Book Notification

Ben Osborne Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Danny Rawlings Mysteries Books

The Hyperion Legacy (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rule of Lazari (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fourth Last (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Triptych (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Out of the Shallows (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Nine (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Glint Among the Bones (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
XII (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Kincsem Prophecy (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gatekeeper (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

The British author Ben Osborne is well known for his ability when crafting an intricately woven narrative alongside strong and resourceful characters driving the stories forwards, building ongoing series, franchises and story arcs that really resonate with his many readers worldwide. With a background as a horse-racing writer, he is was a well regarded novelist prior to becoming a full-time writer of thriller and mystery novels. Primarily known for his ‘Danny Rawlings’ series of novels, he has been able to create a driven and engaging leading protagonist, one which many readers have become engrossed in over the years, gaining legions of followers globally. Turning to the subject of horse racing time-and-time again too, he uses it as an ongoing theme running throughout his work, allowing it to drive the narrative of most of his fiction. This is especially true for that of his Danny Rawlings novels, which are set firmly within the world of horse racing, creating a franchise that’s set in world that he definitely knows inside-out. Giving his work a high degree of authenticity, this has allowed him to write with a high degree of authenticity and accuracy, allowing his work to become far more realistic in the process. It is also his characters that are extremely well drawn too, as they really come to life off of the page, really letting the reader immerse themselves deep within their world, as they really feel as if they get to know him over the course of the novel. Looking at the life and exploits of racehorse trainer Danny Rawlings mainly, his main series focuses on this particular character as he finds himself embroiled in a running series of mysteries. With a clear gift for suspense and tension, Ben Osborne as a writer really manages to evoke a strong atmosphere as a writer, something which he will continue for many years to come.

Early and Personal Life

Born in December, 1974, the British author to be Ben Osborne would grow up with both a passion for literature and the horses. Going on to Cardiff University, he would graduate in 1996 with a degree in Accounting and Economics. This would lead him into writing about the world of horse-racing, as he would become a journalist on the subject, before becoming a writer which he continues to this very day.

Writing Career

Bringing out his first book in 2008, Ben Osborne would make his entry onto the scene with the title ‘The Hyperion Legacy’. This would also be the first in the long-running ‘Danny Rawlings Mysteries’ series, of which there’d be another seven to follow. Contributing to various publications, such as ‘The Racing Post’, ‘The South Wales Evening Post’ and the ‘Racing and Football Outlook’, he has made a strong name for himself, something which he’ll build upon in the subsequent years to follow.

The Fourth Last

Originally published on the Kindle platform, this was initially released in 2011 on the 29th of November to much acclaim, as it marked the third title in the Danny Rawlings series of novels. Continuing on from the previous two novels, it manages to provide yet another mystery in the fast paced world of horse racing. Further developing the characters and the world, it really manages to build upon what came before, as it is a must for any fans of the genre and the series.

Showing the clear affinity that Ben Osborne has for the world of horse racing, this is definitely a novel that is both confident and articulate in its stride. Further developing the character of Danny Rawlings himself, it continues with another mystery for the eponymous trainer and amateur sleuth to solve. The world of horse racing itself is also fully realized too, bringing it into full color, as Osborne really makes the most of it as the book progresses.

Taking place in the area of South Wales in the United Kingdom, this sees a string of armed raids hitting a number of bookmakers throughout the region. That’s when Danny Rawlings comes into contact with a highly secretive and mysterious new owner known only as ‘The Jaguar’, as he is promised a life of riches and wealth. This could threaten the safety of everyone around him including his family and friends, which will all come to a climax as he faces up to the oncoming Grand National and his new boss. Will he discover the truth? Can he keep himself and his loved ones safe? Who will be the fourth last?

The Lost Triptych

Arriving on the Kindle once more, this provides yet another thrilling installment in the long-running Danny Rawlings franchise, as it marks the fourth one in the ongoing series. It not only builds upon what came before, but it also works at taking it in an entirely new direction, keeping it fresh and exciting in the process. Released on the 14th of December in 2011, it was published not long after the first, providing another exciting mystery for the eponymous sleuth horse trainer.

Once again this really makes the most of the world of horse racing and all that it has to offer the thriller and mystery novel as a genre. Danny Rawling himself is not only a gifted trainer, but a sharp and astute sleuth, something which allows him to delve deeper into the world of horse racing. With a whole range of supporting characters too, it’s a richly drawn world that definitely manages to come into its own over the course of the book.

Coming into contact with a thought to be long forgotten era and chapter in horse racing history, Danny Rawling is being forced to confront an era that could threaten his safety, as he discovers a long lost triptych. Holding countless secrets, he must now deal not only with the secrets of the past, but his own marriage potentially falling apart, along with a new punter that seems to be having an endless losing streak at the stables. With a raid on the Velka Pardubicka steeplechase taking place, Danny must come to terms with the fact there is more on the line than just prize money, as he is close to reaching breaking point. Will he discover the truth behind the punter and the raid? Can he save himself and his marriage? What secrets lie behind the lost triptych?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Ben Osborne

Leave a Reply