Bernard Samson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bernard Samson Books

Berlin Game (1983)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Mexico Set (1985)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
London Match (1985)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Winter: A Berlin Family, 1899-1945 (1987)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Spy Hook (1988)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Spy Line (1989)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Spy Sinker (1990)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Faith (1994)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hope (1995)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Charity (1996)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Bernard Samson a middle aged kind of jaded character that is an intelligence officer that works for the elite intelligence agency known as SIS (Secret Intelligence Service). This agency is also reffered to as The Department in this fast paced three trilogy series of novels by Len Deighton. Being the main character in this three trilogy series which is set in the period of the years between 1983 to 1988. The first trilogy of the three comprises of the books Berlin Game, Mexico Set and London Match. These first three as as action packed and thrilling as the other two. The second trilogy consists of Spy Hook, Spy Line and Spy Sinker. These second set is also engaging and Len Deighton does a very windfall job of keeping the storyline centered around Bernard Samson alive and thrilling. The third trilogy comprises of Faith, Hope and Charity. These trilogies mainly revolve around Fiona, Bernard’s wife who apparently is also an intelligence officer and after she defects to the East Germans in the first set of the three trilogies, the question of who she is working for emerges and Bernard’s superiors also question his loyalty with respect to the wife’s defection. Bernard is litteraly ignored by his seniors at the intelligence agency and any chance of promotion is given to other agents instead of him, he also has to sacrifice a lot as he is even sent to Berlin on Christmas. His superiors seem to be on a motive to gradually extinguish him from the agency but Bernard is a bit clever than they credit him for. This scenario is played out in the first set of the trilogies. Bernard is painted out to be disrespectful to his seniors at the agency and also any of his promoted colleagues that are also ambitious. Deighton’s imaginative power in this thriller is really exciting and really sets the pace for the amazing life of Bernard that you will see in the rest of the books. Bernard Is the son of Samson, Brian who was a British Secret Intelligent service agent that worked in Germany when the World War tw was underway and then became the head of the Field Unit in Berlin when the war was eventually over.

Bernard was raised up in the post-world-war-2 period in Berlin which was before the wall was constructed that separated the East from West Germany. He got a normal German education background instead of the privileged English one and so to say he never went up to the University level for his education. Despite his fluency in German, he is seen as a British by the Germans and consequently, the British see him as a German which leaves him at crossroads on which nation his allegiance lies. Having vast experience in this field because of the fact that he worked for his father from a very tender age with his best friend Volkmann Werner serving as couriers while making aments to the intelligence agents who were doing espionage odd related jobs. This subsequently allowed Bernard to make acquaintances that he would later use while in the field as a real operative agent of the SIS or what is known as The Department. Bernard decided to relinquish his job as a field agent in Berlin after a botched mission where a friend was executed and he escaped very narrowly to the West German side. He opts to drinking as a solution for the nightmares that he has been suffering as a result of the violence that he has witnessed and gone through. He had high hopes of getting the German Desk job but his superiors passed him for an Oxford agent known as Dicky Cruyer who has no experience in the field at all. He now has to work for Dicky, running his errands but he believes Dicky is dangerous as a result of his incompetence in the field of service. Bernard is also being continually tipped that he will take over the Field Unit in Berlin if it’s head, Frank Harrington retires.

Bernard’s childhood friend Werner has been fired by The Department. This is as a result of the KGB ending up with a creating cable that he was to deliver somewhere else. At the beginning of the novels, Fiona, Bernard’s wife, who went to Oxford with Dicky (The head of the German Desk) and she is rising to the top in The Department. She is widely admired throughout the whole Department but she got her job through Bernard’s connections there. Almost everything that has happening to Bernard has been to keep him in the dark so his wife can carry out her real missio. He is certainly led to believe that she has been working for the KGB who had used and gotten rid of him by betraying his missions with the hope of keeping him safe and then ran to the East. This news had put him in a cynical mood and is really butter towards his superiors at The Department. Bernard is arrogant and by his disrespect to his superiors as he considers them desk men and he thinks he knows better than them. He is distrustful of everyone in The Department except his childhood friend Werner. His paranoid and secretive behavior in most cases keeps him alive but this also lands him in a lot of ruble with his superiors and constantly puts everyone around him in harm’s way. Bernard’s character in the series is portrayed as being arrogant and regards himself too experienced for his superiors. He is also biased in his judgement with regards to his superiors. In the sixth novel, Spy Sinker, the book is written from a third person’s perspective and Bernard Samson’s character is painted in the picture of what he really is with respect to how reliable he is as the narrator when assessing his colleagues’ motives and ability to handle their respective positions in The Department. This series of novels is awesome work by Len Deighton and keeps you on the edge of your seat all through the books. You have to love Bernard’s character and the stuff that happens in his life.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Bernard Samson

Leave a Reply