Book Notification

Bianca Goddard Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bianca Goddard Mysteries Books

The Alchemist's Daughter (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death of an Alchemist (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at St. Vedast (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Alchemist of Lost Souls (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Boys of London (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Mary Lawrence writes the “Bianca Goddard Mystery” series. The series began publication in the year 2015, when “The Alchemist’s Daughter” was released.

The books are set during the Tudor era, during the twilight years of Henry VIII. Mary intends for them to be engaging and entertaining to readers that may not pick up period historicals as their first choice. She finds the Tudor era to be an intriguing time, filled with superstition, and has the makings for some interesting characters.

Bianca Goddard is the daughter of an alchemist. In the novels, she uses her own knowledge about alchemy, in order to solve murder cases.

“The Alchemist of Lost Souls” was named as one of Suspense Magazine’s “Best Historical Mystery of 2019.

“The Alchemist’s Daughter” is the first novel in the “Bianca Goddard Mystery” series and was released in the year 2015. During the year of 1543 in King Henry VIII’s rocky reign, a notorious alchemist’s daughter is suspected of cold-blooded murder.

Bianca Goddard uses her knowledge of medicinal plants and herbs in order to cook up remedies for the disease-riddled poor people in London’s squalid Southwark slum. However, when Jolyn, her friend comes to her about severe stomach pains, her prescription appears to kill her right on the spot. Bianca, upon recovering from her shock, suspects that Jolyn could have been poisoned before she came to see her. The local constable is not as easily convinced.

In order to clear her name and keep her own neck away from a noose, she has to apply the knowledge of the healing arts to figure out exactly how and by whom her friend was murdered. All before she herself is victim to a similar fate.

Readers fiound the writing to be terrific, with some great details of the period. There are a bunch of red herrings with a surprising amount of action that is sure to keep readers engaged until the final page. Fans loved the characters in this, and the richly portrayed story and a complex plot.

“Death of an Alchemist” is the second novel in the “Bianca Goddard Mystery” series and was released in the year 2016. In the middle of the sixteenth century, Henry VIII is on the throne, and Bianca Goddard tends to all the suffering and sick in London’s slums, where disease is able to take a life just as quickly as murder.

For years, Ferris Stannum, an alchemist, has devoted his time to working on the Elixir of Life, the supposed serum of immortality. Having already tested this remedy successfully on an animal, he intends to send his alchemy journal off to a colleague in Cairo for confirmation. However, the next day his corpse is found but the journal is missing.

Bianca, an alchemist’s daughter, is already well acquainted with mystical healing arts. Her husband John falls ill with a sweating sickness, she dares hoping Stannum’s journal could contain the secret to John’s recovery. First, she must solve the alchemist’s murder. While venturing into a world of deceit and treachery, Stannum’s death is just the first in a series of killings. Bianca’s quest turns into a matter of life and death, not just for John, but for herself as well.

Readers found there was some colorful alchemical lore and the entire thing was vividly imagined.

“Death at St. Vedast” is the third novel in the “Bianca Goddard Mystery” series and was released in the year 2016. Bianca has seen up close and personal what keeps a man living and what is able to kill him. It’s a good thing, for she is going to need all of that knowledge to keep a buddy away from the gallows.

Bianca and John are delighted they can share in the glad fortune of Boisvert, their friend and silversmith, who will wed Odile, a goldsmith’s wealthy widow. A pall is cast over the upcoming wedding when a pregnant woman’s body is found underneath the bell tower of St. Vedast, the same church where the couple is to be married.

Tragedy strikes once more at the couple’s reception, when Odile drops dead all of a sudden during the wedding feast. The constable suspects Boisvert poisoned his new wife to get her money, however, there isn’t a trace of poison in her wine or food. Could these two deaths be linked? To prove their buddy is innocent, Bianca is going to have employ her knowledge of alchemy for if she is able to determine how the bride was killed, she might find the person responsible for killing her before any more victims are added to the death toll.

“The Alchemist of Lost Souls” is the fourth novel in the “Bianca Goddard Mystery” series and was released in the year 2019. One dangerous element discovered by Bianca’s dad falls into the wrong people’s hands, and it leads to a chain of murders.

Spring of 1544. Now that Bianca is pregnant, Bianca is more determined than ever to distance herself from her unstable dad. Albern Goddard, a disgraced alchemist, is desperate to win back King Henry VIII’s favor, plans on revealing a powerful new element he has found. One with a deadly potential. The substance gets stolen, and he implores his daughter to help him.

Quickly after, a woman’s body is discovered behind the Dim Dragon Inn, with an eerie green vapor rising up from her mouth. Bianca has cause to suspect her own mom could be involved in the murder and theft. When her husband is conscripted into the King’s army to subdue some of the Scottish resistance, finding the stone turns into a matter of life and death. Bianca has to unravel the interests of apothecaries, alchemists, scoundrels, and chandlers, to find out who is among them is willing to murder in order to possess the element being called lapis mortem. The stone of death.

Fans liked the atmosphere in this one. Bianca faces some big life changing challenges yet faces them head on with strength and grace, something that many readers love about her. She is an independent, strong, and a totally capable heroine in this.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Bianca Goddard Mystery

Leave a Reply