Book Notification

Bay Tanner Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bay Tanner Books

In for a Penny (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
And Not a Penny More (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Perdition House (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Judas Island (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Resurrection Road (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bishop's Reach (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sanctuary Hill (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mercy Oak (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Covenant Hall (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Canaan's Gate (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jericho Cay (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
St. John's Folly (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Like a Bad Penny (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jordan Point (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Bay Tanner series is a series of mystery and thriller novels written by the well known American novelist named Kathryn R. Wall. There is a total of 12 books published in the series between the years 2000 and 2013. All the novels of the series feature the main character in the form of Bay Tanner, who is described as a financial consultant and a widower. She lives on the Hilton Head Island in South Carolina. Each of the novels of the series is primarily set in the Lowcountry area of South Carolina. Author Kathryn R. Wall used to live in Hilton Head Island herself and has the experience of about 25 years working as an accountant. She used this vast experience in writing the novels of the series. In fact, the title role character of Bay Tanner is somewhat based on her life. Being quite familiar with the regions of Hilton Head Island and Beaufort County of South Carolina, author Kathryn R. Wall has set the novels of the Bay Tanner series in these regions.

The first novel of the Bay Tanner series written by author Kathryn R. Wall was published under the title ‘In for a Penny’. It was released by the Bella Rosa Books in the year 2000. The plot of this novel introduces the main character of Bay Tanner and revolves around the happenings of her life. The main setup of the plot of the novel deals with murder and blackmailing amidst a series of killings in the real estate world of South Carolina. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Bay Tanner is depicted as a high powered financial accountant. She is shown as living a wonderful and satisfying life as a financial consultant until the horrific murder of her husband which she witnessed with her own eyes. In an attempt to save her brutally injured husband, Bay Tanner also becomes wounded. Grieving, Tanner retreats to a hideaway spot on Hilton Head Island. She keeps crying for help but all her efforts to do so go in vain. Eventually, she begins to wonder about the reasons behind the sudden breakout of the tragic events in her happy life. Bay Tanner decides to face the reality and does not seem to ignore the difficulties faced by her family members and her ‘old money’ friends, as well as their unwitting involvement in one of the shadowy land schemes of the town that lead all of them to a financial disaster.

However, she keeps wondering, what does all of that have to do with the murder of her husband Rob. Soon, a floating dead body is discovered from the ruins near a plantation house. This forces Bay Tanner to confront the disturbing questions and accept the fact that someone was making a series of killings in the real estate business. Through the story of this novel, author Kathryn R. Wall has tried to explore the conflict between the preservationists trying to save the barrier islands and the explosive developments of resorts in South Carolina. She has characterized the role of Bay Tanner as exposing the tangled web of deceit, extortion, and drugs lying beneath the facade of the Southern gentility. Author Kathryn R. Wall has also described the coastal South Carolina county of Hilton Head Island to be filled with ancient pristine beaches, live oaks, as well as the remains of the antebellum splendor. The unique style of writing of author Kathryn Wall and her characterization of the important characters was very well appreciated by the readers and the critics. The novel was compared to the likes of the rich, aromatic, and the simmering pot of the stew of Frogmore. The Low Country Weekly magazine has even described the novel as being rife with surprising revelations, intriguing characters, and a suspenseful plot.

One of the other initial novels of the successful Bay Tanner series written by author Kathryn R. Wall was published under the title ‘Perdition House’. It was released by the St. Martin’s Paperbacks publishing house in the year 2003. The plot of this novel continues to depict the suspenseful and mysterious happenings in the life of the main character named Bay Tanner. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, it is shown that Bay Tanner is still trying to recover from the brutal killing of her loving husband named Rob. She continues to work as a financial consultant in South Carolina, but once again she finds herself enmeshed in a web of crime. Her distant cousin named Mercer Mary Prescott comes back into her life disastrously. She was previously jailed for vagrancy and now, she springs by the retired judge and wheelchair bound father of Bay Tanner. Bay finds Mercer Prescott as vulnerable at one moment and the next moment, she appears to be quite secretive and sly. One the whole, the young and scruffy woman seems to be pretty much obsessed with the history of the aristocratic family of Bay Tanner. However, the prying of Mercer Mary Prescott gets interrupted when she gets hauled from the antebellum mansion of the Judge and charged with the case of trespassing at one of the nearby nuclear facility. But, the relief that Bay Tanner receives from the departure of her troublesome cousin proves to be quite short-lived as she comes to know that several dangerous characters are trying to gun down Mercer Prescott.

In order to protect her life, Mercer escapes from the police escort and goes on the run. When Bay Tanner learns about the vicious attack on her housekeeper, she begins to launch her own search operation by taking the help of her brother-in-law and the sheriff’s deputy named Red Tanner and the computer genius named Erik Whiteside. As the time passes by, the number of body counts related to the case goes on increasing and Bay Tanner soon finds herself chased by a group of ruthless fanatics. Bay realizes that it is only her cousin Mercer Mary Prescott, who can help her and explain the connection between the long and deeply hidden secrets of the Perdition House and the present day terrors happening in the coastal region of South Carolina. Just like the previous novels of the series, this novel too was written in an original and complex mystery style. It proved to be an interesting and intriguing read, filled with the wonderful beauty of the Low Country of South Carolina. Author Kathryn R. Wall has also depicted the unique traditions of an aristocracy of South Carolina which continues to cling to its past tenaciously. This helped her to win a lot of praises and appreciations from her readers and fans as well as her fellow writers and the critics.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Bay Tanner

2 Responses to “Bay Tanner”

  1. Betty Taylor: 2 years ago

    I have read every book in the Bay Tanner series.
    Please write some more. I love them!!

  2. Sheryl Simon-Walmsley: 3 years ago

    I love the “Bay Tanner” series! I just finished And not a penny more, I cant wait to read the next one! Great Job Kathryn! They are fun reads!


Leave a Reply