Book Notification

Bill Travis Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bill Travis Books

The Last Call (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Capitol Offense (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Longnecks & Twisted Hearts (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Devil to Pay (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death on the Pedernales (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Slow Falling (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Caddo Cold (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Arrowmoon (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
After the Fire (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghost of the Karankawa (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Desperate Crimes (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mexico Fever (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lone Star Express (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trinity Trio (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buffalo Bayou Blues (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reveille in Red (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bexar County Line (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Long Goodnight (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Amarillo Waltz (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

At some point in time, all of us have turned on our television sets to discover someone younger than us doing something amazing with their lives which get you thinking, “Wow, what have I done with my life?” If that’s happened to you and you love books that are filled with mystery, intrigue and excitement, perhaps a way to live variously through the character, then George Weir’s character Bill Travis will definitely interest you.

Bill Travis in the First Book- The Last Call

In the first book, ‘Last Call’ Bill Travis is every woman’s dream he is an unmarried, unattached investment counselor. As he is about to approach age 40 he has an epiphany an realizes that he has been working hard but not living the most exciting life all these years, in other words he goes through a midlife crisis of sorts. As fate would have it all this changed almost as soon as he had the thought with the introduction of Julie Simmons, who walks into his office first thing on Monday bringing a wave of trouble. Julie is the fulcrum upon which explosive shootouts and flashes of the past in relation to Texan history hinges. From the moment he encountered her she has been trouble, but that’s what intrigues him and this particular fact also intrigues the reader because you want to know how she will impact on Bill Travis’ boring life.

The reader isn’t left in suspense for too long. We discover that she has crossed Archie Carpin, a North Texan Liquor Baron and legendary figure with a violent family lineage dating back to the 1920’s. Stuck in a desperate situation, it wasn’t hard for Julie the red-headed vixen that oozed sex appeal to steal two million dollars from Carpin which she know was a foolhardy decision. Of course, you will want to read for yourself to see what caused her to be so desperate, and despite your many guesses, you won’t know what it is until you actually read the book. The vociferous chase that Archie ensues in relation to getting back his money speaks to one of the worst qualities that humans possess, namely greed. By reading the book, you will discover the full extent of Carpin’s wealth and probably be disgusted or by how get acquired it depending on your personality. But it also speaks to the use of money by men to control women and the pro-feminist reader along with outright feminists will have a field day drawing upon this portion of the book.

It is obvious that Bill is like every other warm blooded male, he falls for Julie from the get go, even though like the reader it will take a significant portion of the book to discover her story which to say the least, is jaw dropping. Because of her, Bill Travis finds himself (with Julie in tow of course), on the run trying to stay two steps ahead of Carpin so as to stay alive. This hot pursuit takes that from Austin to Northern Texas and back again. Throughout the journey, Weir takes the reader through a tangled web where you think you knew what was going to happen next only to discover a credible but superbly brilliant factual matrix that did not come to mind despite the many clues. The book also performs an excellent secondary job of painting a historically accurate picture of Texan history that will intrigue anyone who is from the deep south but didn’t know that bit of history and those of us who are not from the deep south considering trip on account of Weir’s tale.

Bill Travis in the Second Book Capitol Offense

In the second book, ‘Capitol Offense’ before Bill Travis gets the option to decide whether or not he will let sleeping dogs lie in relation to small pieces of top secret information, Bill finds himself being chased in relation to something he knew little about and had yet to decide if he cared enough to find out. He is told about how the Texas Governor presently in office was assisted by Norman Howell and his father to get rid of fishermen from Vietnam who competed with the Governor in the fishing industry. Noteworthy is that Norman is a death row inmate so you would think that he has nothing to gain from lying. The story that unfolds is interesting but also scary as you can’t help but wonder about the history that lies behind current political figures whose families have a history of politics in the United Sates. Additionally, it would be a little weird if you weren’t questioning how Bill came to be handling the finances of an inmate, and one on death row at that and you would definitely want to find out where he got this money.

Many George Weir fans who loved or hated Last Call have agreed that Capitol Offense is definitely a story for the suspense thriller lovers. For starters, you definitely get more insight into Bill Travis but as is characteristic of several good writers, Weir reveals just enough for most of his actions in ‘Capitol Offense’ to make sense, whilst leaving you wondering if the Bill Travis you knew from Last Call and now Capitol Offense is really all there is to him. As was the case with Last Call, there are several very interesting supporting characters that all play subtle and not so subtle roles in piecing together major twists and plot upsets that leave room for a mind-boggling experience. It is definitely necessary to read Last Call before reading Capitol Offense though, otherwise you probably will not be able to follow the story line accurately.

George Weir has on his hands a winning series with Bill Travis a character realistic, quirky, and hilarious and at the end of it full of enough heart to captivate the reader. Whether you are a suspense thriller mystery lover, once you pick up this book, sheer human curiosity will take you over. Through the development of primary and secondary characters, Weir creates action packed plots which can easily be envisaged on the big screen. Make it your point of duty to read Last Call and follow up with Capitol Offense we are sure this will lead you right into the next installations of the Bill Travis series.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Bill Travis

Leave a Reply