Book Notification

Augusten Burroughs Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Picture Books

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Running with Scissors (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dry (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Magical Thinking: True Stories (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Possible Side Effects (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Wolf at the Table (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
This Is How (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lust & Wonder (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Toil & Trouble (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

You Better Not Cry (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Augusten Burroughs

American novelist Augusten Burroughs holds the place of being a globally-read and highly-rated memoir writer. His riveting narratives grace the shelves of readers in over 30 nations and have seen over 10 million copies sold. This achievement crowns him one of the highest selling authors within the LGBTQ+ community.

The top-selling author boasts eight memoirs, a novel, a self-help text, and a children’s picture book within his arsenal. “Running with Scissors,” his memoir, remained on the New York Times bestseller list for over 70 weeks and expanded the horizons of memoir literature. The sequel, “Dry,” takes a deep dive into his journey to sobriety and, more than 20 years after publication, it remains a key resource in recovery-focused literature.

Beyond writing, Burroughs has a flourishing operation within the luxury antiquities and estate jewelry market, maintaining the position as the leading supplier on the high-end platform, ‘1stdibs,’ with ‘The Blue Paisley Fox.’ He lives a quiet, happy life in Connecticut’s countryside with his spouse and their beloved dogs.

Aside from his retail pursuits, he is continually fostering his creative process, working on his upcoming novel. Representing him in all his artistic endeavors is Christopher Schelling of Selectric Artists.

Early and Personal Life

Born on October 23rd, 1965 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, as Christopher Richter Robison, his early life was packed full of variety, with an intriguing family consisting of a poet mother and philosopher father. Growing up mostly in Massachusetts, he was thrust into an unpredictable living situation at the age of 12 when his mother sent him to live with her psychiatrist’s family. This eccentricity in his youth helped to shape his unmistakable voice and unique perspective that paved the way to him becoming a successful author.

As a young adult, Robison showed resilience, obtaining his GED at 17 and boldly moving to Boston by the age of 18, where he officially assumed the name Augusten Xon Burroughs. Despite an initial foray into the medical field at a community college, Burroughs quickly realized it wasn’t the path for him, eventually landing a job in a Manhattan-based advertising company. It’s around this time, in 1996, when he courageously treated his alcoholism, signifying a newfound determination to clean up his life.

Today, Burroughs splits his time between New York City and Massachusetts, where he resides with his husband Christopher Schelling, with whom he tied the knot in 2013. His heartfelt belief in the importance of marriage equality is reflected in his advocacy for same-sex marriage. Burroughs’ distinct storytelling ability has been celebrated in various platforms including The Guardian, People, and Entertainment Weekly, where he has received accolades for his humor. Plus, the Lambda Literary Awards presented him with a special Trustee Award in 2013.

His journey, from a unique and varied childhood to becoming one of America’s most acclaimed writers, is proof of his tenacity and artistic talent.

Writing Career

Augusten Burroughs literary career kicked off in 2002 with his memoir, ‘Running with Scissors,’ an intimate look into his unconventional childhood. This memoir propelled him into the spotlight and was later transformed into a movie of the same name. His subsequent memoir, ‘Dry,’ delving into his journey with alcoholism, was followed by two essay collections, ‘Magical Thinking’ and ‘Possible Side Effects,’ as well as his debut novel, ‘Sellevision,’ punctuating his early career.

As his career advanced, Burroughs broadened his thematic reach, exploring subjects like psychiatry, religion, and more. His distinctive writing style found a home in various reputed publications and earned him a monthly column in Details. His work with NPR’s Morning Edition early in his career further solidified his voice in the literary world. His autobiographical prowess continued to shine through works like ‘A Wolf at the Table,’ ‘You Better Not Cry: Stories for Christmas,’ ‘This is How,’ ‘Lust & Wonder: A Memoir,’ and ‘Toil & Trouble: A Memoir.’

More recently, he ventured into children’s literature with ‘My Little Thief,’ adding yet another dimension to his substantial repertoire as an author.

Running With Scissors

‘Running With Scissors’ is a pivotal work by the celebrated author Augusten Burroughs, marking his first autobiographical memoir. The novel was first presented to the public on July 10, 2002. Burroughs was fortunate to be ushered into the publishing world by Picador, a renowned publishing house known for its diverse catalog of authors.

This book is a heartfelt tale of a youngster, handed over by his poet mother to her unconventional psychiatrist resembling Santa Claus. Burroughs, then twelve, finds himself in a bizarre household amidst an untraditional setting, making friends with a pedophile. It’s an extraordinary childhood tale, where rules don’t exist, Valium is a casual treat, and an electroshock therapy machine provides amusement.

An engaging and amusing bestseller that details an everyday boy’s endurance through the most unique circumstances.


Marking the commencement of his journey as a novelist, Augusten Burroughs’ first foray into fiction came with ‘Sellevision,’ bringing a contemporary comedic twist to his repertoire. The novel hit the bookstores for the first time on September 7, 2000, with the well-regarded St. Martin’s Press serving as the publishing house. This milestone marked a significant turning point in Burroughs’ career, highlighting his versatility across diverse genres of writing.

‘Sellevision’ presents a roller-coaster tale revolving around a premier American retail broadcasting network. It all starts with Max Andrews, a popular but lonesome host, who faces a scandal after mistakenly exposing himself on TV. Meanwhile, co-host Peggy Jean Smythe battles unfamiliar threatening emails about her looks, oblivious of her husband’s budding relationship with their young babysitter. Amidst it all, other hosts Leigh and Bebe face their own personal turmoil.

A Wolf at the Table

This memoir marks another significant milestone in the illustrious career of the acclaimed author, Augusten Burroughs. First published on April 29, 2008, the book is another significant addition to his autobiographical exploits, further cementing his stature in the literary realm. This exemplary piece of work, detailing personal nuances of his life, was brought to life by St. Martin’s Press, known for their enduring relationship with the author.

‘A Wolf at the Table’ explores the traumatic relationship between a young Augusten Burroughs and his enigmatic, aloof father. Burroughs recounts myriad shocking betrayals that signaled the end of his childhood and the start of a sinister game that marked their relationship. The memoir journeys into the uncharted parallels between love and hate, portraying the disturbing bond between this father and son.

Despite its deeply harrowing narrative, the memoir culminates in a sense of profound gratitude for life and the healing power of optimism.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Augusten Burroughs

Leave a Reply