Book Notification

Ayana Gray Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Beasts of Prey Books

Beasts of Prey (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beasts of Ruin (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beasts of War (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Ayana Gray
Ayana Gray is a lover of all things mythos, magic, and monsters and a New York Times bestselling young adult fantasy author. She lives in Little Rock, Arkansas, where she avidly reads, follows Formula One racing, and worries about the varying moods of her mini goldendoodle, Dolly, and her adopted baby black rhino, named Apollo.

She took an honors colloquium on political violence during her third year of undergraduate study which made her wrestle with how easily concepts of “evil” and “good” can be manipulated. Six months later, she studied abroad in Ghana (West Africa) and was struck by its complex history, beautiful landscapes, and the connection that she felt to it as a person of the African diaspora. The combination of these experiences inspired her to begin writing the story which would eventually become “Beasts of Prey”.

Ayana began a bunch of mini-stories before finishing the book. There were a bunch of false starts and many scratched drafts. In print, the book is around 120,000 words, however if you take all of the words that she wrote, deleted, and revised it’s much closer to 500,000 words. However those were the words that she needed to write in order to learn about pacing, character, and craft.

She worked on the story for four years (from 2015 until 2019) and asked her trusted friends to read it and provide her with feedback. Then in April of 2019, she took part in an event on Twitter called #DVPit where she “pitched” her book idea to editors and literary agents. From this event, she connected with Peter Knapp of Park & Fine Literary and Media, her literary agent. She worked with him to revise the novel, then he submitted it to editors at traditional publishing houses.

Just a few days later, they got notice that a publisher was interested, and hours later, they discovered that even more publishers were interested. It all happened rather quickly after that and, shortly later, she sold her novel to Penguin Random House.

Before DVPit writing was just like her full time second job, it was very regimented. She would go to her day job from 8 to 5. She’d ride on the bus and would be on her phone typing out ideas she wanted to hit that night. Come home and make a super quick dinner and then from 5 to 11 at night she’d write. Then get up at 7 or 8 and do it all again.

On the weekends she’d get up at about 5 or 6 and write the entire day. This is what she had to do in order to get the book done because if she had waited to feel inspired or waited for her muse it never would’ve happened and the pressure helped her out a lot.

“Beasts of Prey” is the first novel in the “Beasts of Prey” series and was released in the year 2021. Fate binds together two Black teens while they journey into a magical jungle to hunt down some vicious monster.

There is no such thing as magic in the broken city of Lkossa, particularly for Koffi (age sixteen), who indentured to the notorious Night Zoo. She knows that the fearsome creatures in her care as well as paying off her family’s debts to secure their eventual freedom to be her sole focus. However the night those Koffi loves are gravely threatened by the cruel master of the Zoo, she unleashes a power that she doesn’t entirely understand, and upends her life completely.

Ekon, as the second son of a decorated hero, is all but destined to become a Son of the Six (an elite warrior) and uphold a family legacy. However on the night of his last rite of passage, Ekon encounters not just the Shetani (a vicious monster which has plagued the city for almost a century and stalks him in his nightmares) but also Koffi who appears to have the power to ward the beast off. Koffi’s power saves Ekon ultimately, however his decision to allow her to flee dooms all of his hopes of becoming a warrior.

Ekon, now desperate to redeem himself, vows to hunt down the Shetani and end its reign of terror, however he cannot do it by himself. Ekon and Koffi form a tentative alliance and together they enter into the Greater Jungle, a world that is steeped in frightening, wild magic and the untold dangers. The hunt has started. However it soon becomes unclear whether they’re the hunted or the hunters.

Fans of the novel found this to be a feast for all the senses, being rich in mythos and magic.

“Beasts of Ruin” is the second novel in the “Beasts of Prey” series and was released in the year 2022. Koffi’s powers are growing stronger and Ekon’s secrets get darker while they face the god of death.

Koffi has saved her city and the guy she loves, however at a horrible cost. Now she’s a servant to the cunning god of death, she has to use her newfound power to further his continental conquest, or risk the safety of her loved ones and her home. While she reluctantly learns to survive amid some unexpected friends and enemies, she’ll also have to pick between the life (and love) she formerly had, or the one she could have, if she fully embraces these dangerous gifts.

Ekon, having been cast out from the only home that he has ever known, is forced to strike new and unconventional alliances in order to rescue and find Koffi before it’s too late. However while he gets closer to the realm of death with each passing day, so too does he get closer to one horrible truth. One that might cost everything.

Ekon and Koffi, both separated by gods, land, and sea, are going to have to risk it all in order to reunite. However the longer they are kept apart, the more each of their loyalties get tested. Before long, both might have to reckon with changing hearts, and possibly, changing destinies.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Ayana Gray

Leave a Reply