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
McNally's Dilemma (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
McNally's Folly (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
McNally's Chance (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
McNally's Alibi (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
McNally's Dare (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
McNally's Bluff (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Lawrence is one of the world’s renowned authors that have ever lived. He was born in Brooklyn in New York City. He was born in 1920 and the sun set on him in 1998. His writings were mostly based on crime fiction and mystery novels. He first worked as an editorial writer for a magazine and later switched to become a full time author of crime fiction. Some of his famous series include the commandment, Edward X. Delaney, and Archy McNally and many others. During his time, Mr. Sander was ranked up there in terms of popularity with the great people like Stephen King, Danielle Steele and a few other newsstand rack superstars.

Despite his massive reputation as the king of the detective novel, as a matter of facts, the best remembered recently for his foamy, sexy, padded paperbacks of technology, the peccadilloes of the high and mighty of this world, he was capable of writing some damn enjoyable, and even confrontational and prominent books in several crime genres, ranging from capers to thrillers, and even to police procedurals.

Sanders having worked as a journalist for over twenty years, working for some of the famous publications such as Mechanics Illustrated and Science in mechanics, but he made it clear that being a journalist was not his thing. His heart was in writing novels. He began writing series of short stories featuring unsentimental insurance investigator Wolf Lannihan that appeared in the pages of novels like the Swank, the skin mag between 1968 and 1969. But his notable breakthrough came when he published THE ANDERSON TAPES in 1970 and the subsequent film of the same in 1972.

It was The Anderson Tapes that paved the way for the New York cop Edward X. Delaney that won the Edgar for the Best First Mystery Novel from the Mystery Writers of America. It also resulted into a captivating movie, and thereafter, a stream of several novels that are approximated to be at least thirty, and majority of those books featured among the bestseller lists.

Later in 1973, Delaney featured in The First Deadly Sin, which was also later filmed in 1980, where Frank Sinatra being the Delaney. Mr. Sander went on to write three other procedurals that featured Delaney. As a matter of facts, he was responsible for the several series characters with most of them being the private investigators. One of the most notable characters he helped brought out was ARCHBALD ARCHY MCNALLY who also happened to be the last characters he used. According to many readers he was one of the funniest characters that Sanders Laurence ever used.

McNally worked as the private canvasser for his father’s Palm Beach law firm whose major clientele base was made of the high and mighty of the exclusive Florida Community. Archy was brought out as the detective working for the wealthy and powerful, but in the Arch McNally series he was presented as the humorous character. Even though, Sander may have done such a thing before, but let the truth be told, he is comparable to none. He is in his own league. Despite the fact that some people are depicting this series as a fluff, nevertheless, it is “fun fluff.”

After his demise in 1998, a question that appeared as some sort of a joke arose, and that is whether it is indeed true that it is him who wrote the books in the series of McNally Archy. One of the books in the series is known as the McNally’s Dilemma (1999). Some people are of the argument that, even though Sander’s name boldly appeared on the cover of this book, but the copy right page tends to reveal that someone by the name Vincent Lardo has been chosen by the Sander’s family to continue the series.

The first book in the Archy McNally series is known as The Secret (1991). In this article you will be provided with a brief summary of what to expect from the Sander’s Secret. The story begins with the investigator Archy McNally accepting to handle a burglary case which is involving the theft of four valuable stamps for a Palm Beach society matron. No sooner had he started the investigation than he being led into a cycle sex, lies, and blackmail. This case also involves murder, and Archy who is narrating the story has to sort out the disgrace from the truth. A subplot involving Archy’s affair with gorgeous antiques trader may show that the playboy days are numbered, even though he is polite and worn-out, but he is still in a position of dropping names and bits of humor. Adam Anderson’s pleasant voice further helps the listener maneuver with it through to the end. This book is recommended larger collection. With brief summary of what you should expect from the SECRET, it is now clear that you are dying to know what is going to happen next, don’t worry just run to the nearest bookshop and grab it from the shelf.

The second book in the series is called THE LUCK (1992). According to many readers, this book was more captivating than the first book in this series. But that does not form the general opinion since everyone is entitled to his opinion. This book begins when people were thinking that they knew the dirt about Palm Beach. But to everyone’s disappointment, Archy McNally returns to confront glitz, gore, and ghosts in McNally’s Luck. With the Archy’s secret most of Sander’s fans were introduced to south Florida’s seuth whose nose for clues and spirits endeared him to readers.

Now the notorious playboy Archy is back with a bang, in a kinky caper the likes of which most of Florida’s elites have never witnessed before. Archy’s luck begins as a search for a purloined pet but quickly turns out to be more fatal. As an investigator for his father’s prominent law firm, McNally is now exposed to another side of stylish Palm Beach that can only be best described as the squalid.

While McNally is stunned by the Pandora’s Box of craving and robbery slowly opening before him, on the heels of the catnapping, a renowned woman is fatally killed, and in a certain mysterious way, the acts are connected. As McNally struggling to put many pieces of puzzle together, he ends up crossing paths with killers, adulterers, and impostors. In the process of investigations he learns that there are scandals that even death cannot hide. This book is indeed captivating. If you would wish to know what happened next just rush to the nearest bookshop and grab this it from the shelf.

Finally, with the kind of creativity that Laurence Sander has applied in almost all the books he ever wrote, he was indeed the world class author. And he surely deserved all the awards he won as a writer.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Archy McNally

Leave a Reply