Nick Petrie Series

Barbara Michaels Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Georgetown Books

Ammie, Come Home (1968)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Shattered Silk (1986)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Stitches in Time (1995)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Someone in the House Books

Someone in the House (1981)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Black Rainbow (1982)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Master of Blacktower (1966)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Sons of the Wolf (1967)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Prince of Darkness (1969)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Dark on the Other Side (1970)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Crying Child (1971)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Greygallows (1972)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Witch (1973)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
House of Many Shadows (1974)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Sea King's Daughter (1975)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Patriot's Dream (1976)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Wings of the Falcon (As: Elizabeth Peters) (1977)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Wait for What Will Come (1978)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Walker in Shadows (As: Elizabeth Peters) (1979)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Wizard's Daughter (1980)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Here I Stay (1983)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Grey Beginning (1984)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Be Buried in the Rain (1985)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Search the Shadows (1987)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Smoke and Mirrors (1989)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Into the Darkness (1990)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Vanish with the Rose (1992)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Houses of Stone (1993)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Dancing Floor (1997)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Other Worlds (1999)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

Tales of the Uncanny(1983)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Gothic Treasure Trove(1987)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Barbara Michaels is a published author. It is a pen name used by Barbara Mertz, who wrote under that name as well as that of Elizabeth Peters. Her book The Crying Child was adapted into a 1996 television movie starring Mariel Hemingway.

Michaels was born on September 27, 1907, in Canton, Illinois. She attended the University of Chicago and graduated with her Ph.D. in Egyptology.

Barbara Michaels is the creator and the author of the Georgetown series of fictional novels. This series premiered for the first time in 1968. This is when readers were first able to pick up a copy of the debut novel in the series, titled Ammie, Come Home. It was made into a 1970 movie. The sequel would be released in 1986 and is titled Shattered Silk. The third book made the series a trilogy and Stitches in Time was released in 1995.

Ammie, Come Home is the first book in the Georgetown series. In this tantalizing fictional story, readers get the chance to meet Ruth Bennett, the main character, for the first time. If you are looking for something that is going to keep you reading right until the very last page, then check out this story for yourself!

They say that you should be careful when you’re messing with the other side, because you don’t know what might come out to greet you. Séances have been popular even since the days of women holding parties in their parlors where a fortune teller would come or a psychic would arrive and relay the messages of the dead. They truly used to be all the rage.

Given this colorful history of reaching out to the supernatural element for entertainment, it should be no surprise that others still give it a try to this day. Such is the case when it comes to Ruth Bennett, who wants to have something to do that is a bit beyond the ordinary.

Ruth lives in Washington, D.C., and knows that her niece Sara is going to be coming to her home to visit. It all starts off as a way for them to have fun, and Ruth thinks that the exercise will be both a fun diversion and totally harmless. As it turns out, she could not be more wrong.

She wanted to just be a great hostess as well as earn some extra points with her niece. But what begins as a way to have entertainment for Sara and herself quickly grows more dangerous. Ruth’s home is large and elegant, a perfect Georgetown home. What better place than in a grand house like this to have a séance?

They thought that it would be a bit of fun but never anticipated the consequences of their actions. Perhaps if they had wondered whether they would call something evil to this plane they would have never done it. But once the whole thing is started, it is clear that they have set something into motion that they cannot undo.

The aunt and her niece have unwittingly called something out and brought it into the house. Not only is it something that is less than friendly, they believe that it is evil. You can actually feel that about it. Then things get worse when all of a sudden Sara is talking– but the voice she is speaking in does not sound anything like her normal voice.

Things have certainly gone from bad to worse, and Ruth doesn’t know what to do. Sara is normally a bright girl that is sensible in every single way. Now she has become some sort of miserable creature that is more whimpering than confident and an average young woman. It appears that this event called malevolent energy into her home, and now she is going to have to do something if she wants them to get out and save her niece in the bargain.

She is doing everything that she can to get the evil out of there, from special talismans to various tricks and approaches. No matter what she attempts to do, it seems that now this house is officially haunted. They are having to deal with a dark plague upon them, and Ruth is running out of options to tackle these evils forces.

She may finally have a chance at dispelling the evil when she finds out about the black past of the house. From lust to treachery to violence, it all starts finally making sense why negative forces were able to flow through and find a home here so easily. She is desperate to rid her house of this energy, but when it comes to getting the evil exorcised, will the price that she has to pay end up being too high?

It’s up to Ruth to save her sanity and protect the well being of her niece by confronting the evil that has entered here once and for all. Can she do it, or is this simple home owner going to be overwhelmed by the power living in her house? Pick up a copy of this thrilling debut story to find out!

Shattered Silk is the exciting sequel in the Georgetown series. If you loved the action of the first novel, then check out this second installment of the series too!

There may be a killer lurking out there in the wild. For Karen Nevitt, things are busy enough when it comes to running her business. She owns a boutique that specializes in vintage clothing, and the white lace and linen there seems fairly innocent and pure when compared to the trouble that lurks outside.

The boutique has been going well, and Karen found support from the community. Her aunt’s friends even went through their vintage clothing to help find items so that she could start her business in the first place. All of the gowns that they give her are incredible. Each one is clearly a gem and some of them are even designer originals that are worth quite a bit.

Karen is thrilled with the dresses, but then discovers a clue hidden in the fabrics. An old mystery has surfaced that someone would kill for. Will she solve the case before it’s too late? Read this book to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Barbara Michaels

Leave a Reply