Book Notification

Assassin Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Assassin Books

King of Swords (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Revenge of the Assassin (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Return of the Assassin (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Night of the Assassin (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood of the Assassin (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Requiem for the Assassin (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rage of the Assassin (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Assassin” series by self published author Russell Blake is from the thriller genre. The series began in the year 2011 with the release of “King of Swords”. El Rey is a contract killer that has done some rather grotesque killings; which is how he got the name “El Rey”, this means King of Swords in English.

These stories shows the the drug trafficking going on in Mexico. He has said that he actually toned things down and made things a little more tame. He is able to write about the climate of the drug cartels in Mexico, as he has lived there for over ten years.

Russell Blake has said that he likes writing about El Rey because you hate this kind of character, but are fascinated by them, too. Sort of like Hannibal Lector. He uses a tarot card as a way to show who did the killing. El Rey is a sociopath and cold blooded; he is really interesting to readers and even to Blake (and fans of the series) despite these facts. He is the most effective and lethal killer there is; this makes him the highest paid and expensive hit man. His weapon of choice is an M4.

The more that Blake wrote about El Rey, the more the character grew on him, between the first book and prequel. It got so that he wanted to see him in action more and more. Plus, there was quite a bit of tension that him and Cruz get into in book number one that he wanted to explore more deeply. Blake would like to get the work out, while the stories are in his head.

El Rey did have a family once, but in heartbreaking fashion, he lost them. He was later taken in by someone named Emilio. It was from him that he got trained in how to kill people.

Blake does not believe that actors like Tom Cruise or Tom Hanks will ever play the character, should a movie be made about him. This is due to the fact of how brutal the character can be.

“King of Swords” is the first novel in the “Assassin” series and was released in the year 2011. There is a big financial summit that is supposed to go on in San Jose Del Cabo, and all the big ministers of finance are going to attend. So are the presidents of America and Mexico.

Captain Romero Cruz (a member of the Mexican Federal Police) finds out about a plot that involves killing these ministers going to to the event. It would ruin the climate of finance in two countries.

Cruz’ job is to find the King of Swords (also called El Rey); a notorious assassin who has pulled off killings nasty in nature. He has to do this before the summit becomes a big time slaughter.

Fans of the novel were pulled into the novel right off the bat and it was held throughout. You get to see inside the heads of the characters, and the situations feel like they could actually happen, the way they are described. You get to see their side of things, whether they are good or bad. There are some great twists and turns in this book, this is a series to follow for many more installments to come.

“Revenge of the Assassin” is the second novel in the “Assassin” series and was released in the year 2012. El Rey is back again. Captain Romero Cruz has to rush so that he can stop El Rey once more. He is planning on killing the Mexican president because a ruthless cartel leader has hired him to do so.

Fans of the novel found that they were able to read all of the books very quickly, they are that good. It pulls you in and does not let go, until you have finished the thing. This is a series that some people have a hard time reading certain parts, but keep on coming back for more and more. Blake has created a great story line, that fans must keep on reading about until it has been finished. Some expected a lot from the book, and were far from disappointed by it.

“Return of the Assassin” is the third novel in the “Assassin” series and was released in the year 2012. El Rey has to go back to a cartel underworld and has to make some impossible choices. In this world, one wrong move and it is instant death. He goes on a suicide mission so that he can help a young woman from death. For her to get out, he has to get out too.

Fans of the novel found that this took things in a nice direction, and the chess game made for a great read. This book makes the author someone to follow, the same with this series. The book does not let up, with all of the action and there is a lot of mystery and suspense. This killer is someone that readers enjoy reading about, he is able to kill many people and get rewarded for it. And let us not forget how he does so, in a such a way that would make special force members envious.

“Night of the Assassin” is the fourth novel in the “Assassin” series and was released in the year 2012. This novel takes place before “King of Swords”. The novel charts the early years of the killer El Rey, the super assassin. This novel charts how El Rey become the monster he is known as today.

Fans of the novel like the way they get to learn about how El Rey became the man he becomes. Prequels sometimes ruin a certain character that people like reading about, or are completely different from the other books, but that did not happen with this book. Some picked up the book, not knowing what they would get, but they were glad that they did. It still has a fast pace and you will be on the edge of your seat, waiting and wondering for what comes next. These books will make your pulse pound and will make you want to read the other books in this series and other books that Russell Blake has written.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Assassin

Leave a Reply