Book Notification

Arlene Sachitano Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Harley Spring Books

Publication Order of Harriet Truman / Loose Threads Mystery Books

Quilt as Desired (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Quilter's Knot (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Quilt as You Go (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Quilt by Association (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Quilt Before the Storm (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Make Quilts Not War (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Quilt in Time (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crazy as a Quilt (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Disappearing Nine Patch (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Double Wedding Death (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Quilts Make a Family (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The 12 Quilts of Christmas (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Quilt of a Different Color (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Permelia O'Brien Mystery Books

Double Knit (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Louie’s Knit Shop (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Arlene Sachitano is an American author of mystery and thrillers books famously known for her Harriet Trunman/Loose Threads mystery series. Born in Camp Pendleton during her father’s US Navy service, Arlene’s family settled in Newport, Rhode Island, and then Oregon, where she currently resides. Her career spanned nearly three decades in the electronics industry, with stops in solid-state research and manufacturing supervision. A skilled knitter and quilter, Arlene uses her quilting skills to write the Harriet Truman/Loose Threads mystery series, which stars a long-arm quilter as the novice investigator. She splits her time between Tillamook and Portland, where she lives with her spouse and their dog, Navarre.

In Quilt, as Desired, the first novel in Arlene Sachitano’s Loose Threads Mystery series, Harriet Truman finds herself returning to the familiar yet distant shores of Foggy Point, Washington, beckoned by her Aunt Beth’s request to helm the family’s long-arm quilting business during a cruise vacation. Little does Harriet know, this request masks Aunt Beth’s deeper intent to rekindle Harriet’s zest for life, dimmed by the loss of her husband five years prior and the ensuing bitterness over his secret terminal illness—a secret kept by him, his family, and friends, which, if shared, might have altered the course of his fate.

Aunt Beth, harboring concerns for her best friend Avanell Jalbert’s apparent distress and the burden she carries as the owner of the Vitamin Factory, sees in Harriet not just a niece in need of redirection but also a potential ally in uncovering the worries shadowing Avanell’s life.

The plot thickens as Harriet discovers Aunt Beth’s generous deed—gifting her both the quilting business and the Victorian house—intertwining Harriet’s future with Foggy Point’s fabric more tightly than she anticipated. Despite her initial reluctance to anchor herself to this new legacy, Harriet finds herself at the heart of the local quilting community, particularly as the Puget Sound Stitcher’s Show in Tacoma draws near, necessitating her expertise to ready the quilts for display.

Yet, the threads of this new beginning unravel swiftly when Harriet stumbles upon her studio vandalized, torn asunder, the quilts she had painstakingly prepared. However, the community’s solidarity shines as the Loose Threads quilting club rallies to mend the quilts. But darkness looms closer than Harriet imagines; a visit to the Vitamin Factory unveils a grim scene—Avanell Jalbert, lifeless, entangling Harriet in a mystery far beyond the quilts’ intricate patterns.

Harriet’s life takes another turn with the emergence of two suitors: Aiden, Avanell’s vibrant, younger son with an enigmatic presence fresh from Africa, and Harold, the dependable yet unexciting Vitamin Factory employee. Amidst the swirl of potential romance and culinary delights that punctuate Harriet’s days, her feline confidant, Fred, remains a steadfast listener to her burgeoning worries and doubts.

The Quilt of Harriet’s life in Foggy Point is embroidered with more than just threads of loss and love; it’s a tapestry of mystery, danger, and the pursuit of happiness. Harriet’s journey is not one of a detective, yet fate casts her as an unraveler of secrets, leading her to a discovery within Avanell’s prize-winning Quilt that nearly costs her life. This revelation marks a pivotal moment, shedding light on the darkness that has enveloped the town.

Amidst this narrative, the essence of community, the warmth of shared meals, and the comfort of crafting stories through quilts weave a rich, compelling tale. Harriet Truman’s story is a testament to the strength of new beginnings, the healing power of community, and the unexpected paths on which life may lead us.

Quilt As You Go is the third Loose Threads mystery series novel. The story adds yet another tale in the cosy, albeit fictional, enclave of Foggy Point, Washington. Harriet continues her aunt Beth’s legacy by running the local quilting business. Beyond her entrepreneurial endeavors, Harriet stands at the helm of the town’s quilt guild, the Loose Threads, embodying the spirit of community and craft that defines this tight-knit group.

In the midst of nurturing relationships and quilting patterns, Harriet finds herself entwined with Aiden, a youthful and charming veterinarian who has recently welcomed the young quilter Clara into his home as a housekeeper. However, Harriet’s keen senses tingle with suspicion towards Clara’s new beau, hinting at undercurrents of intrigue beneath the surface of their budding romance.

The annual Civil War re-enactment, a highlight in Foggy Point’s calendar, unfolds with its usual flair for historical drama, only to be marred by a grim discovery: a dead body, left on the battlefield post-re-enactment, recognized by Harriet’s dear friend Mavis. This unsettling find catapults Harriet and the Loose Threads into the heart of a mystery that demands their attention and wit.

With determination and a dash of humor, Harriet orchestrates a surveillance operation that leverages the collective might of the Loose Threads. Armed with cell phones and a shared commitment to unraveling the truth, they embark on a town-wide shadowing endeavor, piecing together clues with the same precision they apply to their quilts.

As the investigation deepens, Foggy Point brims with activity. But the story weaves in more than just mystery. Amidst the sleuthing, the quilters dedicate themselves to the art of quilting, crafting Civil War reproduction quilts, comfort quilts for charity, and exploring their creative designs. The narrative also delves into the rich history of Dutch chintz and shares practical quilting tips, like a time-efficient method for threading multiple needles, enriching the reader’s experience with cultural and craft insights.

Each quilter emerges with a vibrant personality, adding complexity and humor to the group’s dynamics. From spirited debates to shared laughter, the interactions among the Loose Threads infuse the story with life and entertainment.

Quilt As You Go is not just a mystery tailored for quilting enthusiasts; it’s a celebration of community, history, and the bonds that tie us together. Yet, a word of caution to the reader: the frequent mentions of mouthwatering snacks are likely to inspire culinary adventures as much as quilting ones. This delightful narrative stitches together a tapestry of intrigue, history, and friendship, inviting readers into the heart of Foggy Point, where every stitch tells a story.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Arlene Sachitano

Leave a Reply