Book Notification

Bakeshop Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bakeshop Mysteries Books

Meet Your Baker (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Batter of Life and Death (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
On Thin Icing (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Caught Bread Handed (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fudge and Jury (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Crime of Passion Fruit (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trouble Is Brewing (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Another One Bites the Crust (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Till Death Do Us Tart (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Live and Let Pie (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Cup of Holiday Fear (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nothing Bundt Trouble (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chilled to the Cone (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mocha, She Wrote (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bake, Borrow, and Steal (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Donut Disturb (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Muffin But the Truth (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Catch Me If You Candy (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Smoking Bun (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sticks and Scones (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

It is the cosy mystery again. This time, it is under a great publication-Bakeshop Mystery (Series by Ellie Alexander). You again have a chance to be taken through mysterious happenings, murder and secrets to be uncovered. The architect of this work is Ellie Alexander.

Ellie Alexander is a native of Northwest Pacific who spends most of her time doing pastry and all these is done in her home kitchen. Sometimes she does it at one of the popular nearby coffee houses. Moreover, she likes being involved in hiking trails and sometimes she engages herself in research.

Alexander does writing as her full-time job. She also has many publications that are nonfiction published on her credit. She has also published a memoir for her mother who she tried to take care of until she finally succumbed to Alzheimer’s syndrome. Lovers of mystery always enjoy her work, cooking and somehow some content of love appear in her cozy mystery.

The main character in the Bakeshop Mystery series is Jules Capshaw. Jules shows characteristics of being torn between her past and her future. She misses her past life and wants to help her mother at their bakery at the same time. She is a culinary graduate who has just come home after some time to spend time with her mother and help her run their family bakery.

Closely working in a nice direction of unfolding uncovered truths is her friend Thomas who is a policeman and an intelligent character in the investigation of the mystery murders. He is always prepared for anything and that is why you see him walking with handcuffs in most cases.

The setting of the first book in the series- Meet Your Baker is in a small family baking shop called Torte. It is a place where all the coffee is found to be hot and fresh muffins can be served. It is also undoubted that the cakes in this shop are worth a chase. It follows that Capshaw has just graduated from a culinary school. She comes home to with two objectives; to heal a broken heart and help her mother at the family bakery.

In Ashland, Oregon, currently the Oregon Shakespearean Festival is being staged and many tourists have come to the region. On the other hand, it is during autumn and it is a time that many prefer to be served with peach cobblers spiced up with apple cider. But for how long will this sweet business go on?

It doesn’t take long before the corpse of one of the Torte’s customers Lady Macbeth Nancy is found. This happens during the time when Jule Capshaw is serving banana cream pudding, amaretto cookies and more. This means that all that had begun as fun has turned sour. Everything turns totally somber. Will everyone be victimized? Who will finally find the answer to this riddle? Many questions arise but there was a sign of a silver lining.

Everyone in the shop finds it a crime detective scene and it is terrible. It turns to be a question of who could be the killer. Then everything goes round for Jules. She starts wondering how she can be able to uncover the devil behind this sad happening.

However, there is some hope because the investigator is Jules’ high school sweetheart, Thomas. We see Thomas keeping his normal spirit of flirting a lot and Jules likes this and wants to her cake too. Murder is bad for business here, but you see how love sweetens and treats all when you look at the flirtations of Thomas amid the investigation to find out Nancy’s killer.

The second book- A Batter of Life and Death: A Bakeshop Mystery, the setting is still the same. That old small old sleepy town. It is still during a Shakespearean festival in Oregon. There is a competition coming up and everyone looks prepared for it. It is during a live televised pastry show. However, Jule doesn’t want to engage in anything to do with the competition until when she realizes that she has unwittingly joined, it. After all Torte could also be in need of extra dough.

In some way, it also a fantastic moment for Jule to promote their bakery through competing in Take the Cake (a Pastry Channel reality show).However, Jules learns that there is a problem with the prize. It is a whopping $25,000 and some of the contestants may easily decide to kill their competitors for such a prize. Does that go well and for how long?

The live televised show is underway and many contestants are in attendance. Most of them are participating because of the prize that all covet and this include Jules Capshaw. After the show kicks off, some sinister occurrence spoils the whole fun.

Jules takes her Bavarian chocolate recipes and prepares herself ready in her apron. Suddenly one of the contestants is found dead in what is later referred to as the death by butter cream. Who could the killer of Chef Marco? Why had he to do him all this? It is clear that the chef had not over done anything and that means something sinister is cooking. Jules again as suspicious as normal begins to look for ways of unearthing the truth.

It becomes difficult to decipher the cause of the death of Marco who before meeting his death appears so jovial and even sends a message to Andy through Phillip to be given a stronger drink. However, it takes the genius in Thomas (though he poses as a witness to just help in the investigation) again to reveal the cause.

Other books in the series include Caught Bread Handed and On Thin Icing. The series began and the artistry in it pronounces blessings to its advancement and maybe to be staged as the most popular program on TV. However, if you love cozy mystery and pastry at the same time, you may not have a second out of your reading chair.

As an ardent follower of culinary episodes, pastry and mystery murders, you cannot afford to forget to get a copy of any of the Bakeshop Mystery Series books. Good luck!

Book Series In Order » Characters » Bakeshop Mysteries

Leave a Reply