Book Notification

Black Sheep Knitting Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Black Sheep Knitting Mysteries Books

Knit, Purl, Die (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
While My Pretty One Knits (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Stitch Before Dying (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Till Death Do Us Purl (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Silence of the Llamas (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dark and Stormy Knit (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Postman Always Purls Twice (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Murder in Mohair (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Black Sheep & Co. Mystery Books

Knit to Kill (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Purls and Poison (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hounds of the Basket Stitch (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Strangers on a Skein (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death on the Argyle (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Anne Canadeo is an American author who goes under the pen name, Katherine Spenser. Under her pen, Katherine has written several novels based on the works of the painter turned author, Thomas Kinkade. Under her real names, Anne Canadeo, she has managed to write the Black Sheep mystery series. Apart from that she has also authored several non-fiction books and biographies. Anne currently lives with her husband and daughter in Northport, New York. All in all, Anne became an author in the year 1989. Her first novel was The Goofy Gamble, which was the sixth book of the multi-author series, S.T.a.R.S. Her debut book, under the pen name, Katherine Spenser came in the year 2002 with a novel which she co-authored with Thomas Kinkade.

While My Pretty Ones Knit

While My pretty Ones Knit is the first installment in the critically acclaimed Black Sheep Knitting Mysteries written by Anne Canedeo. It is set in the tiny coastal village of Plum harbor. This small New England Coastal village has two knitting shop; the Knitting Nest which is owned by Amanda Goran while the Black Knitting shop is owned by one, Maggie Messina. Despite the fact Maggie’s knitting shop is still new, it is doing much better than Amanda’s. On seeing this, Amanda becomes jealous and is more than determined to do anything to ensure that her shop does much better than the competitor’s. She begins by spreading lies, most of which are so preposterous than actually no one believes. On seeing what Amanda is doing, Maggie ensures that she stays above the gutter because she knows that there is enough room for two shops to thrive in the area.

A day before Maggie hosts Cara Newhouse, a former student for a book signing, Amanda comes acting friendly and looking as if she has a makeover. Amanda tells Maggie that she is more than happy to be at the book signing and lecture. On the next morning, Amanda’s husband finds Cara Newhouse dead. The local area police believe that Maggie is the main suspect due to the fact that the main weapon was found in her store. Nonetheless, the cops still do not have adequate evidence to press for an arrest. Seeing that she is under depression, her Black Sheep knitting group try everything to cheer her up. As if that is not enough, one of the group’s member goes even further to investigate the murder while seeking out a new suspect.

The Black Sheep group of Knitters usually meet every week to work k on their knitting projects and gossip. Ever since the group was formed, they have become close friends with Maggie. Unknown to the group, the killer hides in plain sight which makes it nearly impossible for the reader to notice the culprit. As the first instalment in this series, friendship and ingenuity are the main themes highlighted in this book. Apart from that it is also a perfect blend of a solid murder mystery and an outstanding portrayal of female friendship together with a dose of suspense and a little of romance.

Knit, Purl, Die

Knit, Purl, Die is the second book in Canedeo’s mystery series, The Black Sheep Knitting Mystery. In this book, we are re-introduced to the twice widowed, Gloria Sterling who is a member of the local knitting group. She has finally returned to Plum Harbor with Jamie Barnett her new hubby . As a pugnacious artist, Jamie Barnet is not only younger but also financially unstable when compared to his glamorous bride. After a while, Gloria is found floating in her very own swimming pool with her face down. Since she was a member at the Black Sheep Knitting group, Maggie and her friends are so devastated to hear of her death. The five member group, the Black Sheep Knitting group which is led by Melissa at first suspect that Jamie Barnett is after Gloria’s wealth, but upon seeing them together they change their mind as the couple appears to be happy with one another.

While conducting their investigation, the local area police concluded that it an accident, but while looking at Gloria’s final moments, Gloria’s friends realise that there are so many loose ends. Next to the pool, there are two wine glasses which suggest that Gloria was not alone the evening that she died. Who is the last person to see Gloria on that ver night? Knit, Purl, Die is a knitting inspired novel that delivers a character for everyone. The divorced and dating, Lucy; the Goth Dressing Phoebe; the working wife Suzanne; the widowed business owner, Maggie and the Medical Professional Dana. It happens to be a diverse bunch of sleuths, and this is what it takes to solve a small-town crowd, an individual who knows everyone involved.

A Stitch before Dying

A stitch before dying is the third book in the Black Sheep Knitting series. In this book, Maggie, who is still the proud proprietor of the Black Sheep Knitting store is invited to a state of the art spa to teach a few knitting courses. Before going she invites a few of her friends to go with her for a weekend so that they can relax and be pampered. While two members of the group are on a camping trip, a guest is found dead. The police quickly arrive at the spot and rule it as a murder. Everyone becomes jumpy and worried that the police are not allowing to leave or check out from the hotel until they have completed the questioning process. During the questioning process, a few suspects emerge within the characters who were staying at the hotel. Since this was the last book in the series, Maggie and the entire knitting group have some sleuthing of their own to do.

Different clues do point to different guests while the book itself moves at a very nice pace. All in all, this charming cozy will unquestionably entertain those readers who love eccentric character driven mysteries. The fast pace of the novel will definitely keep all the fans of the book glued to their books as the fabulous five investigate who killed Curtis.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Black Sheep Knitting Mysteries

3 Responses to “Black Sheep Knitting Mysteries”

  1. Brendahayes: 10 months ago

    I enjoy this series very much, I hope there are more books coming?

  2. Joyce Spiegel: 2 years ago

    just finished strangers on a skein -hoping there is another one?

    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      The next book in the series is Death on the Argyle, currently scheduled for August 30, 2022.


Leave a Reply