Book Notification

Beautiful Creatures Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Beautiful Creatures Books

By: Kami Garcia, Margaret Stohl
Beautiful Creatures (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beautiful Darkness (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dream Dark (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beautiful Chaos (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beautiful Redemption (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Beautiful Creatures: The Untold Stories Books

By: Kami Garcia, Margaret Stohl
The Mortal Heart (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Seer's Spread (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Before the Claiming (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Gatlin Wedding (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Beautiful Creatures Graphic Novels

By: Kami Garcia, Margaret Stohl
Beautiful Creatures: The Manga (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Beautiful Creatures Companion Books

Beautiful Creatures: A BookCaps Study Guide (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

About The Beautiful Creatures:

The Beautiful Creatures series, also known as the Caster Chronicles, is a four-part young adult book series written by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl. Starting in 2009, they finished with the last novel in 2012. Each character seems to have his or her own special power, and has to fight the battle of good versus evil at some point. The books include the following titles: Beautiful Creatures (2009), Beautiful Darkness (2010), Beautiful Chaos (2011), and Beautiful Redemption (2012). The books are set in a fictional town called Gatlin in South Carolina. You won’t find this theme anywhere else: Southern gothic romance. This series stars Ethan Wate, a protagonist who finds himself wanting to stay in the town he once hated. And even though the girl he is madly in love with, Lena, is pushing him away, he will never give up hope. He continuously risks his life for this girl. Although some people compare this series to the modern “Twilight” saga, it is so much more deep and complex than that. The series is dark, romantic, dramatic, and even a bit humorous in some parts. It’s also much more original than your average love story; it’s written from a male’s point of view instead of the typical female’s. And why just stop at the first book? You’ll yourself so hooked that you’ll have to speed through all four books. This series is so well-liked that almost any review you find for it will be given four or five stars.

Beautiful Creatures- Book one

Ethan Wate is living in small Southern town by the name of Gatlin. He wants to escape more than anything, but something is holding him back. He has been having continuous dreams about a girl he’s never met before. Meanwhile Lena Duchannes, who Ethan has been unknowingly dreaming about, is struggling to hide her power and her family curse.

This book is written from the point of view of Ethan, who’s had a pretty tough life so far. He’s only a sophomore in high school and has been through so much already. His mother died and his father is drifting away. He begins having these strange dreams involving a girl he doesn’t even know. If that’s not weird enough, the girl, named Lena, suddenly moves to his town. She and her family are known as Casters- people with supernatural powers. The two start spending time together and are obviously in love. But in just six months ago on Lena’s sixteenth birthday, she will be in terrible danger. Now Ethan must stay in the town he so desperately wanted to get away from previously in order to save the love of his life.

Beautiful Darkess- Book two

The dreaded day of Lena’s sixteenth birthday has arrived, and she and Ethan have managed to live through it. But things aren’t as happy as they seem. Lena’s uncle has recently passed away and she is starting to pull away from Ethan’s tight grip. Worse yet, Ethan is the only person who can truly save her. Lena has started to spend time with a different male, so Ethan takes the time to learn the deep secrets about the town of Gatlin. A constant battle between “Light and Dark” is happening in the town, and they both want Lena on their team. Ethan never strays away from his love for Lena, and the two struggle to keep their relationship together amidst all of the town’s secrets and troubles. This book may seem like your typical plot of star-crossed lovers, one of whom just happen to have supernatural life-or-death powers, but you’ll find these books with an unbeatable fantasy twist.

Beautiful Chaos- Book Three

New and strange events are taking over the wild Southern town of Gatlin. Ethan thought he’d seen it all, but he’s in for a ride. Ethan now believes that he’s going crazy. Out of the blue, his memory starts failing and he can’t remember the simplest things. He ties it to some disturbing dreams he’s having where he is being haunted by (something). Lena has now “claimed” herself and the Caster and Mortal worlds are totally falling apart. An apocalypse seems to be swarming down on Gatlin. One thing must be noted about this third book of the series: do NOT skip ahead to the ending. It’s a major surprise that’ll knock you off your feet. As if the town of Gatlin turning upside down isn’t shocking enough, you’ll be in even more awe at the conclusion of the book.

Beautiful Redemption- Book four

This is the last and final book in this fantasy, Southern gothic book series. Ethan is now in a place called “Otherworld”, a world of the dead similar to Gatlin. Ethan discovers he “wasn’t supposed to die”, and is now desperate to fight his way back to Lena. This book incorporates death, dying, and acceptance in a very unique way that you won’t find in other fantasy novels. Lena never accepted that Ethan was gone forever, and it turns out that she was right. If you thought the ending was impressive to the other three books, wait until you read the ending of this final book in the series. This book is worth the wait because it sums up the previous three books, yet the unique plot is unmistakable.

Beautiful Creatures movie

The Beautiful Creatures movie came to USA theaters in February 2013. Directed by Richard LaGravenese, this movie successfully took the gothic fantasy series to the big screen. It contains some big names you’ve probably seen before: Alden Ehrenreich as Ethan Wate, Alice Englert as Lena Duchannes, and Jeremy Irons as Macon Ravenwood (Lena’s uncle who later passes away). Richard LaGravense is an Oscar nominee who also directed The Fisher King and P.S. I Love You. Beautiful Creatures came out on DVD and BluRay on May 21, 2013.


The Beautiful Creatures series will keep you in constant suspense and surprise. Each book has the amazing ability to be completely unique from the others, yet their plots tie in to the original plot. Beautiful Creatures is not your typical supernatural-fantasy-romance book. If you’re looking for a boring romance novel that you can put down after a few minutes, these books are not the option. Beautiful Creatures will have you wishing there was a fifth book in the series.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Beautiful Creatures

Leave a Reply