Book Notification

Beth Gutcheon Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Maggie Detweiler and Hope Babbin Books

Death at Breakfast (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Affliction (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The New Girls (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
Still Missing/Without a Trace (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
Domestic Pleasures (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Saying Grace (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Five Fortunes (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
More Than You Know (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Leeway Cottage (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Good-bye and Amen (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gossip (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Perfect Patchwork Primer (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon

Beth Gutcheon is a reputed novelist from the United States, who has interests in writing novels of the literature & fiction, Mystery, crafts and hobbies, thriller, and cozy mystery genres. She is particularly well known for writing the Maggie Detweiler & Hop Babbin novel series. Author Gutcheon has penned just 2 books in this new series. She is currently working on developing a few novels in the coming months as parts of this witty and stylish mystery series. Prior to trying her hand at writing mystery genre stories, author Gutcheon used to focus mainly on the fiction novels. And now that she has tasted success with this series’ both the books, she feels enthusiastic and confident to continue working in this genre. A more important reason for the series’ success is its two main characters, Hope Babbin and Maggie Detweiler.

Author Gutcheon has described Maggie Detweiler as a retired head of a private school in New York City, who intends to spend the rest of her life by visiting peaceful locations on numerous vacations. But, she goes through a change of path and gets involved in sleuthing activities to investigate about the mysterious murders that keep taking place wherever she goes. Hope Babbin is shown as a society matron, who assists Maggie Detweiler in her investigations. The two form a pair of the most unlikely investigators, yet they find success in catching the culprits and making them pay for their crimes in each of the cases they take up for sleuthing. Gutcheon has done the setting of the mystery books in the small town of New England.

Author Gutcheon is a resident of Pennsylvania. She completed her graduation from the Harvard University and earned a BA honors degree in English literature. Gutcheon has stayed in the New York City through most of the adult phase of her life, except for the sojourns when she lived near Maine’s coasts and in San Francisco. In the year 1978, author Gutcheon took up a project for writing the narration of a feature length documentary on the ballet school of Kirov called The Children on the Theatre Street. This narration went on to be nominated for the Academy Award. Since then, author Gutcheon has been earning her livelihood by working as a full time storyteller. Most of the times she is a novelist and takes to screenwriting on certain occasions. The novels penned by Gutcheon have been translated into as many as 14 foreign languages. Many of them have also been released in the audio and large print formats.

One of her popular books, Still Missing, has been adapted into a Hollywood feature film by the name of ‘Without a Trace’. The book was also published in the Condensed version of Reader’s Digest. A few of Gutcheon’s novels have made it to the lists of national bestsellers. The most recent of her novels to achieve this success is Leeway Cottage. All the novels author Gutcheon are available in the edition of the new uniform paperback from the HarerPerennial. Gutcheon takes a great pride in knowing that her books are included in national bestseller lists. She wishes to continue writing many more exciting stories for her fans across the world. Gutcheon has lined up several of her completed projects for release in the days to come.

The debut book of the Maggir Detweiler and Hope Babbin series written by author Beth Gutcheon is entitled ‘Death at Breakfast’. It was released by the William Morrow publishers in the year 2016. The book consists of the primary characters in the roles of Maggie Detweiler, Buster Babbin, Hope Babbin, Lisa Antippas, Alexander Antippas, Glory, etc. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that Maggie Detweiler retires from her job as a private school’s head and joins her long time friend, Hope Babbin, to go on a one-week holiday to Maine. The two intend to visit the son of Hope Babbin as well as enroll for a cooking class at Oquossoc Mountain hotel. They look forward to a peaceful vacation without any tragedies. However, their peaceful vacation gets disrupted when Alexander & Lisa Antippas arrive at the hotel along with Lisa’s sister named Glory.

Lisa and Alexander are boorish couple and among the slightly known people from Hollywood. They are also parents to the recent pop sensation and teen icon named Artemis. The family begins to experience discord and disaster as soon as they check in at the picturesque inn. A late night fire breaks out at the hotel, which is followed by the discovery of Alex’s charred body. Buster Babbin is called in to investigate the suspicious fire incident and Alex’s shocking death. Buster is the son of Hope Babbin and Maggie’s former student. He has been estranged with Hope for a very long time. Buster Babbin looks at this case as an easy one to solve and find success at the very beginning of his new job of deputy sheriff. However, Maggie and Hope think there a deep mystery in the case, which they can tell from their years of experience of observing the human nature. They also seem somewhat cynical about the justice system of the small town. So, they decide that they have to investigate the case on their own in order to get to the prime culprit and let justice be served. The book appears to be quite engaging and full of entertainment right from its first word. Readers from across the globe liked it very much and appreciated the characters and the overall story.

The next installment of this series is called ‘The Affliction’. It was also released by William Morrow in 2018. The lead characters of this particular book are mentioned as Florence Meagher, Maggie Detweiler, Ray Meagher, Hope Babbin, and several others. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that Maggie Detweiler becomes even busier after her retirement. She gets included in a team of evaluators to look into the faltering girls’ school, Rye Manor. The evaluators, including Maggie, have to decide whether there is any future for the school or not. A reception is organized for welcoming the evaluating team and Florence Meagher hopes everything goes well.

Florence is a faculty at the school is very much respected and loved in spite of having the habit of talking too much. Florence is dedicated towards her job and wants the school to continue to run. When Maggie arrives at a morning class to observe the teaching of Florence, she finds that Florence has mysteriously disappeared. Ray Meagher, Florence’s husband, seems very much annoyed at this incident. Later, Florence’s dead body is discovered from the swimming pool of the school. Maggie begins to investigate and find out the cause of Florence’s death. Her sister informs Maggie that there were tensions going on between Ray and Florence, and suspects that Ray has a hand in her sister’s death. Hope and Maggie join hands once again to look for the main culprit and solve the mystery.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Beth Gutcheon

One Response to “Beth Gutcheon”

  1. Mary Williams: 2 years ago

    Just finished this book and I love your characters. The story was great and was actually sad that it was Sarah, as I liked her!


Leave a Reply