Book Notification

Barbara Parker Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Gail Connor and Anthony Quintana Books

Suspicion of Innocence (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Suspicion of Guilt (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Suspicion of Deceit (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Suspicion of Betrayal (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Suspicion of Malice (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Suspicion of Vengeance (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Suspicion of Madness (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Suspicion of Rage (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Blood Relations (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Criminal Justice (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Perfect Fake (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dark of Day (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Miami Noir(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mystery Writers of America Presents The Prosecution Rests(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Barbara Parker was a renowned American mystery writer, who penned down 12 best sellers. The first novel that Barbara Parker wrote down was Suspicion of Innocence, which was a finalist in the Edgar Allan Poe Awards. Parker also served on the national board of mystery writers and also chaired the membership committee of the board as well. Barbara Parker was born and raised in Columbia and resided in South Carolina. Eventually, Barbara Parker relocated with her entire family to Florida. Barbara Parker was admitted to the academic powerhouse, University of South Florida, where she majored in Theatre Arts. Eventually, she joined the University of Miami where was awarded a degree in Law. After her graduation, Parker became a prosecutor and served in the Attorney’s office in Florida State before starting her legal practice that she ran for more than eight years. To provide an alternative for her legal career and to entertain her career as well.

After some time, Barbara Parker decided to leave law and took a new job as a paralegal with one of the biggest law firms, to earn money and to also further develop her writing career. While serving as a paralegal, Barbara Parker did not tell her boss that she was a trained attorney. Parker from time to time would write while traveling bus to Miami. While at Florida International University, Barbara Parker, where her master’s degree thesis became the foundation for her debut novel, Suspicion for Innocence. The Suspicion for Innocence became a finalist for an Edgar Award for the best first mystery by an American author. The novel was adapted for the screenplay as Sisters and other Sisters by ABC. Barbara’s suspicion series was centered on the Miami lawyers Anthony Quintana and Gail Conor. Many at times Barbara Parker researched her books carefully, by spending times with cops, ballet dancers, rock bands and fashion models.

Barbara Parker Best Books

Suspicion of Innocence

Suspicion of Innocence is the first installment in the Barbara Parker book series. After it is evidently clear that her sister committed suicide, a young Wasp lawyer ends up into the circles of a Cuban Grandee and his rather attractive family. In this installment, author Barbara Parker introduces the readers to one Jimmy Panther, a cynical Indian Everglades alligator handler, and tour-guide. Jimmy discovers a dead body of one Renee Pettis as he was taking a Scandinavian family on tour. Once he came close by, he noticed that the body belonged to Renee Pettis, a man who he had conducted several business deals with. Panther happens to be one of the most upsetting characters who entered into Gail Conor’s life as Conor tries to tie up several lose ends that her sister had left right behind the city. As she began her investigation, Gail learns that Renee was not only involved in drug dealings but was also into sexual activities. From time to time, she met with Dave, Gail’s husband for lunch.

It is at this point that she begins to question whether her husband was the father to Renee’s unborn child. When she confronts her husband, he denies the allegations. Thus, she begins to question whether the father of Renee’s unborn child one Carlos Pedrosa, the slick property developer.

The Perfect Fake

The Perfect Fake is another highly entertaining novel from author, Barbara Parker. In this book, a website designer decides to take a forgery job, for one of the wealthiest men in Miami. Parker, a former Dade county prosecutor, appears to know everything about the rather seamy underbelly of her very own home territory. Several nights before, a rather important map exhibition, retired judge and map fancier, one Royce Herron is killed. The blood oozing from the judge covered a rather rare map, which had been extracted from a 500-year-old atlas. Fatal bullets also damaged the map as well. The map had been loaned from Stuart Barlowe, real estate developer, who was more concerned about the level of damage to the antique, rather than the damage that was done to the judge.

After the exhibition, the map was to be given out to the Mafioso as a gift, whose investment is crucial to Stuart’s latest condo project. Stuart Barlowe decides to hand out a huge sum of money to Tom Fairchild, a scruffy artist, to create a replica of the damaged map. Despite Rose’s plea, Fairchild decides to take the job. After being given professional adviser, from Rose’s husband, a professional forger, who had decided to skip bail and in turn take residency in Italy, Tom is more than determined to see the job through. However, Barlowe’s stepson, daughter, and wife, who all have opinions about handling the issue, complicate this tricky job. Alison, a professional lawyer, appears to be the only straight person in a family that is full of bent individuals.

Suspicion of Rage

In Suspicion of Rage, the author introduces the readers to Antony Quintana, a Miami lawyer. The book begins as Antony Quintana heads to Havana, his native home. Apart from Anthony Quintana, the author also introduces the readers to the champion of Miami exiles, Guillermo Navaro. Guillermo Nirvana, wants Quintana to persuade his brother in law, one Ramiro Vega, to become a United States citizen. Guillermo claims that one Major Omar had indicated that Ramiro Vega was more than eager to defect. Quintana, who is more than certain of Vega’s unwavering loyalty to Castro, remains a little bit skeptical as he arrives alongside his wife and children to Cuba. Further tensions and standoffs ensue. However, there is very little momentum as the story progresses. General Garcia approaches Quintana and informs him, that if he fails to avail the information that Cespedes had passed over to the Brazilian government, then he was never going to be allowed to leave Cuba.

One Mario eventually discovers that Quintana’s daughter could get him easily to Vega, a person that he is more than eager to assassinate. Gail, who a majority of the time is fretting, decides to step into the action after discovering that Mario is the son of Anthony and a woman that he had met while in Cuba. With that said, Suspicion of Rage is an action-packed novel that will grab the reader’s attention.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Barbara Parker

Leave a Reply