Book Notification

Barkley’s School for Dogs Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Barkley's School for Dogs Books

By: Marcia Thornton Jones, Debbie Dadey
Playground Bully (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Puppy Trouble (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Top Dog (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghost Dog (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Snow Day (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blue-Ribbon Blues (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Santa Dog (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sticks and Stones and Doggie Bones (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buried Treasure (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tattle Tails (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Puppy Love (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Puppies on Parade (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon

Barkley’s School for Dogs is a set of a book written by three authors, Debbie D., Marcia Thornton Jones and Amy Wummer.

Marcia Jones was born in Joliet, Illinois but spent most of her childhood in Lexington, Kentucky. She enjoys books reading more than anything else. While working as a teacher her favorite part during the school day was sharing storybooks with her students. It was that love for reading books that drew her into writing books, and she wanted to write the same genre of books that her students loved most. In one afternoon, she spoke to the school library attendant that she wanted to write and the librarian, Debbie Dadey shared a common interest for writing books. The next afternoon, Debbie and Marcia met while their students were out for lunch break and began writing.

On the other hand, Debbie Dadey has authored and co-authored more than 125 books. She was born in Morganfield in Kentucky and later relocated to Pennsylvania. Amy Wummer is the author of over 118 distinct works and has been illustrating publications and children books for over ten years. She currently resides in Pennsylvania with her loving husband and her three children.

The first book in Barkley’s School for Dogs series was published in 2001, and it entitled Playground Bully. The first five couple of books in this series were released in the same year in 2001. The series consists of 11 primary works all which target the audience of ages of 8 years and above.

Playground Bully

The first novel in the series is Playground Bully published in 2001. The creators of the amazing Bailey School Kids are back and this time with a new series about four-legged and furry students attending Barkley School for dogs.

In the first installment, Jack is dropped to his new school by his human owner Maggie. He is introduced to a few of the dogs at the school, and for Jack, he can surely tell that it is not easy being the new puppy at school especially when he befriends a cat and chooses one of the schools to bully toy to chew on. Even though Jack fancies himself being alone and considers himself a Wonder Dog, he later comes to appreciate the power that comes with real friendship.

Puppy Trouble

It is spring again, and as usual, Barkley School welcomes once again a significant number of puppies to get trained. Like any other regular school, there are the good puppies, and there are the bad ones that love bullying everyone around. Jack is one of the good puppies and loves seeing everything quite in order. On the other hand, we have Doberman, a bully dog who enjoys while other puppies are in pain.

Now during one of the spring intakes, one wayward puppy gets in trouble and it taking his lessons from Doberman who is also apparently causing havoc in the entire school. This puppy needs help, and it is upon Jack, the good pup to take the challenge for he understands that a real dog power lies heavily on good friends.

Top Dog

In the third installment of Barkley School for Dogs, the drama and exciting adventure continue in the school of dogs. This time, all the dogs have been given a chance to try their best to appear in a television commercial, but only one dog is set to be featured in the TV commercial.

Our popular pup, Jack wants to be the next big star in the television commercial. However, to be the next star is an uphill task that requires him not to give up and beat out all of his friends as well as his bully enemy.

Sooner, Jack discovers that the TV producer might be hiding secrets and has other plans as well and that there might not be a top dog at all.

Ghost Dog

The drama never ceases in Barkley School, and in this fourth installment, something weird starts happenings. All the dog chew toys, and doggie treats begin disappearing from the school compound, and the dogs are suspicious. Could the bully, Doberman be playing her old tricks?

On the other hand, Jack the curious one begins his investigations and soon learns that the culprits behind the disappearance could be related to an old legend one about the ghost dog.

Who could be stealing from the dogs? Could the legend be true or is there one amongst the dogs tricking their minds? Moreover, will they get their toys back?

Snow Day

One day snowstorm gives the dogs at Barkley School of dogs an unexpected snow day, and the dogs have the fun of their lives. However with all that fun one of the dog ends up getting caught in the blizzard, and Jack and his best friends will have to work together with whatever it takes to rescue their friend as save the day.

Sticks and Stones and Doggie Bones

Have you ever been in situations where some of your friends make fun of you while you are sick or in deep trouble? This is exactly what happens when Floyd is forced to wear a big plastic collar after getting some stitches, he is in pain but one Sweetcakes continuously teases him, and this depresses him so much. Seeing Floyd suffering under the hands of Sweetcakes, Jack and his friends team up to teach Sweetcakes a lesson that he will not forget and probably one that might ultimately change his behaviors forever.

Buried Treasure

Buried Treasure is the 7th installment book in Barkley School for Dogs. During school time when Woodrow informs the rest of the dogs in the school about a treasure digging dog who attended Barkley School, Jack is pretty sure that there must be a treasure buried in the yard. He and his friends begin searching for the treasure, and during the treasure hunting session, they learn something useful, that teamwork is essential for their success.

Barkley School for Dogs is an interesting reading featuring dog characters who are amazing. The characters work together to solve mysteries and help their friends especially when they get into trouble. The main theme of this series being the power of friendship it is a good read for children between 8 -11 years.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Barkley’s School for Dogs

Leave a Reply