Book Notification

Benny Imura Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Benny Imura Books

Rot & Ruin (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
In The Land Of The Dead (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dust & Decay (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
First Night Memories (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flesh & Bone (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fire & Ash (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bits & Pieces (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Benny Imura Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Benny Imura Collections

Tales of the Rot & Ruin (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Well known for his horror fiction, American author Jonathan Maberry is a renowned writer not just of young adult fiction, but of comic books as well, having written for such acclaimed labels as Marvel with their popular Black Panther series. A gifted writer with an easily accessible style, he’s gained both critical and commercial success over the years for his contributions to the genre, something which isn’t changing anytime soon. One such series that he’s become particularly well known for is that of the Benny Imura line of books, a popular collection of science-fiction novels set in the aftermath of a zombie outbreak.

Set over a course of four novels, this particular series ran between 2010 and 2013 providing the entire story of an apocalyptic society in the wake of a zombie outbreak and how people are making amends with that. Following the exploits of one Benny Imura, it charts his progress through this world and how, as the central eponymous protagonist, he comes to terms with this society as a whole. Gaining a warm reception by critics and readers alike, this series continues to attract audiences worldwide due to its contemporary themes and well drawn characters who are easy to relate to.

Rot and Ruin

First published on the 14th of September, 2010, this was to be the book that initially set-up the series as a whole giving it its voice, style and tone for the books that were to follow. Establish the setting, along with the eponymous protagonist of Benny Imura himself, it manages to effectively introduce the reader to not only the world he inhabits, but who he is as a person as well. Creating the overall arc too, it sets itself up in bringing to life a both vibrant and colorful universe which their are various themes explored and ideas that are constantly revisited over the novels progress.

The character of Benny Imura himself is a young fifteen year old boy who, up until this point in his life, has quietly resided within the town of Mountainside, California. Needing money and a job though, he finds himself reluctantly going into the zombie hunting business with his brother in order to make ends meet. Tall, skinny and lean, he’s not the typical action prone gun toting zombie hunter, but he learns quickly over the course of the novel despite all this to become a highly competent zombie killer. The others in his life also help him along the way making sure that they’re watching out for each other and building bonds as the book progresses towards its final climax. Characters such as Nix Riley, a fourteen year old girl who has a crush on Benny as well as being his good friend, are seen at his side throughout the story. There’s also characters like Lou Chong and Morgie Mitchell who are his best friends and also manage to keep a lookout for him as well within the book.

In their search for job Benny is desperately against being a zombie hunter, but he finally relents after his friend Chong gets a job as zombie lookout. He then goes out into the ‘Rot and Ruin’ where the zombies are and soon comes to realize that they might not be the monsters that he first thought them to be. Traveling beyond the fence with his brother they take a journey across the wilderness and he begins to realize some home truths about his brother that he didn’t understand before their departure. Will they be able to survive their trip and does Benny have what it takes to make it as a skilled zombie hunter, especially after his given training? Just who is the lost girl and how is she surviving out in the Rot and Ruin all on her own in the face of the zombie outbreak taking hold of everyone? What will become of them all as begin to even try and make sense of the true horror that has now come to be known only as the Rot and Ruin?

Dust and Decay

Initially published on the 30th of August, 2011, this was to be the second book in the series following on directly from the first, as it continued the adventures of Benny Imura. Setting up his next story, this deals with the fallout of the events of the first and how everyone is coming to terms with what happened there, as they all try to move on. Creating a whole new style and tone for the book, it still manages to retain what made the first work, despite everyone being a little more weary of the world they now inhabit, something which is clearly reflected in the stories narrative arc.

Following on from the battle that ended the last book, the central protagonists must come to terms with what they have witnessed up there in the mountains surrounded by the zombie infestation. With Nix Riley, Benny Imura and her must use their months of zombie hunting training to take down hordes of zombies in their search for a better life, given all that they’ve seen. Then there’s a zombie attack in the town with many losing their lives in the process, which leaves them on the run from all manner of dangers that now pursue them. Will they be able to escape the peril that torments them? Can they find a better life? What will become of them as they leave behind the dust and decay?

The Benny Imura Series

Winning awards during its run, this series has had a lasting impact upon the genre with audiences growing both nationally and internationally for the books. Keeping a keen eye on their eponymous protagonist, they’re well structured in both their narrative layout and their strong sense of characterizations that maintain a well-paced rhythm throughout. This is something that many readers have found easy to relate to as more and more people have turned towards the series giving it an even greater reception. With Jonathan Maberry’s writing career still growing strong, this contribution has left a lasting impact on the field of science-fiction and will continue to do so in the many years to come.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Benny Imura

Leave a Reply