Book Notification

Bauchelain and Korbal Broach Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bauchelain and Korbal Broach Books

Blood Follows (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Healthy Dead (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lees of Laughter's End (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crack'd Pot Trail (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wurms of Blearmouth (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fiends of Nightmaria (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

“Bauchelain and Korbal Broach” is a series of novels by Steven Erikson, the Canadian novelist anthropologist and archaeologist whose real name is Steve Rune Lundin. Erikson is best known for creation of the Malazan universe series of novels in which his “Malazan Book of the Fallen” and “Bauchelain and Korbal Broach” series of novellas are set. His work in the “Malazan Book of the Fallen” series has been called one of the most prominent works in epic fantasy in recent times. Steven Erikson was born in Ontario, but spent most of his childhood in Winnipeg before he moved to the UK with his family, and finally resettled in Winnipeg. He studied archaeology and anthropology in college and graduated from the Iowa Writers Workshop. His very first work in the workshop was “A Ruin of Feathers” that were short stories about a Central American archaeologist. The short stories were published by a small publishing house in Canada known as TSAR. His other major work was a series of short stories and a novella titled “Revolvo and other Canadian Tales” that was published by the same publishing house. His first ever novel was “This River Awakens” that he sold to Hodder and Stoughton that he had written while he was living in Winnipeg. Before he became Steven Erikson, he wrote four novels under his real name Steve Rune Lundin. When he is not writing he loves to mess around with oil paints.

Erikson’s “Malazan Empire Universe” in which the “Bauchelain and Korbal Broach” series of novels are set was conceived when Steven Erikson met Ian C Esslemont at an archaeological dig in Ontario. They conceived the Malazan world as a set for a role-playing game that finally evolved into a movie script known as the “Gardens of the Moon” before it become a novel that never made any waves in the market. It was not until the “Gardens of the Moon” was acquired by Transworld and Erikson was requested to write more titles in the series that the novels gained traction, gaining a cult following among epic fantasy fans on the internet. What makes Eriksen’s work stand out from the rest is his writing of unconventional characters that go against the stereotypes expected of them and overturning the very traditions of writing fantasy. For instance, the “Malazan Book of the Fallen” series start midway and weaves around from the future to the past and present. He will also not hesitate to kill off lead characters if their death enhances his plot. Over the years Erikson has won critical acclaim and praise particularly for “Gardens of the Moon” his debut novel of the “Malazan Book of the Fallen” series that made the shortlist for the World Fantasy Award. It won praise for its exciting and strong storytelling and intelligent and original characters.

The Malazan Empire series of the Bauchelain and Korbal Broach series comes with a wide cast of characters and a world that is wide in scope. Spanning multiple continents and several millennia. The plots are complicated series of events that are somehow interconnected through events and characters that appear in different conflicts in the different novellas. The lead characters in the series is the duo of necromancers called Bauchelain and Korbal Broach that called themselves Nehemoth. Bauchelain is a tall man in his late forties or early fifties with swept back hair, graying beard, flat grey eyes, and a pale complexion. He is careful to ensure he was as healthy as possible for those moments when backstabbing, deceit, guile, and sorcery are not enough. He is a man of many talents including a facility for learning almost any language, conjuring demons, and foreseeing a person’s death. He is also a skilled alchemist, martial artist, and practitioner of vivisection and dissection. A man of expensive tastes and learning, he loves to buy expensive books and fine clothes which he attributes to his noble birth. Korbal Broach is a Soletaken, eunuch and necromancer partner of Bauchelain. Broach is a large bald man with thick lips and a round face that seems both ineffably monstrous and childlike. Despite his huge stature, he moves gracefully and his silence gives him the demeanor of great wisdom. He wields a hand and a half sword under a thick black coat and full length chain armor. Given that he is a eunuch, he loves to hunt at night collecting souls and organs from his victims to create a patchwork child he keeps in a big chest. He is what may be called the god of death and enemy of the hood though his primal instincts are far less dangerous than those of his partner Bauchelain. Nonetheless, he is very strong and can break iron with his hands and carry heavy weights.

In “Blood Follows” the first novel of the Bauchelain and Korbal Broach series, the city of Lamentable Moll is in a panic as diabolical and sinister killer is abroad, stalking the barrow humped and narrow streets. Emancipor Reese is a man who has had some of the worst luck in his life and now has to contend with being out of work as his employer became the victim of the vicious killer. His wife is of no help as she has become comfortable with a life of hardship that she no longer cares for the terrors of the city that keep Emancipor awake at night. But Emancipor’s life changes with the arrival of two necromancers to Lamentable Moll. Bauchealin and Korbal Broach have been spreading the word that they are in need of a manservant and Reese believes that he could be the perfect fit for the two men. Even though the note seems to have words full of deathly magic, no ghostly howling or terror in the night is going to stop Emancipator even as the city prepares itself for a time full of terror inspired anarchy.

“The Healthy Dead” is the second novel in the series set in the city of Quaint, where things are going so well that somebody needs to apply the brakes. Korbal and Broach who champion everything bad know that too much goodness can lead to catastrophe. The citizens are overwhelmed by goof living and neurotic distraction that the necromancers know can become an explosive combination. It is not long before the two necromancers and Emancipor Reese their faithful manservant are roped into a scheme that would surely drag the town’s reputation for good living into the mud and utterly ruin it. Reese is bemused to learn that Master Bauchelain could also be capable of laudable intentions though he will never say no to being paid with a chest full of gold. Still, it would seem that bringing down civilization would be the best course of action in the circumstances.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Bauchelain and Korbal Broach

Leave a Reply