Book Notification

Bill Browder Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Bill Browder
Bill Browder was born April 23, 1964 in Princeton, New Jersey and grew up in Chicago, Illinois. He’s the grandson of Earl Browder and son of mathematician Felix Browder. He went to the University of Colorado, Boulder, before transferring to the University of Chicago, where he would graduate with an economics degree. He earned an MBA from the Stanford Graduate School of Business in 1989 and entered the financial sector.

He began his career in the Eastern European practice of the Boston Consulting Group in London, and then he worked for Robert Maxwell’s MCC conglomerate.

In the year 1999, he got naturalization as a British citizen. At the same time, he gave up his US citizenship just the year before. Bill cited that he did this since there was a legacy of bad feeling about the rule of law as a result of his family getting viciously persecuted by the US authorities during the 1950s. He cited especially Earl, his communist grandpa, who got imprisoned twice during the McCarthyism era.

Bill is the CEO and founder of Hermitage Capital Management, and was the largest foreign investor in Russia up until the year 2005. Before Bill founded Hermitage, he was a vice president at Salomon Brothers.

Bill was named the 67th most powerful person in the world by Worth Magazine in 2018. GQ named Bill one of its Men of the Year in 2017 for standing up to Putin. He received the 2018 Aspen Institute Henry Crown Leadership Award, which is a prize that honors an outstanding leader whose achievements reflect the high standards of industry, philanthropy, honor, and integrity. Bill was given the Lantos Human Rights Prize, the American Spirit Award for Citizen Activism, and the Coalition for Integrity Award.

“Red Notice: A True Story of High Finance, Murder, and One Man’s Fight for Justice” is a non-fiction book that was released in 2015. A real life political thriller about one American financier in the Wild East of Russia, the murder of his principled young tax attorney, and his dangerous mission to expose the Kremlin’s corruption.

Bill Browder’s journey began on the South Side of Chicago and it moved through Stanford Business School and on to the dog-eat-dog world of hedge fund investing during the 1990s. It continued in Moscow where Browder would make his fortune heading up the biggest investment fund in all of Russia after the collapse of the Soviet Union. However once he exposed the corrupt oligarchs that were robbing the companies that he was investing in, Putin turned on him and, in 2005, expelled him out of Russia.

In 2007, Bill’s offices in Moscow were raided by a group of law enforcement officers, and stole $230 million of taxes which his fund’s companies paid to the Russian government. Sergei Magnitsky investigated this incident and found a sprawling criminal enterprise. One month after Sergei testified against the official involved, he got arrested and tossed into pre-trial detention, where he got tortured for a year. November 16, 2009, he was taken to an isolation chamber, handcuffed to the bed rail, and then beaten to death by eight guards dressed in full riot gear.

Bill glimpsed the heart of darkness, and it fully transformed his life: he went on this unrelenting quest to get justice for Sergei, exposing the towering cover up which leads directly to Putin. This is the story of a single man taking on some overpowering odds in order to change the world.

Bill delivers a well written book that is an eye opening and shocking read, while still being a very informative and fast paced. For a nonfiction book it is suspenseful, riveting, and gripping. This is a powerful indictment of the authoritarian regime in power in Russia today. Bill does an excellent job of writing and exposing the criminal activities and the corruption in modern Russia.

“Freezing Order: A True Story of Money Laundering, Murder, and Surviving Vladimir Putin’s Wrath” is a non-fiction book that was released in 2022. Another gripping thriller chronicling how Bill became Vladimir Putin’s number one enemy by exposing Putin’s efforts to steal and launder hundreds of billions of dollars and murder anybody that stands in his way.

When Sergei Magnitsky (Bill’s young Russian lawyer) was beaten to death in a Moscow jail, Bill made it his life’s mission to go after his killers and make sure that they faced justice. The first step of this mission was to reveal who was behind the $230 million tax refund scam that Magnitsky got killed over. While Bill and his team tracked down the money while it flowed out of Russia through Cyprus and the Baltics and on to Western Europe and the Americas, they got shocked to learn that Putin himself was a beneficiary of this crime.

While law enforcement agencies started freezing the money, Putin retaliated. He and all his cronies set up honey traps, hired process servers to chase Bill down through cities, murdered more Russian allies, and enlisted some of the top politicians and lawyers in America to bring him down. Putin is willing to stop at nothing in order to protect his money. Like this book reveals, it was Bill’s campaign to expose Putin’s corruption which prompted Russia’s intervention in the 2016 US presidential election.

At once being an international adventure, a financial caper, and a passionate plea for justice, this is a stirring morality story about how one guy can take on one of the most ruthless villains in all of the world, and win.

The cliffhanger chapter endings compel you to continue reading onward while wondering just how much crazier and more dangerous this story can get. Bill’s timely page turner of a novel which not only highlights the horrifying lengths that Putin will go to in order to protect kleptocracy yet also shows the susceptibility of American politicians to his propaganda. Just like Bill’s first book, this incredible story is well paced and reads a lot like a thriller novel. The most troubling aspect of it all is just how acquiescent the Western establishment has been to Russian lies and crime.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Bill Browder

Leave a Reply