Book Notification

Beatrice Hyde-Clare Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Beatrice Hyde-Clare Mysteries Books

A Brazen Curiosity (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Scandalous Deception (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Infamous Betrayal (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Nefarious Engagement (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Treacherous Performance (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Sinister Establishment (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Boldly Daring Scheme (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Ghastly Spectacle (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Malevolent Connection (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Ominous Explosion (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Extravagant Duplicity (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Murderous Tryst (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Vicious Machination (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Beatrice Hyde-Clare series is by Lynn Messina, and the first book is A Brazen Curiosity which was published in 2018. The series stars Beatrice Clare and the Duke of Kesgrave, always crossing paths in murder investigations.

A Brazen Curiosity
A Brazen Curiosity is the first installment in Beatrice Hyde-Clare Series. The novel stars Beatrice Hyde Clare, a twenty-six-year-old spinster who was taken at a young age after her parents’ untimely death. Her aunt and uncle took her to grow up with her two cousins, Russell and Flora. She has been living there for 19 years and has not found a suitor yet.

She has a poor relation in the family’s home and is unassuming to the family’s needs. She is so grateful for getting shelter and other basic needs from her aunt, urging her to find a suitor.

Beatrice wants a handsome man who can pay for her dowry, and so far, there are no prospects so far. So this makes her aunt forced to attend a party at one of her old friend’s houses where the hosts are Lord and lady Skeffington. in the party, she has no choice but to listen to the Duke of Kresgrave expounding on Lord Nelson’s ships in the battle of the Nile.

She thinks how food could be an excellent projectile to throw at his head if possible, but she can’t because he is a Duke. Beatrice cannot sleep at night, so she goes to the library to get something to read when she comes across a body covered in blood belonging to Mr. Otley, one of the houseguests, and the Duke is standing over it.

She is so frightened and thinks that the duke might have killed the man but realizes that maybe he just happened to run into the body just like her. But her instincts are telling her something different, and when the Duke swears he isn’t responsible for the murder, Beatrice doesn’t know what to believe. She is so enraged when the Duke convinces the people at the party that Mr. Otley committed suicide as she wonders how a man can bash his head with a candlestick.
She is determined to take it upon herself and investigate the murder and solve the mystery after seeing how Otley’s wife and daughter’s life are ruined. She has always been a shy and uncomfortable girl, but after the unexpected events, she decides to do things she has never thought of in search of justice.
However, she finds herself allied with the Duke and feels that she can’t tolerate him, but as they investigate the murder, a bond grows between them while gaining mutual respect.

Can they work together to unveil the truth about the murder? Most of the story focuses on Bea’s thoughts as she works out through the clues. Her blossoming personality is so inspiring and likable.

Beatrice is a bright and witty character, and her sarcastic sense of humor will keep you hooked. The author has drawn the secondary characters so well, which adds flesh to the story. A Brazen Curiosity is a tight mystery with an engaging plot.

The murder mystery is exciting and makes the reader curious, while the characters keep one hooked. The narration is impeccable, and the interactions between Bea and the Duke were likable. A Brazen Curiosity blend cozy mystery, witty banter, and Regency-style food fights. The food fights only take place in Bea’s imagination but is amazing. The fight’s imagination will make you laugh out loud while reading the story.

A Scandalous Deception
A Scandalous Deception is the second novel in the series. Six months have elapsed since the events in A Brazen Curiosity novel, and the author introduces Bea, but this time she is in London as she prepares for another season. After the party’s events, her family’s respect for her has improved not because she solved the murder mystery but because they believed her little lie that she had a suitor.

The lie was meant to help her investigate the murder case, but later it gets out of control. She plans to make her family forget the fake boyfriend, so she decides to ‘Kill him’ by putting a fake notice in the newspaper about his death. She hopes this will help get rid of the rumor and sneaks out of the house to present the anonymous notice for Mr. Davies. As she walks out after delivering the obituary in the newspaper office, a man drops dead next to her feet with a dagger on his back. Now, this turns to be another murder mystery lying right in front of her.

She expected to settle back into the normal spinster life everyone knew of her and had no plan to get involved in another mystery. The dagger on the dead body reminds her so much of the one lying in the British Museum.

She’s aware that the news reporter and authorities are already on the case because the murder happened outside a newspaper office, but the familiar dagger makes her curious about the case.

Beatrice can’t deny herself the opportunity to escape the house and visit the museum to confirm her suspicions. In the course of her investigations, she once again crosses paths with the Duke of Kresgrave, her sleuthing partner in Otley’s murder. Why is the Duke always on these murder mystery cases? The two team up once more to solve the case. This time, Bea dresses like a man and poses as the Duke’s steward. The bond between Beatrice and the Duke becomes stronger as they get to know each other.

Beatrice gains more respect for him as she sees the different aspects of his character. In turn, the Duke appears to have great respect for Beatrice’s intelligence and her no-nonsense character. He cherishes the time he spends with her as their romantic feelings towards one another start growing.
The story has more humor than the previous one and Bea’s family. There are so many laugh-out scenes throughout the book to keep you entertained.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Beatrice Hyde-Clare Mysteries

One Response to “Beatrice Hyde-Clare Mysteries”

  1. Kathleen Oneal-Wilson: 2 years ago

    I’ve listened to the Beatrice Hyde-Clare books multiple times and enjoyed them every time. This series is first on my list to see if a new one has come out. I love the writing and there will be many more to come.


Leave a Reply