Book Notification

Beverly Allen Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bridal Bouquet Shop Mysteries Books

Bloom and Doom (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
For Whom the Bluebell Tolls (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Floral Depravity (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Parable Theater I (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fun and Prophet! (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Barbara Early Short Story Collections

Parable Theater I (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fun and Prophet! (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Beverly Allen, also known as Barbara Early was born on February 13, 1965 in North Tonawanda, New York in the United States. The name Beverly is a pseudonym of Barbara Early because when she says “Barb Early” in a noisy room or too quickly, people hear “Beverly.” That aside. Beverly Allen is the author of three books in the Bridal Bouquet Shop Mystery series. Her first book in this hooking mystery series is “Bloom and Doom”. The second book is “For Whom the Bluebell Tolls,” and the third book is “Floral Depravity”. Beverly currently lives in Western New York state with her understanding and ever-patient husband and of course three naughty but truly adorable cats.

Beverly Allen-Books Review

1. Bloom and Doom

In her first book in the series “Bridal Bouquet Shop Mystery”, Beverly introduces us Audrey Bloom- the co-owner of the Rose in Bloom flower shop. Audrey alongside her cousin Liv, create beautiful flower arrangements for those aspiring to be brides. Popularly known as the designer of captivating bridal bouquets-majority of which are based on the Victorian meanings behind each flower, Audrey is used to celebrations that end up happily. In fact, every couple Audrey has worked with is still together, living blissfully. Nevertheless, her faultless record is under the threat of being shuttered to pieces.

Her childhood ally, Jenny Whitney has fallen in love with Derek-the most eligible bachelor in Ramble, Virginia. Jenny has hired the experienced Audrey to design an outstanding bouquet for her wedding with Derek. However, before Jenny happily walks down the aisle, tightly clutching her blend of scabious, pussy willow and anemone, she comes to Audrey stating that she has broken her engagement with Derek based on her personal concerns. Concurrently, the bride is found dead, apparently sprinkled with bits of Jenny’s bouquet.

This is truly bad news for Audrey’s booming business. In addition, Jenny, her childhood friend is inevitably mentioned as the prime suspect. Audrey decides to dig deeper into this issue in order to prove Jenny innocent, before she is sent to prison.

Bloom and Doom will get you hooked up from the first page thanks to its delightful cast of characters. Audrey is extremely humorous. She exhibits her open-mindedness by remaining calm despite the clues she was given concerning the murder of Derek. She doesn’t go out to look for trouble, but unfortunately trouble seems to follow her. Audrey’s life is not only filled with weddings and funerals but also she is totally confused about her feelings towards Nick Maxwell- the local cutie cupcake baker. Her friend and family stand firmly behind her when times get tough.

Clues leading to the murderer of Derek are slowly given to the reader. The suspect list is given later on in the book but the reader is first kept in the dark concerning the most likely suspect to have committed the murder. Beverly Allen did an outstanding job in the build up towards the ultimate suspect making Bloom and Doom a great debut in her amazing series.

2. For Whom the Bluebell Tolls

In Beverly Allen’s second book in the series- “Bridal Bouquet Shop mystery”, deadly thorns continue to lurk among the roses. Everything is turning out well when Audrey’s dazzling bouquets are picked to be featured on a popular wedding reality show called “Fix My Wedding”. Audrey’s ex Brad works with the show as well. Apparently, Brad was the one who volunteered Rose in Bloom to do the flowers for the hot series which was filming an episode about a flashy bride. Audrey’s bouquet of calla lilies, Bells-of-Ireland and campanulas is voted to be perfectly ideal for the bridal theme.

Thinking that doing flowers for the “Fix my wedding reality show” will bring Rose in Bloom sudden fame, Audrey agrees to do the flowers. Nevertheless, Audrey’s debut turns into trouble when her ex-boyfriend, Brad threatens to truncate Audrey’s relationship with Nick Maxwell-the baker. To complicate issues further, one of the show’s hosts- Gary is found dead in the bell tower of the historic church while testing the church bell. It is soon established that Gary was murdered. Unfortunately, all the evidence point towards Brad.

Audrey must let the police handle this issue. On the other hand, she must try within her means to to clear Brad from this mess. With the trusty help of fellow employees at Rose in Bloom and her friends, Audrey takes the initiative of seeking justice and exposing the real killer. She tries to figure out who within the cast and crew can want to stop this wedding so badly that they would consider murder. Nevertheless, things are not adding up towards the Gary’s real murderer.

“For Whom the Bluebell Tolls” will totally capture your attention. Filled with suspense, it is up to you to unearth probable suspects from the many clues given in this fantastic mystery. When you think you know the murderer, another suspect emerges and a clue comes up that definitely keeps you hooked. It goes without saying that this book is an entertaining read.

Book Summary

Beverly’s third book- “Floral Depravity” is as interesting as the first two. In the book, the daughter of a local historian is getting married and Audrey is responsible for designing period-accurate blooms. However, shortly after the vows are exchanged, the father of the bridegroom drops dead. When Audrey finally discovers that the origin of the man’s death might have been monkshood poisoning, it is a clear case of murder. Faced with a list of suspects on which guests are included, Audrey has the responsibility to flush out the toxic killer.

Even though none of her books has been made into a TV show or a movie, it is evident that Beverly Allen’s books are outstanding, entertaining, captivating and educative. Beverly has a smooth, no nonsense writing style, similar to that of a natural singer. In addition, her writing style is crisp and clear. Furthermore, her knowledge of flowers clearly blossoms through her works of art. You will definitely learn interesting facts on flowers by simply checking out the books in the “Bridal Bouquet shop mystery” series.


Beverly Allen’s books are done in a way you have never read before. Packed with creativity, the stories flow naturally and quickly. Each page will make you want to read the next and the next, up to the shocking revelation of the ideal suspect. You won’t be disappointed by Beverly Allen’s books. It will however leave you craving for more.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Beverly Allen

2 Responses to “Beverly Allen”

  1. Leslie Vann: 7 years ago

    Really enjoyed the first 3 books. Looking forward to the 4th in the series.

  2. Leslie Vann: 7 years ago

    When is #4 coming out?


Leave a Reply