Book Notification

Beacons of Hope Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Beacons of Hope Books

Out of the Storm (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love Unexpected (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hearts Made Whole (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Undaunted Hope (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forever Safe (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Never Forget (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Beacons of Hope is a series of historical romance novels with Christian elements written by Jody Hedlund. The book follows the men and women of Michigan in the 1800s as they attempt to find love.

+The Story

The Beacons of Hope series starts with ‘Love Unexpected’, the first novel in the series which was published in 2014. ‘Love Unexpected’ introduces readers to Emma Chambers, a woman of Irish origins whose life takes a dark turn when their steamboat goes under.

Stranded in Michigan with her brother, the Irish immigrant is forced to reconsider her prospects when she realizes that she cannot find work in her new home. Her brother succeeds in landing a fishing gig while Emma is forced to depend on the kindness of strangers.

Her luck changes when a traveling preacher connects her to a desperate widower. Ryan is a lighthouse keeper. The job is pretty taxing and that is a problem for the widower who has a young son.

Observing the fact that Ryan would greatly benefit from a woman’s touch while Emma is in great need of a home and a protector, the traveling preacher in question hastily arranges a marriage of convenience and sees Emma off to her new home.

Emma is attracted to her new husband. But she knows nothing about him. She also realizes that he might be hiding a secret from her. Determined to simply do her best to earn her keep and to care for her step-son, Emma does not expect to create such a strong and loving connection with the stranger she now calls husband. But that is what happens.

‘Love Unexpected’ is considered by most Jody Hedlund fans to be a strong start to the Beacons of Hope series. The book features a well-plotted romantic story, well-developed characters and vivid descriptions of the time period in question.

The book also sets the template that the other installments in the Beacons of Hope series more or less adhere to. A common aspect of the novels is the setting. They all take place in Michigan in the 1800s.

The author has been commended for the extensive descriptions of life in historical Michigan that she provides, from the clothing to the towns, the food, the traditions, the ideals and moral philosophies.

Each book looks at a different part of Michigan. For instance, ‘Love Unexpected’ takes readers to Presque Isle port while ‘Undaunted Hope’ focuses on the goings-on of Upper Peninsula, Michigan.

Lighthouses are a critical aspect of each novel. In the first book, the hero is a lighthouse keeper. The heroine, Emma, goes to live with him and, during her marriage of convenience, learns to share in his duties.

In the second book, Caroline’s parents were lighthouse keepers. She has since taken over the role. Though, women in the 1800s were not permitted to keep lighthouses and, as such, Caroline risks losing the one job she knows how to do.

Book three explores the trials of Tessa Taylor, a teacher who comes to a new town and piques the interest of two men one of whom is a lighthouse keeper.

One assumes that Jody Hedlund did extensive research about lighthouses because each novel in the Beacons of Hope series delves heavily into the workings of a lighthouse and the minutiae of operating one. Jody presents it as dangerous, difficult work that requires dedication and focus, and it is around the activities of lighthouse keeping that the author’s heroes and heroines fall in love.

There is little in the way of instant attraction in these books. In fact, the protagonists are typically forced by circumstance to tolerate one another’s company. Over time, a relationship of convenience develops which, eventually, evolves into fondness and love.

Jody Hedlund is a Christian author. As such, it shouldn’t come as a surprise that her novels feature Christian messages. More often than not, her protagonists have neglected God over the years and they must find their way back to him.

Many a character is seen praying. They also quote scripture. It is ultimately concluded that the hero and heroine cannot hope to find happiness until they learn to give control of their lives over to God.

+The Author

Jody Hedlund is an American author that writes Christian fiction. She has been awarded accolades like the Christy Award for her work. Jody was a child when she realized that she wanted to write for a living.

However, as she matured, she realized that writing didn’t pay enough to meet her daily expenses. So she went into social work, got her Masters’ Degree and spent years helping the poor and desperate. By the time Jody decided to try her hand at writing, she had a litany of stories to tell.

+Love Unexpected

Emma Chambers is in a spot of trouble. When their steamboat sinks, Emma, and her brother end up stranded at Presque Isle Port. There Emma tries and fails to secure work. She cannot even find a place to stay.

As such, she is no place to argue or resist when it is suggested that she marry a lighthouse keeper. Ryan’s wife is dead. She left him with a son and now he doesn’t know how to execute his duties as lighthouse keeper whilst also keeping the boy properly cared for.

Ryan has no choice but to enter into a marriage of convenience with Emma the Irish Immigrant. Neither of them is prepared for how drastically their lives will change. Neither of them realizes just how much they need one another.

+Hearts Made Whole

When Caroline Taylor’s father dies, she wastes no time in taking over the running of the Lighthouse. And she is more than confident in her ability to execute her duties.

Unfortunately for her, society in 1865 in Michigan frowned upon the idea of a woman running a lighthouse. So Caroline isn’t surprised when the authorities hire a man to take over her duties. No one cares that Caroline has no other skill of note and that she will have nowhere to go once her replacement arrives.

It is fortunate for Caroline that Ryan Chambers, her replacement, and a combat veteran that is still haunted by the war, knows nothing about running a lighthouse. The two of them come to a mutually beneficial arrangement.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Beacons of Hope

Leave a Reply