Book Notification

Back Room Bookstore Cozy Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Back Room Bookstore Cozy Mysteries Books

Books and Brews (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Guilty Party (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Staged Murder (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Gruesome Goal (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Eye for Murder (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Holidays and Homicide (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Lethal Love (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Supernatural Slaying (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beaten at His Own Game (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Trip Through Time (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Seeing Double (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Magical Ending (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Back Room Bookstore novel series is a wonderful series of cozy mystery, paranormal, and fantasy stories. It is written by a renowned American novelist named Susan Harper. The series is comprised of a total of 12 books released between 2018 and 2019. Each book of this series features the lead character in the role of Monica Montoya. She is depicted as the new owner of an ordinary bookstore called the Back Room Bookstore. This bookstore contains a backdoor that leads to a supernatural realm, which is the specialty of the bookstore. Some of the other essential characters created by Susan Harper in this book of the series include Uncle Drac, Brian, Holly, Mona, Abigail, and a few others.

The debut book of this paranormal series is entitled ‘Books and Brews’. It was released by the Fairfield Publishing in 2018. This book opens by introducing Monica Montoya as the new owner of her grandmother’s Back Room Bookstore. Her grandmother has retired and informed Monica that the bookstore has a door to a supernatural world. Monica has to relocate to the Bankstown and finds it difficult to adjust to life in the new town, especially living with the mortals. A local cop named Brian arrives at the bookshop for a cup of coffee, he becomes surprised to find a new person at the counter. Later, a dead body is found floating in a nearby river and Brian is made in charge of the investigation. Monica realizes that she can provide help to Brian in catching the culprit and bring him to justice.

Monica has a twin sister named Mona. Both of them are called by their grandmother to her place in Bankstown to look after the daily affairs of her bookshop after she takes the decision of retiring. Monica had heard that her grandmother’s bookshop is not an ordinary one, but never experienced it personally. It is only after she comes to live her grandmother that she finds the first half of the bookshop is located in the human world, while the other is a part of a magical world. Though Mona and Monica are twins, the power of magic is only possessed by Mona. Monica does not possess that special power, so things were divided among them accordingly. Later, the sisters learn that their grandmother used to produce her clones with the help of magic to help to run the bookstore.

The initial part of the story is quite fun to read as Monica is seen trying to get hold of the mortal technology. She hopelessly tries to resist the few spells that she is able to work out. More fun is added to the story in the form of a cat that is actually a witch that has been punished. There is an intriguing touch to the magical world of the bookshop. The readers get only a few glimpses of it in this novel when Monica visits Mona occasionally. Susan Harper’s description of the murder mystery is quite straightforward. Monica decides to become a part of the investigation as she has developed a crush on the investigating police officer, Brian. At first, she tries to use the magic herself, but ends up meeting disastrous results. Monica becomes embarrassed in the presence of Brian at the time when she achieves failure while using the magic.

Finally, when Brian succeeds in solving the case with the support of Monica, she is filled with joy. Monica begins to believe that she has a good chance of getting along with Brian. Making some human friends also help her greatly to adjust to the new town’s life. Overall, the book contains a nice concept and has been executed very well by author Harper. The plot is quite intriguing and is supported very well by the excellent cast of characters. Susan Harper has done a fantastic job at character development. This novel received a great response from readers across the globe. It helped it to reach out to a large number of readers in different parts of the world. The immense success brought a lot of motivation to Susan Harper to add multiple sequels to the series. She developed many more stories with the use of the characters of Monica, Mona, and Brian and came up with multiple other volumes. Numerous critics have spoken well about this book as well as the series as a whole. It further helped in the success of the series and that of Susan Harper’s career.

The second installment of this series is known as ‘The Guilty Party’. It was also published by the Fairfield Publishing in 2018. The central characters mentioned in this book include Mona Montoya, Abigail, Uncle Drac, Monica Montoya, etc. Initially, it is depicted that Mona and Monica are invited to attend a party thrown by their Uncle Dracula at his spooky mansion. Just when the party begins, a guest dies mysteriously. This shocks every guest present at the party. When people find incriminating bite marks on the victim’s body, all fingers point to Uncle Drac as the prime suspect. Therefore, he is sent to prison on charges of murdering the victim.

The Montoya sisters believe that Uncle Drac is innocent and someone has framed him wrongly. So, they begin to investigate the case on their own and make a list of suspects who could have reasons to kill the victim. They examine each of the suspects thoroughly and try to find out the real culprit. Before coming to the party and indulging in the murder investigation, Monica was still involved in learning the ways to live in the mortal world. She kept her magical ability hidden, which she uses to make small magic potions. Mona, who is more capable of using her magic, is the one who looked after the supernatural bookstore’s daily activities.

With each passing day, she became more used to the hidden portal of the magical world inside the bookstore. When Monica hires an assistant named Holly to help her in her work, she finds that Holly is using the portal without her permission. And when Holly does not stop visiting the portal, both the sisters and their grandmother become suspicious of her intentions. But, when Uncle Drac gets charged with murder, Holly joins the girls in finding the main culprit and proving Unce Drac’s innocence. This book takes the readers on a roller coaster ride. It is filled with lots of twists & turns, humor, and some funny, crazy, and naive romance.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Back Room Bookstore Cozy Mystery

Leave a Reply