Book Notification

Augusta Goodnight Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Augusta Goodnight Books

Angel at Troublesome Creek (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Angel to Die For (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadow of an Angel (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Angel Whispered Danger (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Too Late for Angels (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Angel and the Jabberwocky Murders (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hark! The Herald Angel Screamed (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Augusta Goodnight stars in this series of mystery novels by author Mignon Franklin Ballard that began in the year 1999 with the release of “Angel at Troublesome Creek”. The series is from the mystery and thriller genres.

She is a guardian angel, and is naturally bossy, she is a pretty good judge of character (usually), and cold in nature. Augusta usually does not solve the crime herself, but is able to guide the subject in the direction of who the killer is. She even cooks like a dream. The books also have recipes thrown in, as a bonus.

“Angel at Troublesome Creek” is the first novel in the “Augusta Goodnight” series and was released in the year 1999. Mary George Murphy finds out that her Aunt Caroline fell down some stairs and it breaks her heart. She does not think that it was an accident. Not at all.

In comes Augusta Goodnight, who is Mary’s guardian angel. She died during the second world war and has usually been assigned to the strawberry fields in Heaven. This explains why she is so in love with swing music and her old fashioned glamour.

She comes to Mary right at the perfect time, as she helps Mary find an ancient mystery and Mary is able to find out the truth about how her aunt died.

Fans of the novel found that no matter how often they read this book, it never loses its charm one bit. It has a solid mystery and some great and lovable characters in it. Some found that it was a cute book, and the fact that the angel was from another time added an interesting angle to the whole thing. A great book to read around a fire. This had quite a bit of humor throughout, with a twisting and turning plot.

“An Angel to Die For” is the second novel in the “Augusta Goodnight” series and was released in the year 2000. Prentice Dobson has just about lost everything that made her feel like she was complete: her job and her boyfriend. To try and regroup and collect herself and mourn her sister’s death, she leaves the city and goes to the small hometown located in Georgia. She can find no comfort in her beloved town, as there is news that her Uncle Faris has been dug up, possibly by vandals. She begins to doubt the simple explanations she has been given for her sister’s death. She is desperate need of some help.

Here comes Augusta Goodnight to save the day. She is probably the best angel-sleuth that Heaven has. Augusta gives Prentice the strength that she needs to look into the deaths of her loved ones. Dead is a relative thing, though, when Augusta is involved.

Fans of the novel were entertained throughout by all of the fun and quirky characters that are in the book. Some will continue to read books in this series because of how good this one was. The author does a great job of developing the characters in this book, and make you enjoy getting to know everyone. The books warm the heart and it is a lot more hopeful than books about guardian angels usually are.

“Shadow of an Angel” is the third novel in the “Augusta Goodnight” series and was released in the year 2002. After Minda Hobbs’ husband dies suddenly, she goes back to Angel Heights, South Carolina, so that she can find some much needed peace and some purpose. She finds Otto, her n’er do well cousin, stiff and cold in Minerva Academy’s women’s bathroom.

She is shocked that her cousin has been murdered, which is complicated by the fact that she still mourns her husband. Her emotions are mixed when Augusta Goodnight greets her. She smells of strawberry jam and has the radiance of a church window. Augusta has come to take care of some business from a case in 1916 and solve Otto’s murder.

Otto had an annoying laugh and was unbearable sometimes, but that is not much reason to kill someone. The only lead that Minda has is a small gold pin which was wedged in the bathroom stall; it has a connection to a club, one that is called Mystic Six. Both women piece together clues and trace the descendants of the secret society. It leads to a special quilt and the reason why Otto was killed.

Fans of the novel were interested in things from the very beginning of the book. The book has characters that will keep readers engaged and entertained, until the middle part of the book when things heat up and it finally cooks with gas. This is quite the example of a cozy mystery novel; a light, funny, and quick read. The novel has a good mystery that keeps things moving and makes the reader wonder who exactly the killer is.

“The Angel Whispered Danger” is the fourth novel in the “Augusta Goodnight” series and was released in the year 2003. Kate McBride goes back to her hometown of Bishop’s Bridge, North Carolina to attend a family reunion; she expects to be asked a lot of questions as to why her husband is not there. She does not expect murder.

Right after she gets there, she finds Ella Stegall (her great uncle’s housekeeper) injured and incoherent. Ella is at the bottom of a wooded ravine, after she supposedly fell from a ledge. Right before she loses consciousness, she says that she was pushed. This does not surprise many people as Bramblewood (Uncle Ernest’s woodsy estate) is known for both intrigue and murder.

Could the accident that Ella had be linked to the mysterious past that Bramblewood has. Or was the claim she made just the rambling of a delirious old woman? She dies before she can give any more clues.

She must cope with her young daughter while she has disturbing doubts about certain close family members. Augusta Goodnight has come to help her in her time of need, and now she has a bumbling apprentice to help her. She has some freshly baked goods and some great advice to help Kate investigate Ella’s murder. Augusta even helps her solve some other mysteries while she is at it.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Augusta Goodnight

Leave a Reply