Book Notification

Aunt Jane’s Nieces Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Aunt Jane's Nieces Books

Aunt Jane's Nieces (1906)Description / Buy at Amazon
Aunt Jane's Nieces Abroad (1907)Description / Buy at Amazon
Aunt Jane's Nieces at Millville (1908)Description / Buy at Amazon
Aunt Jane's Nieces at Work (1909)Description / Buy at Amazon
Aunt Jane's Nieces In Society (1910)Description / Buy at Amazon
Aunt Jane's Nieces and Uncle John (1911)Description / Buy at Amazon
Aunt Jane's Nieces on Vacation (1912)Description / Buy at Amazon
Aunt Jane's Nieces on the Ranch (1913)Description / Buy at Amazon
Aunt Jane's Nieces Out West (1914)Description / Buy at Amazon
Aunt Jane's Nieces in the Red Cross (1915)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Aunt Jane’s Nieces is a popular book series of juvenile, young adult, and fiction novels. It was written by a famous American author named L. Frank Baum, under the pseudonym of Edith Van Dyne. The series consists of 10 books in total, which were released between the years 1906 and 1915. Author Baum has mentioned the central characters of this series as Uncle John Merrick and Aunt Jane Merrick. Other than these two main characters, a number of other important characters keep making appearances throughout the series. Among the important secondary characters, there are the Merrick cousins, Kenneth Forbes, and several others. This particular series was designed to attract the crowd that liked the novels Little Men and Little Women, by author May Alcott. Frank Baum has described Jane Merrick as a wealthy woman, who thinks that she has very little time left with her. Before she dies, Aunt Jane wants to get rid of the burden of deciding which niece is going to inherit her huge estate. As the series progresses, the readers see that the Merrick girls go on different adventure trips, travel to various interesting places, find their romantic partners, and do many other exciting things in their lives. Author Frank Baum began writing the series in the year 1906 and also published its first novel with the same title as that of the series. Following the release of its 10th novel in 1915, the series finally came to an end. Frank Baum was a very renowned author of his time.

He was born in 1856 and died in 1919. Throughout his writing career, he wrote fantasy and children’s literature novels, and gained a lot of popularity. He was particularly famous for being the creator of ‘Land of Oz’. His book, The Wonderful Wizard of the Oz, was as popular as the film based on it that had become a highly watched classic film of its times. Author Baum wrote 13 sequels of this successful novel, all of which were very popular across the world.

The writings of author Baum were also notable because he had predicted some very inventions well before the world saw them. Some of the most famous inventions that he predicted about include television, laptops, augmented reality, wireless phones, etc. In addition to writing fantasy stories, he also had interests in writing screenplays, poetry, news editing, and many other things related to writing. The entry of author Baum in the literary world happened in 1897. He chose the fiction genre first and wrote a fairy tales’ collection. Then in 1900, he moved on to the novel-writing field. In all, 59 books were published under author Baum’s name. He has also written around 83 short stories and more than 200 poems. It was unfortunate for Frank Baum that he lost 4 of his books. He was kind of sad that he could not make them see the light of the day.

Baum had said that he was very hopeful of them becoming successful just like all his other books. The final original work of Baum was called Glinda of Oz, and it was released posthumously in 1920.

Frank Baum primarily hailed from New York and belonged to a Methodist family. He had 8 siblings in total and was the 7th child of his parents. While growing up, Baum used to do many fun things and liked to get the attention of his family. He would even dress up in fancy clothes and entertain everyone around. He was married to Maud Gage and had 4 children with her. Baum died in California and was buried in Glendale. The list of his pen names includes George Brooks, Suzanne Metcalf, Edith Dyne, John Estes, Louis Baum, Flyod Akers, Hugh Fitzgerald, Laura Bancroft, Schuylaer Staunton, etc. A successful in the Aunt Jane’s Nieces book series is entitled ‘Aunt Janes Nieces at Millville’. It was released in 1908 and features the chief characters as John Merrick, Jane Merric, and a few others. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that the 3 Merrick cousins return home from their trip to Europe. They join Uncle John to head north and visit a farm located in New York’s upper state.

The family wished to get away from the scorching heat of the city. They knew that the nearing summer days are going to cause problems for them, so they planned this little trip to New York well in advance. However, their hopes of experiencing a peaceful vacation get shattered as they get involved in the cases of missing fortunes and death mysteries. Another mind blowing book of this exciting series is called ‘Jane’s Nieces at Work’. This book was released by the Reilly & Britton publishing company in the year 1909. Kenneth Forbes, Aunt Janes, Uncles John, and Merrick cousins are shown as the central characters of this particular book.

At the beginning of the story of the book, Baum has introduced Kenneth Baum as the man, who inherits the estate of Aunt Jane. Soon after owning the vast estate, Kenneth Forbes gets indulged in politics. He decides to contest election for getting a seat in the state legislature of New York. Seeing the interest and dedication of Kenneth Forbes in making a career in the political field, his family also decides to assist him in the preparations.

They started planning things for him and prepare the list of things to do with which Kenneth Forbes could win the election. Kenneth is the wealthiest man in the entire district. He thinks that winning an election is an easy task and he can make it happen for himself like a piece of cake. But, he does not realize that he does not have the experience required to take up such a big step. Also, the person against whom he is contesting the election is notorious for being very corrupt. As a result, there is a big chance that the outcome can go against him. Soon, Kenneth Forbes begins to see tough times. A moment comes into his life when he loses all of his hopes.

At that very moment, his 3 cousins come out of nowhere and begin making things happen in his favor. Uncle John also joins the girls in helping Kenneth win the seat. The interesting story of this book describes how political maneuvering used to take place around 100 years back.

Author Baum succeeded in doing so quite well. He was praised with many positive reviews for his efforts. The motivation from this success helped him to come up with many more exciting stories in his future career.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Aunt Jane’s Nieces

Leave a Reply