Book Notification

Badge Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Badge Books

The Badge is a fiction series by Bill Reno. The series is centered on a violent land of the Wild West where dangerous men live and get away with whatever crimes they commit. One man, a young U.S Marshall set to put a stop to this madness. While he is well aware of the dangers he will encounter, the young Marshall cannot be stopped. In the end, he pays the price with his blood but remains the heroic figure of this region to date. Aside from the Marshall, other notable characters in this action-packed series include Spence Lansford and Jimmy Blackburn.


Sundance is the first book of the Badge series. The story features U.S Marshal Mark Young, a young man determined to keep bad guys behind bars. He returns to Wyoming to try and catch Sundance Kid and Butch Cassidy. These men are bad in every sense and while the U.S. Marshall has been on their trail for the longest time, they somehow slip right through the law enforcer’s hands. Mark is hopeful that this time around, these bad men will lead him to the Murderous Tom McCarty. Mark can only rest easy knowing that McCarty and his gang are behind bars.

As Mark will soon find out, Cassidy, as well as McCarty, have no regard for the law. These two and others in their circles will go to extra lengths to get whatever they want. The scary thing is that these men not only disregard the law, but they also do not have any humanity left in them. In their quest to amass wealth, they will ruthlessly eliminate anyone who stands in their way. Their moves are always calculated, which is the reason why they have never been arrested.

McCarty and his gang have their eyes on the Circle D. This is the most successful cattle outfit in the region. The Circle D is owned by Molly Dunne, a young widow who also happens to be Mark’s old flame. McCarty is currently courting ruthless McCarty even though all this is going on under an assumed identity. Molly has no idea what type of man she is welcoming to her doorstep.

McCarty has only one goal- marry Molly and soon after kill her. Molly is oblivious of all this, but Mark is sure that the only thing McCarty wants is the Circle D. Mark is determined to stop this ruthless man, whatever the cost. He watches McCarty’s in action for a while, waiting for the right time to take action. Whatever follows is a series of life events that endanger the life of some while shaking the notorious gang to the core.

If you are looking for a fiction piece with an exciting detective story, Sundance is a perfect choice. Set in the Wild West, this story comes with an uninhibited feel that can only be likened to this untamed region. The story is beautifully written, and the tone picks up from the first page to the last one. The lead character is lovable and easy to identify with. You will have a hard time resisting the temptation to jump to the end and see what happens to him and Molly.

The Faceless Man

The Faceless Man is the second book in the Badge series. The book is centered on the Blackburn’s, a family that is killed in cold blood by a gang of ruthless outlaws. The brutal Hegler brothers kill all but one of the Blackburn family members. As fate would have it, the oldest son, Jimmy Blackburn, escapes the massacre, and he vows to avenge his family at whatever cost. Jimmy plans to take out the Hegler brothers one after the other, but when the time is right. At first, he needs to get the right skills to get the job done.

He is determined to learn the gunman’s trade. He turns to Spence Landford, a master in this trade. Spence is quick to warn Jimmy about this dangerous road he is about to get on. Once he embarks on it, there will be no turning back. Spence also tells Jimmy that once in a gunman’s life, there will be a faster faceless man working on finishing him. More often than not, the faceless man wins. It is clear that Spence has a good heart and wants Jimmy to understand precisely what he is getting himself into.

Spence’s misgivings do not deter Jimmy at all. Jimmy is determined as ever to seek justice for his family, even if this justice can only be delivered through the sword. When Jimmy puts on the badge, he is aware that a faceless man is waiting for him, and an encounter with this man could be the end of his life. Instead of discouraging him, this knowledge makes Jimmy more determined to get this family feud sorted, once and for all.

During his search for justice, Jimmy falls in love with a beautiful girl. The girl complicates Jimmy’s life further. The young man who was once ready to die to avenge his family now wants to live so bad. All Jimmy wants is to spend more time with the love of his life. Will Jimmy be able to complete his mission and still maintain the love of his life? Can he keep the past from her? What if the faceless man appears and also threatens Jimmy’s girl’s life? Find out all this and so much more in this magnificent piece.

The book takes you through Jimmy’s internal wars and his encounter with the Hegler brothers. In the end, Jimmy finds more details about the murders and the reason why violent criminals targeted his family. This is a fast-paced story with enough twists and turns to keep you engaged to the end. Jimmy is a lovable character at is easy to see why he is determined to kill the Hegler brothers. The ending is super, especially if you are rooting for the good guys. A great story told by a talented writer.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Badge

Leave a Reply