Book Notification

Betwixt & Between Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Betwixt & Between Books

Betwixt & Between series by Darynda Jones
Author Darynda Jones writes the “Betwixt & Between” series of paranormal romance novels.

The books are paranormal women’s fiction with just a bit of class, a whole lot of sass, for anybody that feels like age is only a number. It is a series filled with shifters, witches, and mouthwatering apparitions to set your imagination (along with other parts) on fire.

“Betwixt” is the first novel in the “Betwixt & Between” series and was released in 2020. Defiance Dayne is destitute, divorced, and desperate and learns that she has been bequeathed this house by some total stranger. She’s surprised, to say the very least, and her curiosity gets the better of her. She leaves her beloved town of Phoenix and heads to one of the most infamous towns in all of America: Salem, Massachusetts.

Defiance is just there to learn why a woman she has never met before would leave her a house. It’s a veritable castle which has seen better days. She could not possibly accept it, however the attorney that’s been assigned this case practically begs her to take it off her hands, primarily because she is so afraid of it. The house. The inanimate structure which, near as Dephne can tell, has never even hurt a fly.

Even though it does come with a bit of baggage. A handyman bathed in ink that could moonlight as a supermodel for GQ, a pesky neighbor that wants her gone, and a scruffy kitty that is a bit of a jerk. She figures she can stick around for three days, but not because of the model. Because she feels safe in Salem. At home. However that even comes to a screeching halt once people start knocking on her door at all hours, begging her to help locate their lost objects.

Come to find out, they believe she is a witch. And after just a few mysterious mishaps, she is starting to wonder if they are right.

Readers liked the banter between characters, and how fun and easy of a read. It hooks you right from the start, and once you’re introduced to the mysterious handyman, you’ll just slip away and devour this one in just a single sitting.

“Bewitched” is the second novel in the “Betwixt & Between” series and was released in 2020. Defiance Dayne, forty-something, just learned that she comes from this long line of powerful witches. Added to this was the small fact that she is what is known as a charmling. One of just three on the whole planet. And there some other witches that will stop at nothing to steal this immense power, something that would basically involve her untimely and unfortunate death.

Nobody told her that life after forty would mean she’d have to learn some new life skills, like how to survive a witch hunter that’s dead set on murdering her, or that the sexiest man alive would be living down in her basement.

Whomever said that life starts at forty was obviously a master of the underappreciated and oft maligned understatement.

“Beguiled” is the third novel in the “Betwixt & Between” series and was released in 2021. Defiance Dayne, a newly indoctrinated witch, learns that there is more to life after forty than she had ever imagined was possible. Particularly if one is a charming, one of just three in the entire world, with enough magics to make her a target for every single power hungry warlock currently out there. One of them sends a hunter into town, she knows that it is high time she take her talents more seriously before this hunter finally takes her life.

She figures she’s got three things to do before she can finally die. Teach her BFF the finer points of spellcasting before she succeeds in blowing the world up, learn who killed her beloved grandma, and figure out just how serious her relationship with the Adonis that’s living down in her basement actually is. If it is in fact heading in the direction that she is hoping for, then she can die happy. Although she would rather not, admittedly. Die, that is. Happy or otherwise.

None of that’s going to matter, however, if she cannot figure out how to foil the supernatural assassin that has been sent to murder her. Up until then, it is business (and romance, hopefully) as usual. Now if she can just figure out how to tame a lacuna wolf.

“Moonlight and Magic” is the fourth novel in the “Betwixt & Between” series and was released in 2022. Annette Osmund, forty-something, has always known that she was psychic. She is not, however that did not keep her from giving those non-existent abilities her all. What she is, though, is an incredibly powerful witch that has just inherited magics that she never imagined possible.

Beginning again in a new town with her BFF has been quite the adventure. Her BFF’s status as a powerful sort of witch called a charmling has kept Annette busy. However while Defiance, who is a seeker, is still learning how to use her magics, Annette is taken over by these powers of her own. It turns out that being besties with Defiance was not some accident. They were, in fact, drawn to one another even before their powers could emerge. However how could this have even happened?

Fortunately, there is just one way to figure that out. She confronts her mom, since the one way she could be a charmling is to inherit her power, and her dad, while a wonderful man, is hardly a magical being. However there’s somebody else that wants to know where she got her powers from also: this delicious entity that has been following every move she makes.

When this dangerous organization threatens each and everything she loves, she can either use her magics to vanquish this entity out of her life, or learn to work with him. However working together with him could cost her the one thing that she has been keeping safe for years now: her own heart.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Betwixt & Between

Leave a Reply