Book Notification

Arthur Slade Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Northern Frights Books

Draugr (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Haunting of Drang Island (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Loki Wolf (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Arthur Slade's Canadian Chills Books

Return of the Grudstone Ghosts (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghost Hotel (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Invasion of the IQ Snatchers (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Hunchback Assignments Books

The Hunchback Assignments (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dark Deeps (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Empire of Ruins (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Island of Doom (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Librarian. Assassin. Vampire. Books

Publication Order of Modo: Mission Clockwork Books

Hyde's Children (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Mission Clockwork Books

Mission Clockwork (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mission Clockwork 2 (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mission Clockwork 3 (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mission Clockwork 4 (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Dragon Assassin Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Graphic Novels

Modo: Ember's End (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Arthur Slade is a published Canadian author of fiction. The Hunchback Assignments is in development.

Arthur Gregory Slade currently resides in Canada in Saskatoon, located in Saskatchewan. He grew up on a Cypress Hills ranch. Like many other authors, he began writing in his teen years. While he polished his creative expression during the high school years, he would end up working on the craft further when he went to college.

Slade would go on to attend higher education. He graduated from the University of Saskatchewan located in Saskatoon in 1989 with his degree in the field of English with honors. That of course would translate and help contribute to his career later as an author of fiction. He did have some early publication success, however, with a short story that was published and came out in 1989.

The author would also spend some time working at a hotel as an auditor at night. He did this for several months, ultimately getting another job this time in radio. He spent a few years working in radio but as a copy writer for a Saskatoon radio station. He would eventually move on.

Slade turned into a writer when he decided to make the jump to doing it full time. He was an author when his debut novel was published. Draugr came out in 1998 and was designed to be a novel for young adults around middle school age (although they can be read by any reader no matter what your age).

Draugr was just the start of the Northern Frights series. He also would come out with different novels including Dust and Tribes. Dust was his novel that came out to much applause and acclaim. In 2001 it would even receive an award from the Governor General in the field of children’s literature. His book The Hunchback Assignments would even get recognition in 2010, winning an award in children’s literature from TD Canada.

Arthur Slade is the author of the Northern Frights fictional series of novels. The first novel in the series debuted in 1998. After the release of Draugr, Slade would follow that up with the sequel later in the same year. The third novel in the series, The Loki Wolf, came out in 2000.

Draugr is the debut book in the Northern Frights series. This popular fiction series came out in 1998 and readers have not been able to get enough of it since! This is a blend of the United States meets Canada as various children go through an experience while on their journey to visit a relative up north.

The children are from America, but their grandfather resides in Canada in the Manitoba area. They have decided to go visit him to see how he is doing, but they are in no way prepared for what is about to meet them when they go on their journey.

The children are not used to mythology– hearing about it or experiencing anything close to real. When they go through an event that involves the mythology of Iceland, they are suddenly realizing that maybe this place is a little different than what they are used to back in America.

Icelandic mythology involves a tale where the man that returns up from dead is seeking the revenge that he deserves. Some people are not all that afraid of people that have died or of death itself. But they are not the majority, and it’s tough not to be scared of something that is totally scary when you are a kid or an adult because in this case, it’s a man that has come back.

He’s returned from the dead and he wants his revenge. The only thing that will stop him will be someone that is bold enough to end his mission and his second life once and for all. Main character Sarah Asmundson has spent her entire life preparing for this moment and she does not even know it.

She does not yet know how to answer that question of whether the dead scare her. She’s living, but she’s about to find out the answer whether she is ready to or not. Such is the case sometimes. She is ready for the scary stories of her grandfather but does not know that the story events and the things in them may just yet come to life.

Burst into reality on the wings of a dragon– not really but almost– a draugr is about to hit the scene. She is no way prepared when this happens but must deal with it anyway. According to the legends, this is a man that returns out of death and is among the living. Reanimated and with no good intentions in his heart, this thing is the start of a series of strange things.

The events of the story are coming to life all around Sarah. She’s doing her best to try and deal with this very odd situation, but is it going to be too much to handle for her? She will give it her all and see if she wins with honor or has to suffer the agony of defeat. Read this story for yourself to find out by picking up a copy of this novel and see if the draugr wins or if Sarah is able to take it on in this modern take on the fairy tale classic stories of old.

The Haunting of Drang Island is the interesting second novel and sequel to the first in the Frights series by Arthur Slade. This time the story also takes place in Vancouver. A boy named Michael is with his dad and a friend.

The group have heard the stories of myths before, but never like this. They will be shocked and even a little unprepared when the stories start coming to life. Can Michael and his friend and father find out that the Icelandic spirits and the myths about the supernatural there are true?

Or did they just eat too much and their food comas are having an odd effect? With sea serpents and more involved, this is a wild ride from start to finish. Pick it up yourself to find out what happens!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Arthur Slade

Leave a Reply