Book Notification

Bill Thesken Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Badger Thompson Books

Edge of the Pit (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Catalina Cabal (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Quick Read (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Hunt for the Wild Books

Hunt for the Wild Honu (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hunt for the Wild Taro (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hunt for the Wild Pue'o (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Oil Eater (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lords of Xibalba (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blocking Paris (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Exodus From Orion (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Legend of the Broken Paddle (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Island Classic (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scottish Roots (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

A Present for Kainani (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Bill Thesken is an American author that writes action, adventure, and crime novels. Thesken was a bit of a late bloomer writing-wise but once he got going, it didn’t take him long to find his place in publishing.


Bill Thesken comes from Whittier in East Los Angeles. That is where he was born back in 1957. Circumstances saw the family move to Mission Viejo in 1967 where the author spent most of his childhood.

Thesken left school in 1975. Having graduated from high school, he saw fit to go to Alaska. There he struggled to carve out a living through the work he did at the docks. The author didn’t stay long, eventually choosing to go off to Hawaii.

Bill Thesken did not necessarily set out to settle in Hawaii. He just wanted to surf and Hawaii was as good a place as any to do just that. But once he got to Hawaii, it became clear that he wouldn’t be leaving anytime soon.

Thesken’s journey to publishing success involved a lot of meandering. And Thesken has admitted that he didn’t even really know what he wanted to do during those early years. That might explain all the odd jobs the author eventually tried his hand at.

He worked as a food runner in Irvine. He spent time as a car detailer. He was a dishwasher, a shuttle driver, a laborer and a mason. Thesken did everything. He even farmed, fished and worked in real estate.

For a short while, it looked like writing would become just another odd job he did and discarded. Back then, it wasn’t fiction that kept the author fed. Rather, Thesken has the sort of hand-eye-mind coordination that made him an incredible typist.

The work paid the bills but it didn’t satisfy Thesken, especially when things were going well. For Thesken, the goal was to put as many words on paper as possible. That left no room for creativity and it wasn’t long before he began to desire something more rewarding.

Bill Thesken grew up in a literary house. His father read up to three books a week. And with that sort of pace, it didn’t take long for the Thesken household to become saturated with books.

There were always piles of books scattered around the house: on tables, in corners and all over the floor. Most of them were crime novels. They gave young Thesken his first taste of the crime genre.

And once he finally decided that he wanted to branch out into more creative writing, Bill Thesken made the crime genre his first target. The author was 36-years-old when he wrote his first novel.

The book should have begun his publishing journey. However, as is always the case, life got in the way. Thesken had children and they needed his attention. So he put his first novel aside and gave his family the attention they deserved.

It would be another two decades before Thesken was finally in a position to devote his mind and spirit to publishing. He wrote four books in about three years and he hasn’t stopped since.

Bill Thesken loves quiet surroundings. He also loves nature. That is where he feels most inspired.

+Edge of the Pit

Badger Thompson had a troubled childhood. He was already running with gangs by the time his teenage years hit, and it wasn’t that unexpected when he joined the US Army and went to Iraq.

As a member of a protection Agency, Badger would like to think that he’s good at his job. Badger’s employers count the richest people in the country among their clients. It is their job to keep business moguls and celebrities safe and they are paid copious amounts of money to achieve that objective.

Badger normally works the outer perimeter of most security operations. And that is what he was doing during one particular mission. The job was simple. They had to get a client from one point to another and back.

The client in question, a beautiful young singer, had a gig at a nightclub in a gritty part of town late in the night. Despite the circumstances, Badger expected a relatively smooth operation.

But then things went wrong very quickly. An ambush was sprung and Badger lost consciousness in the resulting mayhem.

When he wakes up in the hospital, Badger doesn’t remember what happened. People tell him that his entire team died and their client went missing. They all seem quite certain that Badger double-crossed them.

And unfortunately for Badger, his employers are very ruthless. They will use any means at their disposal to get the answers they want. Badger is forced to go on the run. He must stay ahead of the Agency and find the missing girl before time runs out for both of them.

Edge of the Pit is one of Bill Thesken’s more popular novels. The book follows the exploits of an Iraqi vet and security operative whose attempts at ensuring the safety of a client go horribly wrong.

Convinced that he was set up, the protagonist must do everything in his power to prove his innocence.

Edge of the Pit is a blend of action, adventure, and mystery.

+The Oil Eater

Two young microbiologists set out to create bacteria to remediate oil spills. The strain they eventually concocted was far stronger than they anticipated. Now an oil cartel will stop at nothing to destroy them.

The Oil Eater introduces readers to the world of Bioremediation where living organisms are used to eliminate contaminants from a polluted environment.

Abby and Jonah take center stage as two scientists who set out to identify new and more effective methods of cleaning up oil spills. By combining their brains, Abby and Jonah create microbes that attract the attention of a Middle Eastern Oil Tycoon who will do anything to stop the pair from disrupting his business.

The result is a tale of action, adventure, suspense, and humor. Abby and Jonah drive the story as it slowly but surely dawns on them that they might have stumbled into very dangerous waters.

The Oil Eater is most commonly praised for its twists and turns, not to mention the intense atmosphere the author generates.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Bill Thesken

Leave a Reply