Book Notification

Baltimore (Christopher Golden) Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Baltimore Books

By: Mike Mignola, Christopher Golden
Baltimore, or, The Steadfast Tin Soldier and the Vampire (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Plague Ships (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Curse Bells (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Passing Stranger (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chapel of Bones (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Apostle and the Witch of Harju (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cult of the Red King (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Empty Graves (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Red Kingdom (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Baltimore series is a series of comic books created by the New York times bestselling American author named Christopher Golden in collaboration with author Mike Mignola. It had initially started with an illustrated novel in the year 2007 then continued to run a series of successful comics over the years. Originally, the series was illustrated by author Mignola and author Golden in the book titled ‘Baltimore or The Steadfast Tin Soldier & the Vampire’. It was published in 2007. This book followed Lord Baltimore’s story in which he hunts down the vampire named Haigus and is told by him 3 friends named Thomas Childress Jr., Demetrius Aischros, and Doctor Lemuel Rose. In the year 2010, the Dark Horse Comics started the comic series by following the hunt of Lord Baltimore for Haigus vampire. During the time of the development of the series, the original novel got skipped somehow. And from the 5th book onwards, the story of the comic series is shown moving forward from the events depicted in the original series. Both the authors, Mignola and Golden decided to collect the comic series in the form of hardcover volumes. Just the first volume of the series has been released in the form of a paperback edition and the authors and their publishers have no plans to publish any of the other books of the series in the paperback format. In the year 2007, the New Regency production house optioned the movie rights of the Baltimore novel series so as to develop it into a Hollywood film.

The original authors of the series were chosen by the production to write down the screenplay of the movie, while David S. Goyer was selected to be the director. The authors had in fact finished writing almost all of the screenplay. But unfortunately, a leadership change took place in the production of New Regency and the new leaders at the studio decided to abandon the project. And they reverted the rights of the screenplay back to the authors. After this, Golden and Mignola decided to use the screenplay in the form of the next books in the comic series. It was author Mignola, who had come up with the original concept of the comic series and had conceived a major portion of the plot of the original novel. Later, author Golden joined Mignola and penned down the book based on the joint efforts of them both. In the original book, the authors have started each of the chapters with a quote from The Steadfast Tin Soldier written by Hans Christian Andersen. The years mentioned in the novel are stylishly written in the form of 1900s. Later, when the overall series was expanded by the authors a a comic series, each of the dates were specifically mentioned by them. The original story begins by showing that Captain Henry Baltimore traveled across the dark battlefield on a cold night in autumn. As he took each step forward, he remembered that he was going through the Hell’s torture fields and things were going to get uglier ahead.

When Baltimore comes across a malevolent winged creature he asks him why do the dead ones arise to torment those living peacefully? To this, the vampire reacts by saying that it was he who called them. All the living ones, who were involved in the war were responsible for bringing the vampires in their world. The vampires continue to say that the loud sound of the cannons forced them to come out of their graves and now the living ones will not be able to get rid of the vampires. Due to these words of the vampire, Lord Baltimore becomes very angry and pours down his wrath on him on the hellish World War One battlefields. As a result, the world changes forever and a virulent plague gets unleashed, a plague that does not appear to be ended by death also. Now, being a lone soldier in the struggle to oppose the darkness, Lord Baltimore summons 3 of his old friends to reach a lovely inn. These men’s fantastical experiences and travels inclined them to have full faith in the evil that was devouring the mankind’s souls. They arrive at the place told to them and wait for Lord Baltimore to arrive. In the mean time, they begin to share their stories of misadventure and terror. They try to contemplate their parts that they will be playing in the timeless battle of Lord Baltimore. And before the end of that night, they are expected to learn what is needed to get rid of the plague as well as the creatures who were responsible for spreading it.

One of the other books written in the series written by Christopher Golden is titled as ‘Baltimore : The Plague Ships’. This book was actually written as a five part volume. In the first part, it is shown that after several months of the end of the First World War due to the devastating plague, the whole of Europe gets flooded with haunting vampires. Baltimore, who takes up the mission to wipe out these creatures, sets out to find the one responsible for the chaos. Trying to overcome his personal tragedy caused due to the vampires, Baltimore goes on to uncover a frightening and horrific terror. The second part of the book shows that Baltimore sails out from a crowded harbor full of sunken ships. During the activities of burning the plague victims in huge furnaces, he discovers a terrible incident. Meanwhile, his men become victims of the creatures who eat the freshly dead people. Also, Baltimore comes across the vampire who he was searching desperately. In the book’s third, Lord Baltimore’s ship gets destroyed by a furious storm. He, along with Vanessa, gets washed to a shore where they find a vast submarine graveyard. As Vanessa and Baltimore take refuge on the island, they find a plague ship in ruined condition. This ship was previously used to burn the vampires, but now it is fully covered with dangerous and grotesque fungus. In the next part, Baltimore gets stranded on an island that he finds extremely haunted. He searches for the vampire whom he holds responsible for his family’s death. But instead, he finds that the whole beach is covered with fungus and rotting corpses are not staying dead. As the novel nears its conclusion in the final part, Vanessa and Lord Baltimore get attacked by a weird array of vampires that caused the plague. The situation becomes so much horrible that Vanessa begins to suspect that Baltimore has become damned in his obsession of finding the vampire responsible for causing the deadly plague, in which his family also died.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Baltimore (Christopher Golden)

Leave a Reply