Book Notification

Baker Street Letters Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Baker Street Letters Books

The Baker Street Letters (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Brothers of Baker Street (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Baker Street Translation (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Moriarty Returns a Letter (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Baker Street Jurors (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Barrister's Clerk (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Baker Street Wedding (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Michael Robertson began publishing his “Baker Street Letters” series in the year 2009 when “The Baker Street Letters” was released.

The series comes from Robertson being a big fan of the books, after starting to read the stories when he was only eight years old. He has read through the whole series a few times. Then he fell for the Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce movies that aired on television. He has also said that he is writing on the phenomenon of people writing letters to Sherlock Holmes, not the actual guy.

He said that the fire that took place during the subway in Los Angeles being constructed in the nineties is what made him set the first book in 1997. After this, the time frame for the other books was dictated for him. By the time the first book was published, the subway was long completed, but he wanted to keep both the location and time frame that inspired him to write the book.

It is about an attorney named Reggie Heath, who rents some office space in the year 1997 on Baker Street. He gets letters that are meant for Sherlock Holmes and they want Holmes’ detective help. Part of the agreement says that he has to answer them.

Reggie has a younger brother named Nigel, who is mentally fragile; he has been suspended from practicing law due to misconduct. The pair are far apart in their personality, but fairly close in age.

Although a pilot was made for CBS in the year 2011, it was not picked up, and the option has expired since then. The rights were bought before the novel was on store shelves.

“The Baker Street Letters” is the first novel in the “Baker Street Letters” series which was released in the year 2009. A surveyor plans out a subway route while in Los Angeles, and proceeds to go missing. The guy’s eight year old daughter, in a desperate move, writes to Sherlock Holmes. She believes this is the only person that can help her.

It creates quite a fuss at 221b Baker Street, that now house an attorney’s law office and a man about town named Reggie Heath and Nigel (Reggie’s brother). Nigel investigates this letter, rather than just filing it like he is required to. Almost immediately, he is heading off on a plane to Los Angeles, after inconsiderately leaving a corpse on his office floor. Reggie follows him to California, as does Laura (who is Reggie’s occasional lover and actress of the stage). She is quick witted and has captured both brothers’ hearts.

Nigel gets arrested, and Reggie has to put all of his wits to work to solve the case. It is quite the puzzle, one that Sherlock himself would have enjoyed putting his considerable talents to use on.

Fans of the novel enjoyed the dynamic the two brothers have with each other, and it made some like the story that much more. The more they got to know Reggie, the more they liked him and saw that he truly did love his brother. It is a fun and quick read that holds your attention the entire time. This is a lively, inventive, and a sure footed debut.

“The Brothers of Baker Street” is the second novel in the “Baker Street Letters” series which was released in the year 2011. This book is set three weeks after the events of the previous book. Reggie is currently distressed because Laura Rankin is going all over with Lord Buxton (who is a media mogul). Reggie is working a case of a London Black Cab driver who has been accused of killing two American tourists. All the while, the letters to Sherlock keep on piling up. There is even one in the stack from a person that claims to be Professor James Moriarty’s descendant.

Fans of the novel find this light and fun, but most importantly, each and every book pulls them right in and it never lets go. Readers were reading on, just to see how things would conclude. Some were able to finish the entire thing in under a day of reading. This book was just as good as— if not better than— the first one, and makes readers want to continue reading these books.

“The Baker Street Translation” is the third novel in the “Baker Street Letters” series which was released in the year 2013. There is an elderly heiress that wants to give her whole fortune to Sherlock Holmes when she dies. There is a translator that would like Sherlock to explain a nursery rhyme. Robert Buxton— who is Reggie’s rival for Laura’s love— has disappeared.

Reggie has to make it all straight before a royal event that is coming up. If he is unable to, something pretty bad is going to happen to all the people that go the event. Not to mention to Laura.

Fans of the novel found the murder mystery to be a stellar one. The books seem to get better and better with each novel that comes out. The characters grow each time out, and more of their personality emerges. Some hope that this is not the final installment, as this is a ride that is too fun for it to end this quickly.

“Moriarty Returns a Letter” is the fourth novel in the “Baker Street Letters” series which was released in the year 2014. Reggie and Nigel work a case that would keep Sherlock confounded. There is an exhibition that has opened up at the Marylebone Hotel of some vintage Sherlock Holmes letters.

Reggie and Laura go off on a trip before they get married, and someone from the brothers’ past comes back. It is someone they thought was gone for good, and they cause all kinds of new problems for the pair.

This book made it tough for readers to put this one down for very long, especially as they got closer to finishing it off. The pacing was well done and the story was quite good. Parts of the story include the mystery’s history, making part of the story a historical mystery.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Baker Street Letters

One Response to “Baker Street Letters”

  1. Rose Petersen: 2 years ago

    Thank you for the good review


Leave a Reply