Book Notification

Baby Ganesh Agency Investigation Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Baby Ganesh Agency Investigation Books

The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Perplexing Theft of the Jewel in the Crown (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Strange Disappearance of a Bollywood Star (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Grand Raj Palace (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Inspector Chopra and the Million-Dollar Motor Car (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Last Victim of the Monsoon Express (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bad Day at the Vulture Club (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Baby Ganesh Agency Investigation series is a bestselling series written by a famous British author named Vaseem Khan. This series is comprised of mystery and crime fiction novels, and is primarily set in India. The series consists of a total of 4 books, 3 of which have already been published between 2015 and 2017. The fourth book is expected to be released in the first quarter of the year 2018. All the books of this series feature the lead character in the role of a retired police inspector based in Mumbai, who goes by the name of Ashwin Chopra. This character indulges himself in solving the crimes in different parts of India. Ashwin Chopra is assisted by his sidekick named Ganesha, which is a baby elephant. The first novel of the series was released in 2015 and went on to become a bestseller for The Times. Author Vaseem Khan has stated that his objective behind writing this series was to allow the readers undertake a journey to the heart of the modern India through his writings and descriptions. He also intended to give the readers a chance to get themselves acquainted with the look, the feel, the sound, the smell, and the taste of India. Before author Vaseem Khan began writing the series, he spent around a decade residing in different parts of India. The experience that he gained during the period of his stay helped author Khan to pen down the series’ first book. When he took the manuscript to the literary agents A M Health in 2014, it was immediately accepted. Subsequently, author Khan was handed a contract to write a 4 book series by the Mullholland Books, which is an imprint of the Hodder & Stoughton publishers. At the start of 2016, author Khan’s debut novel was selected by a book club called Waterstones. The book was later named as a Paperback of the Year by the same book club. Later, it was also named as a Pick of the Week, a Best Debut by Amazon, and was included in the list of top 10 bestsellers of The Times.

In the series’ first book, Ashwin Chopra is introduced as a newly retired Inspector. He is seen taking up the investigation case of the suspicious drowning of a small local boy. During his initial investigation, Ashwin Chopra realizes that there are some people, who don’t wish to see the case solved. At around the same time, Ashwin Chopra receives a gift from his long lost uncle. The gift is in the form of a baby elephant, which Ashwin Chopra has no other option than accepting. The baby elephant begins assisting Ashwin Chopra in his investigations. The second book of the series shows Ashwin Chopra investigating about the theft of the most popular diamond of the world, the Kohinoor. The Kohinoor is described as having been mined in India and then handed over to the Queen during the British rule in India. When the jewel is sent to India for displaying it in a special exhibition, it gets robbed. Following this, Ganesha and Chopra are brought in to investigate. In the next book, author Khan has shown Chopra & Ganesha trying to save an India movie actor from the clutches of his kidnappers. The next novel shows the two characters trying to tackle an American billionaire’s murder at one of the iconic hotels of India. About his idea of casting an elephant in the crime fighting role, author Khan has said that he thought that it would be fun and something different. He is of the opinion that elephants have all the important qualities that make them good detectives. They are very intelligent and possess amazing memories, which is a reality.

The debut book of the Baby Ganesha Agency Investigation series written by Vaseem Khan is entitled ‘The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra’. This book was released by the Redhook publication in the year 2015. At the start of the book, it is shown that Ashwin Chopra has recently retired from his post of an inspector. However, his hopes of living the rest of his life peacefully are shattered when he comes across 2 unexpected mysteries. The first mystery is in the form of the baby of an elephant, which is gifted to him by his uncle, while the second mystery is about a local boy’s drowning. Inspector Chopra starts investigating the matter and finds out that no one wants the suspicious death of the boy solved. But, he does not stop in his attempt to unravel the truth. While trying to find some clues, Inspector Chopra moves in and around the teeming Mumbai city. He moves from the high-rise buildings to the sprawling slums in the city, and also deep into the murky underworld. After a little while, Inspector Chopra starts suspecting that there could be much more in the case than what he thinks. And as the case continues to get tougher with each passing day, he learns that the determination of his baby elephant is what he badly needs at the moment for some assistance in solving the case.

Another exciting book of this series is called ‘The Strange Disappearance of a Bollywood Star’. It was also published by the Redhook publishers in 2017. Author Khan has mentioned the central characters in this novel as Inspector Ashwin Chopra, Vikram Verma, and Baby Ganesha. At the beginning of the story of this book, it is depicted that Mumbai is quite a happening city that is full of larger than life characters and extravagant spectacles. But, even in such a wonderful city, a happy ending is not guaranteed. The news of the disappearance of the incorrigible playboy and rising star Vikram Verma starts flashing on all the news channels. It turns out that somebody has kidnapped him and this has left the ongoing shooting of Vikram’s latest movie in jeopardy. Soon after the kidnapping, Inspector Chopra is hired by Vikram Verma’s mother to find her son. Ashwin Chopra teams up with his baby elephant named Ganesha and embarks on the journey of finding the trace of Vikram deep into the flamboyant film industry of Mumbai. The two uncover numerous secrets about the industry during their investigation. Some of the secrets that Inspector Chopra learns include feuding stars, death threats, failed investments, etc. As a result, Chopra suspects that there are many people, who want Verma gone from the industry, and one of them definitely has a hand to play in his kidnapping. However, the road is very dangerous and Chopra knows that he has to overcome a number of obstacles to solve this difficult case.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Baby Ganesh Agency Investigation

2 Responses to “Baby Ganesh Agency Investigation”

  1. Eleanor Brennan: 3 years ago

    Vaseem Khan has started a new series of books – the Malabar House series – again superb! 1) Midnight at Malabar House, 2) The Dying Day.

    Thanks a lot for your work – I often check the order I should read books in, based on this website! Best wishes and thanks, Eleanor Brennan, Aberdeen, Scotland

    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      Cheers Eleanor, appreciate it. Always good to hear from fellow Scots 🙂 I’m from Cumbernauld.


Leave a Reply