Book Notification

Ashley Dyer / Margaret Murphy Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Carver and Lake Books

as Ashley Dyer
Splinter in the Blood (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cutting Room (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Rickman and Foster Books

The Dispossessed (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Now You See Me (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Detective Jeff Rickman Books

Publication Order of Clara Pascal Books

Darkness Falls (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Weaving Shadows (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Detective Cassie Rowan Books

Before He Kills Again (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Scarecrow Killer (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Goodnight, My Angel / Dear Mum (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkest Hours / The Desire of the Moth (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Her Husband's Killer / Caging the Tiger (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Boy / Past Reason (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dying Embers (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Anthologies

Best Eaten Cold and Other Stories: A Murder Squad Anthology(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Starlings & Other Stories(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Many Deadly Returns(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Ashley Dyer is a pen name used by Margaret Murphy and Helen Pepper. Murphy is a novelist that has won awards. She collaborated with Pepper, a policing as well as forensics expert.

Margaret Murphy is an English author born in Liverpool on April 14, 1959. She has published under the pen names of Ashley Dyer and A.D. Garrett. She has had many hats including a biology teacher, tutor, countryside ranger, and more. She got her MA in the subject of writing and would go on to teach creative writing. She has had her novels released in the United States and abroad.

Margaret Murphy loves writing murder mysteries and founded the Murder Squad. She also belongs to the C.W.A. Murphy resides on ‘the Wirral’. She is the creator and writer of several stand alone novels as well as the Rickman and Foster series.

Ashley Dyer is the author behind the Carver and Lake series. The pen name represents the work of two individuals and was authored by Helen Pepper and Margaret Murphy. The series started with the release of the debut murder mystery book in 2018. The sequel would come out shortly after in 2019.

Splinter in the Blood is the first novel in the Carver and Lake series by Ashley Dyer. If you are looking for an engaging mystery to pick up, then check this suspenseful mystery story out! The twists and turns will have you reading until the very end.

When someone is murdered, the call is sent out. This time it is being taken more seriously as a cop has been attacked. The brutal attack took place while he was hunting for a serial killer known for their macabre ways. The only person that appears to have any idea what might have occurred with the entire thing is the officer’s partner.

The partner alone may know what went down and just who it was that was responsible. They hold the key when it comes to finding this ruthless killer. The murderer is apparently willing to murder in cold blood and has been hunted for months by Greg Carver.

It appears that the person named “The Thorn Killer” finally got to the detective that was pursuing him. Greg Carver was in his very own home when he was killed, shot to death. Now it is up to Ruth Lake, the partner that he left behind and trusted more than anything, to find out who did it and avenge his passing.

Most people would have tried to call for help, but she is instead taking a new approach. She is choosing to rearrange the scene of the crime and has consciously wiped all prints clean from the room. The only problem with this targeted kill is the fact that Carver is not actually dead.

Carver wakes up in a hospital and has no working memory of what happened to him. He knows that he was shot, but he is also pretty sure that the person that came at him was the same Thorn Killer that he had been tracking. The detective is sure that this is the case but has no evidence on his side to back it up.

Despite this fact, Carver will not back down from his believe that this has been an attack of retaliation. He thinks that it is the attempt to try and scare off the detective and keep him from choosing to relentlessly follow the killer. The psychopath actually believes that this could work– that or he knows that the detective is getting way too close and wants to throw him off before he starts to hone in on him.

Carver is stuck in the hospital at the moment. He’s confined to his bed and still has not yet gathered the strength to go on. In his weakened state, Carver has an obsession that will not let go of him. He wants more than anything to return to work and be able to find this killer once and for all before they target more people and innocent people are killed.

There’s only one person out there that has access to the real truth and they are not telling. But she is also leading the investigation while the detective is getting better in the hospital. She doesn’t care that the force is depending on her or the victims have lives they are risking.

Ruth is holding to herself a secret that is deadly. To keep it safe, she may just cross just about every line that there is. Even if that means screwing over her coworkers and her career, maybe even her life, to try and ensure it never gets to the surface.

What will happen in the end and will they catch the killer? You’ve got to pick up the first book in this series to find out!

The Cutting Room is the exciting sequel in the Carver and Lake series. Greg Carver and his partner Ruth Lake are back again and must keep a deadly serial killer from striking again. The killer operates by making his victims the centerpieces of his art.

Britain is currently obsessed with a new television show based around true crime. Meanwhile, Carver and Lake can’t stop the torment of the killer that is not only loose but fiendish in their objectives. When Ruth gets lured to the scene of a crime via a digital invite, she’s curious.

But once she gets there, what she discovers will horrify her. She comes upon a gruesome discovery, a tableau with a crowd around it. It is the latest art work, a deadly installation by the criminal that is being called The Ferryman.

The killer is clearly an exhibitionist as well as a narcissist, and cold to the core. He also wants an audience to view his work, clearly. Now he’s using the social media angle to get at the public, adding a new level to all of this.

Carver and Ruth are on the case, but the partners need to take it slow. Can Greg get over his encounter, or will the auras coming over his vision be something he can use? Can they catch this crazy killer? Pick up this book to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Ashley Dyer / Margaret Murphy

Leave a Reply