Book Notification

Belgariad Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Belgariad Books

Pawn of Prophecy (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
Queen of Sorcery (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
Magician's Gambit (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
Castle of Wizardry (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
Enchanters' End Game (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Malloreon Books

Guardians of the West (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
King of the Murgos (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Demon Lord of Karanda (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sorceress of Darshiva (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Seeress of Kell (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Belgariad & Malloreon Books

By: David Eddings, Leigh Eddings
Belgarath the Sorcerer (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Polgara the Sorceress (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rivan Codex (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Belgariad is a five-volume book series written by the American fantasy writer David Eddings. The entire series follows the mischievous journey of Garion and his team, as they pull all stops to recover a sacred stone that will be using against the main antagonist Kal Torak.

Each book title combines a fantasy term with a chess term, with the entire series being reprinted in two volume sets. Volume one contains the first three books, Pawn of Sorcery, Queen of Sorcery, and Magician’s Gambit, whereas volume two contains the last two books, Castle of Wizardry and Enchanters ‘End Game.’

Pawn of Prophecy

Pawn of Prophecy is the first book in the series. The book opens up by giving a brief prologue of past events, which starts with the seven gods coming together to create the world.

One of the seven gods, Aldur, carves an orb from a stone and, within it, creates a living soul. But one of his brothers, Torak, snatches the Orb from him and afterwards tries to use his powers to subdue his intelligence, only for the Orb to end up mutilating his left side of the body.

The Orb is then recovered by King Cherek, with the help of his sons and a sorcerer named Belgarath, and since Cherek’s youngest son, Riva, is the only one who can hold the orb unscathed or without being stoke by the gods, he and his descendants are assigned the responsibility of protecting the Orb from the malevolent god Torak.

The story then takes an earnest turn from there to draw us into the experiences of the main protagonist, Garion, by focusing on his childhood, the prosperous farm he owns, and his memories while in his aunt’s kitchen. It even goes ahead to talk about his friend Durnik, the games he used to play with his friends while growing up, and the romance they had with a local girl named Zubrette.

Somewhere in the middle of the first chapter, the story zones in a little bit to the early life of Belgarath, who is then a wondering storyteller using the ‘Mister Wolf’ moniker.

The book then moves to take readers to the telepathic vision Garion has concerning antagonist Asharak. The vision comes in form of a dry voice that’s very distinct from Garion’s own distinct consciousness. It’s through this that we learn about the actual prophecy.

Belgrath alias Mister wolf later on comes with disturbing news concerning the theft of the Orb, which he refers to as the mystery object. He, alongside Aunt Pol, and Garion have to leave Faldor’s farm in pursuit of the thief. Durnik offers to accompany them, which they accept, though reluctantly.

On the way, they are joined by Silk, a Drasnian spy who happens to be also a thief and prince, and Barak, a Cherek Duke.

Confused, Mister Wolf accidentally misleads the group, taking them through a path that would eventually get them arrested and taken to a panel of monarch for hearing. It’s there that Garion starts suspecting the green-cloaked individual of treason.

Days later, Garion and Barak are out hunting, when Garion overhears the green-cloaked discussing about espionage. But before Garion can report what he overheard to anyone, he’s mysteriously attacked by a boar. Luckily for him, Barak rushes to his aid and slains the boar after assuming into a bear.

Garion eventually succeeds in exposing the green-cloak spy, starting a war that will eventually end with the spy’s patrons getting defeated. Garion is almost captured, but out of luck, he manages to escape unharmed.

The group later leaves to continue with their search for the Orb, but with an Algarian prince named Hettar in tow. While leaving, it’s revealed to Garion that Polgara is actually Belgarath’s daughter and sister to his distant ancestor, identified as the wife of Riva in the prologue. This makes Polgara Garion’s aunt, and Belgarath, his grandfather.

Queen of Sorcery

The second book in the series, Queen of Socery, opens up in Arendia, where we are shown Garion befriending a master archer going by the name Lelldorin.

The party sets out for Lelldorin’s uncle’s manor house, where Garison learns about a scheme to assassinate King Korodullin, all in an effort to get the neighbouring country into a war. This plot is masterminded by a Cthol Murgos’ spy named Nachak.

Shortly after learning about the plot, Garion and his group are joined by Korodullin’s knight, Mandorallen.

Garion and his company later leaves for Vo Mimbre, the capital city of Arendish, where Garion exposes a plot to kill Korodullin, but refuses to name its conspirators. In light of this, Mandorallen is forced to challenge Nachak to a duel, a fight Hettar terminates shortly after by killing Nachak.

The party then leaves for Tolnedra to have a meeting with Emperor Ran Borune. But along the way, they are nearly apprehended by mercenaries claiming to work for the neighbouring Queen of Nyissa.

They eventually make it to Tol Honeth, the capital of Tolnedra, where Belgarath and Polgara take it upon themselves to urge the emperor to rid the city of the raiding Murgos. But the emperor refuses.

And as the group is leaving, they bump into Ryan Borune’s daughter, the princess of Ce’Nedra, ineffectually disguised. Together, they take a detour to Dryads woods, hoping to steal their way through Nyissa before Zedar makes an invasion.

While in the woods, Ce’Nedra tries to convince the Dryad Queen to give them sanctuary, citing common ancestry, but the queen refuses. The group is forced to split their way as they pass through the capital of Sthiss, Tor. But they are all captured and detained by legionnaires from Tolnedran under the orders of Grand Duke Kador, who’s being accompanied by Asharak.

Asharak demands to be given Ce’Nedra as a trade-off for Kador’s throne. He even goes ahead to slap Polgara when she tries to intervene, forcing Garion to incinerate him. Grand Duke Kador is then captured by his soldiers and taken to prison.

The group then takes a boat to Nyissa. Angry at the way slaves are being treated there, Garion uses the power of will and the Word (a trick he learned from Belgarath, Polgara and a number of other magicians) to save one by teleporting him.

Polgara is riled up by the act, in light of which they end up exchanging nasty words. But in the process, they are ambushed and Garion kidnapped, drugged and offered to Queen Salmissra as a gift.

Barak and Polgara team up and successfully manage to rescue Garion, and with Issa’s permission, Polgara transforms Salmissra into a snake. Garion and Polgara are thereafter reconciled.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Belgariad

Leave a Reply