Book Notification

Barbara Josselsohn Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lake Summers Books

The Lilac House (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bluebell Girls (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lily Garden (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cranberry Inn (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Sisters of War Books

Secrets of the Italian Island (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Gift to the Italian Island (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Last Dreamer (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Barbara Josselsohn is a bestselling historical romance and general romance fiction author who is best known for the “Lake Summers” series of novels.

She started out as a business reporter working for “HFN” the trade magazine, where she used to cover home furnishings.

Josselsohn would graduate from that to become a writer working freelance for a range of magazines that included the likes of Westchester Magazine, The New York Times, American Baby, Parents and Consumers Digest among many other publications.
She published “The Last Dreamer,” her debut work of fiction in 2015 and now has at least half a dozen works published.
Together with her husband and three children, she currently makes her home in Westchester County, New York.

When she is not writing, she loves escaping to the mountains or the beach. Apart from her writing, her biggest passion has to be her family and her indefatigable dog.

Growing up, Barbara Josselsohn’s mother vigorously supported her dreams of one day becoming an author.
Her mother was a writer who loved to chronicle her experiences and she remembers reading about a piece she wrote about her great-grandmother’s immigrant experience coming from Germany.
She wrote about how she often spent hours thinking of the idyllic home back in Germany. It is from the very vivid imagery of her mother’s writing that she sometimes finds inspiration for the perfect sensory expressions and descriptions in her stories.
At some point, she was also friends with Meg Wolitzert, the literary fiction author and as such, she always wanted to become an author.

Similar to her contemporaries, she had always been writing all manner of stories and has numerous unfinished novels from her teenage and early adulthood years.
Things changed when she went to college got more into essay writing and journalism, and proceeded to pursue a career in that.

But once she got married and experienced parenthood, she suddenly had an urge to go back to fiction writing. Out of nowhere, she had all the ideas and themes that she could explore in storytelling.

Now that she is a full-time author, Barbara Josselsohn spends much of her time writing. Given her training as a journalist, she can write from just about anywhere, even though she prefers to write from a few amazing spots in her backyard.
During the winter, the dining table serves her just as well as it has a massive window that overlooks the entire neighborhood.

She loves writing while listening to thematic music that matches what she is writing. For instance, she listened to ballet classics while she was penning “The Lilac House.”

Apart from her writing, she also works at the Sarah Lawrence College Writing Institute, which she has said has provided a lot to her journey in terms of friendship, support, community, learning, and encouragement.
Barbara also has many writer friends who provide feedback on her writing in addition to being a member of the Women’s Fiction Writers Association.

Barbara Josselsohn’s novel “The Lilac House” is a thrilling romance fiction novel set at the aptly named “Lilac House.”

For Anna Harris, escaping to Lilac House for the summer has always been a source of comfort. However, ever since she lost her husband, things have never been the same.

Still, she knows that it is at Lilac House in the heart of the Adirondack Mountains and nestled in Lake Summers that she and Evie and Zac her children can begin to rebuild their lives.
They find it as beautiful as they remember and soon they are caught up in the life of the small town, as she gets busy helping Hope her aunt run the little shop she owns on Main Street.

It is not long before the sense of herself that had been gone for years begins to resurface. Then she meets the quiet, strong, and handsome Aidan who just like her knows too well the pain of losing someone.
In each other, they find something they both had been missing. However, Aidan has a lot of complications in his past and he has a secret about his reason for coming to Lake Summers.
Just as Lilac House begins to feel like home, Anna discovers something about the death of her husband that changes everything she ever believed.

“The Bluebell Girls” by Barbara Jossellsohn is a story of three generations of the Bluebell girls, whose lives are changed or good in just one summer.

Growing up in Lake Summers, Jenna and Sweet her mother had always been referred to as the Bluebell girls. Jenna had a reputation for being a carefree woman who loved to spend her time gardening and pruning her wildflowers.
Given her disposition, no one expected that she would live in the small town in the Adindorack Mountaisn for long. But then her mother falls ill and she has to come back home from New York bringing back with her Sophie her daughter.
Jenna finds comfort in the warm afternoons by the lakeside and her evenings are spent watching her mother regale her daughter with stories about her long-lost romantic lovers.

A few weeks after arriving, she meets Troy the next-door neighbor who she immediately remembers as the boy who had been the first to kiss her.

Seeing Troy reminds Jenna of her reckless past, but as their old feelings are reignited, so are the secrets that bring to the fore a tragedy from the past. With Sophie and Sweet closer than they had ever been, Jenna has to make a difficult choice.

Barbara Josselsohn’s “The Lily Garden” tells the story of Caroline.

Caroline has been away from Lake Summers for more than three decades. She never once thought she would ever go back to the palace where her parents had died.

But then she is informed that the lily garden in town which her mother had lovingly tended to would be destroyed she has to go back. She drops everything at her Chicago office and heads back home to save the garden.
Caroline and Lee her daughter are welcomed back by Maxine her mother’s best friend who offers them some very sweet pancakes at the tiny restaurant she runs in town.

Soon enough she discovers that she is not the only one who is interested in keeping her mother’s legacy alive upon meeting Aaron a handsome young historian.

As she gets to know the man and takes long walks with him by the lakeside, she cannot imagine ever wanting anything else. But things change when she comes to the knowledge of a terrible secret from the day she lost her mother.
It is not long before she discovers the true reason Aaron is in town.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Barbara Josselsohn

Leave a Reply