Book Notification

Benjamin Percy Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Comet Cycle Books

The Ninth Metal (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Unfamiliar Garden (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sky Vault (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Language of Elk (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Refresh, Refresh (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Suicide Woods (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Graphic Novels

with Brett Booth, Larry Hama, Phil Hester, Carlo Pagulayan, Paul Pelletier, Khoi Pham, Christopher J. Priest, Kenneth Rocafort, Minkyu Jung, V. Kenneth Marion, Norm Rapmund
Titans: The Lazarus Contract (With: Brett Booth,Larry Hama,Phil Hester,Carlo Pagulayan,Paul Pelletier,Khoi Pham,Christopher J. Priest,Kenneth Rocafort,Minkyu Jung,V. Kenneth Marion,Norm Rapmund) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
American Criminal (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Predator (Marvel Comics) Books

Predator Versus Wolverine (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Selected Shorts: Wartime Lives(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Monsters of Literary Sightings(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Astoria to Zion(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
xo Orpheus(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The New Black(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mixed Up: Cocktail Recipes (and Flash Fiction) for the Discerning Drinker(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tales Through the Marvel Universe(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
When Things Get Dark(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reign of X Vol. 6(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reign Of X Vol. 9(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reign Of X Vol. 16(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reign Of X Vol. 18(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
This Side of the Divide(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Christmas and Other Horrors(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Benjamin Percy was born on March 28, 1979 in Eugene, Oregon. Early in his life, he lived in Hawaii for a short time. Then, his family moved over to Tumalo, Oregon (while he was in the fourth grade), where he would stay until his high school graduation.

He graduated from Brown University with a degree in English and Creative Writing. He did his graduate work at Southern Illinois University, and got a Master of Fine Arts in the subject of Creative Writing, it included a teaching fellowship.

After teaching courses at some colleges, he left to focus on writing full time. That being said, he still remains active on the lecture circuit and teaches at festivals and conferences like the Tin House Writers’ Conference.

He writes comic books, novels, essays, and short stories. His non-fiction book “Thrill Me” is taught in quite a bit in creative writing classes since it was released in the year 2016. Percy made his debut in comics in the year 2014, after he penned a two issue Batman arc for Detective Comics. His first novel was released in the year 2010 and was called “The Wilding”; it followed two short story collections.

Benjamin Percy is a part of WGA screenwriters’ guild, and he has sold some scripts to Starz and FOX.

Honors include a Whiting Writers’ Award, the Plimpton Prize, two Pushcart Prizes, and has gotten many other nominations for different awards.

“The Wilding” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2010. Echo Canyon is a piece of wilderness that is going away and is located near Bend, Oregon. It is also a place of some conflicting memories for both Paul and his son Justin Caves. It is about to be redeveloped for a golfing resort. Paul suggests they go there for a final hunting trip there, and Justin accepts the offer. He hopes he and his father can make things right, and agrees to bring his son Graham on the trip.

As the weekend continues, Justin gets pushed to his limit by his father’s reckless taunting, all that the terrain demands of him physically, and evidence of a bear. He recalls that he made a promise to his skeptical wife about protecting their son on the trip.

There are some interesting characters in this book, and the author does a great job here getting into the minds of each character. Fans of the novel found this to be quite scary, and about fear of certain things. Things like crime, war, heritage and wilderness, of divorce, death of loved ones. You are on the edge of your seat for much of the book and left guessing about what happens to everyone until the end. This is done by using a first person perspective that makes the reading more visceral.

“Red Moon” is the second stand alone novel and was released in the year 2013. Werewolves live among humans; as neighbors, lovers, and mothers. They shift. Some government agents go and kick down the door of Claire Forrester and kill her parents. It tells her how different she really is.

Patrick Gamble was not at all special until he got on an airplane, and then stepped off of it as the only one left alive. It made him a hero. Chase Williams made a vow to keep the citizens of America safe from the menace among them, but he has turned into that which he said hewould destroy.

Drugs, violence, and laws contain the threat, but that will change soon. The night of the red moon draws near. It will start a world that people will not recognize, and start a big battle for humanity.

Some found that this was the first book in a while that they had read that really pulled them into things and got them hooked on everything that was going on in the book. Fans of the novel found they could not stop thinking about the book, after they had read it; as it is simply an epic werewolf story. This is simply a great story that horrified some readers with certain elements that are found in the book. This is a book that draws readers in and gives them an old premise and makes it seem quite fresh. Some readers cannot say enough nice things about Benjamin Percy’s ability to write an incredible novel, and this one is no exception to that.

“The Dead Lands” is the third stand alone novel and was released in the year 2015. The combination of a super flu and nuclear fallout make the world a shadow of what it used to be. Some humans live on, and live in outposts (like one called the Sanctuary, it is what used to be St. Louis). It is a heavily guarded group of people owes the fact that it is still around to some leaders who deal in fear and defend militantly.

A rider comes to them from the wasteland from outside the Sanctuary’s walls. She has a report for what is going on in the outside world. There is rain fall, crops growing, and a thriving civilization. There is some danger as well; a rising army goes around pillaging and enslaving the communities that they come upon.

A tiny group goes off in secrecy, going against what the Sanctuary wants. They are led by Mina Clark and Lewis Meriwether and hope they can expand their tiny nation. It is an attempt to reunite all the States. The Sanctuary is not just going to let them escape without fighting with them.

This is simply a fun novel that will entertain readers. Fans of the novel found this to be fantastic, as it had a lot of things they like to find in books they read. Some felt this was so vividly described that you could actually see what the world being created in your mind. Percy does a great job of drawing readers in from the first page, and giving them a great story that never dips at any point while they read it. He also does an incredible job of writing about characters, as he holds nothing back in trying to make sure there are living breathing characters to read about.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Benjamin Percy

Leave a Reply