Book Notification

Bill Rogers Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DCI Tom Caton Books

The Cleansing (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Head Case (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tigers's Cave (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Fatal Intervention (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bluebell Hollow (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Trace of Blood (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Frozen Contract (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Backwash (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Venetian Moon (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Angel Meadow (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl and the Shadowman (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Opportunist (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The End Game (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of DCI Tom Caton Collections

Breakfast at Katsouris (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The National Crime Agency Books

The Pick, The Spade and The Crow (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Falcon Tattoo (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tangled Lock (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Blow Out (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Caton's Manchester (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Bill Rogers is a renowned English author celebrated for his gripping crime thriller novels. He has gained particular acclaim through his DCI Tom Caton series, set in his hometown of Manchester. Before embarking on his writing career, Rogers had an illustrious background in education, serving as the Principal Inspector for Manchester City schools and heading the Improvement Service for Manchester Schools. He has also contributed his expertise as a judge and Fellow of the Teaching Awards, a javelin coach, and a program consultant for four years. Additionally, Rogers appeared as a panelist on the ITV television show “Which Way.”

Now residing in Greater Manchester, Rogers embarked on his literary journey in 2009 with the debut of his novel “The Cleansing.” To date, he has penned 11 crime thriller novels, a crossover book appealing to young adults and adults alike, a short story anthology, and a novella. His first book was nominated for the Long Barn Debut Book Award and won the Publishing Consortium Writers prize. Notably, his fourth book reached the semi-finals of the Amazon Breakthrough Book Award in 2009.

Rogers’s novels, featuring the character DCI Tom Caton and his team, blend crime thriller elements with police procedural intricacies. Each novel can be enjoyed as a standalone story, with Tom Caton being the unifying element across the series. Born in London, Rogers has deep familial ties to law enforcement, with four generations of his family involved with the Metropolitan Police. His grandfather was a founding member of the Flying Squad. Rogers’s move to the North 40 years ago marked the beginning of his deep affinity for Manchester and its community.

Rogers’s writing captures the vibrancy, history, and spirit of Manchester, often touching upon the city’s darker aspects. His engagement with the Manchester City Council’s Education Department has seen him address a broad range of societal issues, including the establishment of the UK’s first Police School Liaison Officers’ system and initiatives against knife, drug, and gang crime, as well as racial harassment.

An avid reader, Rogers’s literary tastes span various genres, with a special fondness for thrillers and crime novels. He draws inspiration from esteemed authors like Ian Rankin, Donna Leon, and Michael Connelly, among others.

One of Rogers’s notable works, “A Trace of Blood,” part of the DCI Caton series and released in 2011, features characters such as Miriam, Naimh Caton, and Tom Caton. The narrative unfolds with the death of Naimh Caton’s aunt Miriam in a tragic accident, leading Naimh and DCI Caton on a harrowing quest to trace their family lineage, only to discover a series of related murders.

Another compelling novel by Rogers, “A Fatal Intervention,” deviates from the usual focus on Caton and his team. It tells the story of Ron Thorton, a respected barrister in Manchester, whose life spirals into chaos when he is falsely accused of rape. The plot thickens with the disappearance of the accuser, Angelita Covas, propelling Thorton on a dangerous journey to clear his name and uncover the truth, which is intricately linked to Manchester’s hidden tunnels.

Through his diverse and thrilling literary contributions, Bill Rogers continues to captivate readers with tales that not only entertain but also reflect the complexities of human nature and justice.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Bill Rogers

Leave a Reply