Book Notification

Becky Clark Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Crossword Puzzle Mystery Books

Puzzling Ink (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Punning with Scissors (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fatal Solutions (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Dunne Diehl Mysteries Books

with Ted Hardwick
Banana Bamboozle (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Marshmallow Mayhem (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Mystery Writer's Mystery Books

Fiction Can Be Murder (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Foul Play on Words (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Metaphor for Murder (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Police Navidad (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Sugar Mill Marketplace Mysteries Books

Booked at the Sugar Mill Marketplace (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Plotted at the Sugar Mill Marketplace (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bound at the Sugar Mill Marketplace (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

How To Lose Weight and Get Healthy Even If You're Lazy - 115 Painless Weight Loss Tips (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reading Maniac - Fun Ways To Encourage Reading Success (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lazy Low Cal Lifestyle Just Desserts Cookbook (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lazy Low Cal Lifestyle Complete Cookbook (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Whoever Reads the Most Books Wins: a journal for readers (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Eight Weeks to a Complete Novel: Write Faster, Write Better, Be More Organized (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Malice, Matrimony, & Murder(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Becky Clark
Becky Clark is the seventh out of eight children, which explains both her horrible table manners and her insatiable need to get attention.

She enjoys reading funny books, so it just felt natural for her to write them as well. Becky surrounds herself with quirky pets and people that end up becoming characters in her novels. Her stout-hearted dog protects her from menacing squirrels, deer, and leaves, just not plastic bags. Those are horrifying things.

Reading Nancy Drew books turned her into an avid mystery reader and she was absolutely crushed to learn that Carolyn Keene was not actually a real person.

During high school, when she read “To Kill a Mockingbird”, she believed that Harper Lee did a masterful job, writing such an important and lyrical novel with an amazing voice in Scout, but was surprised that was all she ever wrote. It reinforced in Becky the idea that writers are mystical, magical unicorns and she’d never comprehend them.

Becky’s always read across most of the genres, but when she found Carl Hiaasen, Janet Evanovich, Jen Lancaster, and Tim Dorsey, she finally felt as though she was in the company of like-minded folks and maybe she could possibly do something similar.

Becky’s debut novel, called “Fiction Can Be Murder”, was released in the year 2018. She writes the “Mystery Writer’s Mystery” series, the “Crossword Puzzle Mystery” series, and the “Dunne Diehl” series (with Ted Hardwick), as well as a non-fiction book.

“Fiction Can Be Murder” is the first novel in the “Mystery Writer’s Mystery” series and was released in the year 2018. Life gets stranger than fiction when Charlee’s recent novel inspires a real murder.

Charlemagne “Charlee” Russo, a mystery author, believes the strange murders and twisty plots in her novels are just the products of her imagination. Until her agent is discovered dead exactly as described in Charlee’s unpublished and new manuscript. Suspicion swirls all around her and her critique group, making her confidence drop just as unexpectedly and severely as her royalty payments.

The cops care a lot more about Charlee’s feeble alibi and her money issues than they do about her panicky claims of innocence. In order to clear her good name and revive her career, she has to figure out which of her buddies is the killer. Much easier said than done, even for this author that is skilled at creating some tidy conclusions to her mysteries. And while her sleuthing grows more dangerous, Charlee’s imagination begins working overtime. Could she be targeted as well?

“Foul Play on Words” is the second novel in the “Mystery Writer’s Mystery” series and was released in the year 2019. Between a double booking, a kidnapping, and a crew of hapless volunteers, Charlee’s worried about the writing conference going to the dogs.

Charlee has agreed to speak at a Portland writers’ conference that was organized by Viv Lundquist, her friend. When Viv picks her up at the airport, she explains frantically that Hanna, her daughter, has been kidnapped. Unfortunately, Viv’s got a history of embellishing the truth and Hanna’s got a history of vanishing.

Charlee takes the conference preparation over so that Viv can look for her daughter, however the situation gets more tense when the hotel double books this event with a dog show. Despite everything, Charlee is compelled to investigate after she discovers some shocking secrets about both Viv and Hanna. Could she find Hanna in time, or is a plot twist going to lead her to one ruff ending?

“Puzzling Ink” is the first novel in the “Crossword Puzzle Mystery” series and was released in the year 2020. One down, death by homicide. Starts with “M”, six letters.

Quinn Carr wishes that her life would be more like a crossword puzzle: orderly, neat, and perfectly arranged. At least her flair for words and her passion for puzzles, as well as her mild case of OCD, have landed her a job making crosswords for the local newspaper. If she ever hopes to move out of her parents’ home, she cannot give her day job as a waitress up. She needs the tips. A customer winds up dead at her table, face down in some biscuits and gravy. Quinn needs to get a clue to figure out whodunit.

It turns out that solving a homicide is much harder than creating a crossword puzzle. Quinn’s got plenty of suspects: across, up, and down. One of them is the owner of the diner that shares a culinary history with the victim, her boss. Two are ex-wives: the victim’s and her boss’. A third complication is the Chief of Police that refuses to allow too much investigation, preferring to keep up the pretense that there’s no crime in this town.

Quinn, in order to solve this mystery, must think outside the boxes. Before the murderer can get the last word in.

“Punning with Scissors” is the second novel in the “Crossword Puzzle Mystery” series and was released in the year 2021. One down: a person of interest. And a four letter word for “impale”.

Quinn Carr’s been quietly making crosswords for the Chestnut Station Chronicle in her tiny Colorado town since her days in high school. However, she has still yet to figure out how to make a living from this passion. So she lives with her parents and works at the local diner, catering to a charming albeit cranky group of elderly men, called The Retireds. The most recent member to join this group is Hugh Pugh the unfortunately named, newly retired tailor.

Hugh’s misfortune dramatically increases when he gets arrested for stabbing his husband with a pair of fabric shears. Quinn, with a cryptic crossword clue left at the crime scene, appears to be tailor-made for solving this murder. The local cops might be determined to just pin this crime on the kindly tailor, however Quinn’s going to use her penchant for solving puzzles and what her therapist dubs her “obsessive coping mechanism” to get the clues to line up and catch the real killer, before the culprit boxes her in.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Becky Clark

Leave a Reply