Nick Petrie Series

Arnold Landon Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Arnold Landon Books

A Gathering of Ghosts / Murder in the Barn (1983)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Most Cunning Workmen / Murder in the Manor (1985)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Trout in the Milk / Murder in the Farmhouse (1986)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Men of Subtle Craft / Murder in the Stableyard (1987)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Devil is Dead / Murder in the Church (1989)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Wisp of Smoke / Murder in the House (1992)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Secret Dying (1993)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Bloodeagle (1993)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Cross Bearer (1994)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Short-Lived Ghost (1995)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Angel of Death (1996)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Suddenly as a Shadow (1997)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Shape-Shifter (1998)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Ghost Dancers (1998)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
An Assumption of Death (2000)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dead Secret (2001)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Ways of Death (2002)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Headhunter (2004)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Grave Error (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dragon Head (2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Shadowmaker (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Goddess of Death (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Roy Lewis is a famous novelist and English writer and also made his mark as a small press printer. He was born in Felixstowe but he was brought up in Birmingham and did his education at King Edward’s School. He did is BA from University College, Oxford in the year 1934. He continued his higher studies in London School Of Economics. He started his career as an economist and also had experience of working as an editor for a journal named Statist. That was when he started developing interest in journalism. He took a break from his work in the year 1938 and travelled to India and Australia. He got married to Christine Tew in 1939 and went back to England. They have two daughters out of their marriage. He spent a number of years from July 1939 to 1946 working for a number of publishing and printing firms. Eventually he stared writing his own books and the Arnold Landon (series by Roy Lewis) books are quite popular and well known. He has 22 primary works under the Arnold Landon series and the books are well known for their unique style of writing and each and every book are different when compared to the others.

Style Of Writing And Generics

It would be pertinent to mention here that most of the books written under the Arnold Landon series by Roy Lewis were related to journalism and were nonfiction in nature. Amongst the many books which he wrote apart from the Arnold Landon series The Evolution Man which ran into six series is extremely popular and much sought after. The various series which he wrote were provocative in the sense that they talk about the controversial aspects of the Victorian times. His first book was published in the year 1948 and the name of the book was Shall I Emigrate. He had a hugely successful writing career and his last work was published in the year 1995 and the name was Cock of the Walk. He died in the year 1996 and therefore he was active for a pretty long period of time of his life. We will now over the next few lines try and have a look at the various works done by him with particular reference to the Arnold Landon series and also have a look at a few of the books written under this pen name. As mentioned earlier he has written twenty two books in this series.

Most Cunning Workmen

This is an interesting book of Arnold Landon who is an avid collector of old antique pieces. He has taken a break from his work because of various reasons which are not exactly under his control. He therefore befriends John Torrance who an ageing conglomerate. He is planning to put up a huge business consortium based on a new computer chip material which he believes will be revolutionary. As they move ahead they come across a stunning and secret tunnel in the kitchen. Once they start exploring the tunnel they are in for some surprises and also shocks. It leads them to many discoveries and the power struggle and stabbing behind the back that is going on in the conglomerate.

It also leads them to knowing more about the mysterious murder of Keith Enright the engineer. However, things take some weird twists and turns and Torrence suffer a near fatal heart attack. It is only then that Landon becomes alert. He starts taking a proactive role and makes his presence felt when the final merger is about to take place. He throws a spanner into the merger process. Lewis has take lot of care to go back to the medieval past of Landon. He also portrays very nicely the in human aspects of big business and things that happen in the board room behind the scenes. It is a book which is quite big but nonetheless makes very enjoyable reading.

The Devil Is Dead

This is another wonderful depiction of the character of Arnold Landon. Shy and introvert by nature, he is making a living working for the Northumberland Planning Office. However, knowingly or unknowingly he often falls into trouble because of his main passion and interest in life. He wants to know more about the wood structure and ancient stone works of the District. He is working towards uncovering this mystery and has an arrogant professor Brandling to assist him. He also has another assistant by the name Cy Robinson to assist him. However, his quest is not easy and he has to pick up fights and tiffs along the way. He has to fight with the gypsies who have occupied the land legally.

He also has a tough time handling local farmers who are trying to push them away from the town. Then he has to find out ways to move forward when there is a bitter conflict between the gypsies and the farmers over a gypsy who is found lying in a church area which is not used regularly. This standoff between these two communities becomes tough to handle when Cy Robinson is taken hostage. Shockingly he is later found dead stabbed brutally. From here on the story takes many twists and turns which eventually leads to its logical conclusion. The conversations are old fashioned and might sound boring for the modern readers and some of the characters are also brute, coarse and unrefined. Hence, it is likely that the characters in particular and the book in general will go well only with those who have special likes and dislikes.


At the end of the day, there is no doubt that Roy Lewis has his one unique and wonderful style of writing. His rustic language and the typical countryside banter are very much evident in almost all his books. However, one thing is clear. Each of his work is totally different from the other and therefore readers can be sure that they will be coming across new situations and new circumstances. This will certainly go a long way in making each and every work highly interesting and captivating. That is perhaps the reason why he continues to be popular even many years of his death.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Arnold Landon

2 Responses to “Arnold Landon”

  1. C S SCHULZ: 6 months ago

    The Roy Lewis Arnold Landon series seems to have two names for each book. Those listed here are not the same as those listed on Amazon, so it is still not easy to follow the list in order. Is there a list somewhere that shows both names for each book? Thanks!

    • Graeme: 6 months ago

      Yep of course – added the alternate titles. Sorry we missed those originally.


Leave a Reply